#Fiftywords: One For All (flash fiction)

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

He'd find them, spend hours with them, listen to their troubles and let them know he cares.

So here I am again with another fiftywords story, @jayna's prompt this week is "Bank," you know what? I think it's a great prompt!! I thought of many words that contain or relate to bank (databank?) But I didn't want to write a story about a normal bank.

That's until this idea flashed in my mind and I had to make it a story... So here is it:


One For All

Each Sunday he'd go out to find one of them.
He'd spend hours with them, listen to their troubles,
their dreams and let them know he cares.

By the evening he'd bring them to our bank here,
and I'd withdraw his money for them.

Because once, he too, was homeless.

The End


I really wish I could write this one better, it feels like these words aren't strong enough but I struggle to find better words... Oh well, as for the title I just felt it's right somehow.

I think it was a good idea to make the story from the perspective of a bank employer.

I think people who survived hardships are those who understand people that are still struggling with them the most, it's hard to not help others when you encountered the same troubles before and wished there was someone for you. I know people like my story protagonist exist in real life, I wish there are more of them.

What do you think about this story?

What did you think of when you read it?
Anything you want to say?

I look forward to your comments


Photo by Ester Marie Doysabas on Unsplash.
Sort:  

This is a lovely story, @ahmadmanga. I agree that it works really well to tell it from the bank teller’s perspective. Hardship really can be enriching; it’s too bad that’s what it takes to develop true compassion, sometimes!

I listened to an entire radio program on poverty and homelessness the other day and was shocked by some of the statistics, and also the descriptions that some homeless people gave of how they got there. The views of many people is that the homeless are just too lazy to get good jobs and improve their lives, and that pervasive view actually contributes to the problem.

Thank you for your touching story!

Thanks for reading, and I know it's hard but yeah, not all homeless people are like that because of their own laziness, some just had a really bad luck and anyone of us can turn homeless for whatever reason, we need to help each other sometimes.

The views of many people is that the homeless are just too lazy to get good jobs and improve their lives, and that pervasive view actually contributes to the problem.

And I agree that hardships is what makes people stronger (and half of time more compassionate, the other half they make them indifferent.) What doesn't kill you makes you stronger!!

Lovely sentiment @ahmadmanga Thanks for sharing it with us..

Thanks for reading!! I'm really glad I got to write this idea before it faded from my mind, wanted the story to make people think.

Well, you definitely succeeded there... Fair play..

This is beautiful, Ahmad. Touching, and fills with hope for humanity. If only this were more common-place.

Thanks for reading, I too wish there are more people like the protagonist in our world. I love writing and reading stories that makes me feel better.

Thanks for sharing its great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77