Hero: A story in 50 words.

in #fiftywords6 years ago

20180220_113704 (2).jpg

His little legs pumping, his little heart thumping, he paddled with everything he had in him towards the shore, where, depositing the almost drowned toddler at the feet of the screaming woman, the old dog, his heart finally giving up, was swept back out to sea by a giant wave.

============================================================================
Posted in response to @Jayna's fifty-word story challenge which you can see here
The image is my own

Sort:  

This is both sad and proud. A life given, a life taken. Such is the circle of life, the balance nature enforces. Lovely story!

Thanks a lot for dropping by.

Oh but why take the dog? T-T

Making readers feel so much with so little amount of words is art. Amazing story :)

Thanks very much. You can come again;)

Wow, very nice... Great depth for such few words.. Nicely done

Emotional roller coaster in a 50 word story! Oh so sad but a life giving gift. Such loyalty do this dogs have. Very nice!

Thanks for that. I really didn't want to kill the poor thing but I needed the extra words to make up the 50;)

well it made it extra powerful that's for sure!

Wow, so sad. A hero lost. Great little story.

A hero lost but a toddler regained. Thanks for the visit.

It's fast-paced and creative! Thanks for sharing.

Cheers. Thanks for reading.

Oh, no! The hero died and worse yet, he was swept back out to sea. Thanks for the lump in my throat. : (

But I killed him for you. I thought cats and dogs were natural enemies;)

Aw, I sure do appreciate you thinking about me, however, I get along very well with dogs and love them. : )

Dammit, ok, I'll attempt to restrict myself to dead humans in future;)

Now that's the ticket! LOL!
Dammit...I only gave you a 2 cent upvote...sorry about that! Now it will turn to dust. : (

Don't worry yourself about such trifles. I am so much richer in knowing such a sweet person as yourself.

Aw, look who the sweet person is now. YOU!

How sad! Poor little hero.

Cheers, thanks for reading.

oh no!! the story isn't supposed to end that way @deirdyweirdy!
It's both inspiring and depressing at the same time! In only 50 words no less, you stirred up both those strong emotions in 50 dang words!
great job. hey is that photo a nearby local Irish beach?

I wish it was sweetie but it's Acapulco.
Apparently, all you Yanks listen to the travel warnings issued by your government and are too scared to go there lest you be kidnapped or something, so there are miles and miles of beautiful beaches with not a soul on them.

you're kiddin me! I had no idea.
and you experienced this on one of your luxury vacations?
I thought you didn't like warm weather?
what else are you not being honest about @deirdyweirdy ? you're
sounding kinda suspicious.
you probably go to all the hot places in the world and lay around on the beaches getting tan!

Hahaha, very funny. I was at the Anarchapulco conference in February and ventured out of the airconditioning and onto the beach only once in the 10 days on quad bikes and covered from head to toe with not a patch of skin exposed.

lol! oh my gosh "beach walking" like only an Irishman could do!
I stand corrected. What do they do at the Anarchapulco conference?
scheme about how to take over the world?

Poor little pooch! Great story. It is full of drama and pathos. Nicely done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75