We eat this cake in remembrance of you ~ #adifferent9/11

in #fiftywords6 years ago

38404795_10210474773019762_5206108547300982784_n.jpg

A Bird of Paradise had sprung from the ashes. It was the only visible life form where the plane had crashed.

A sign from him, that life will go on.

9/11 means more to us, now, than ever.

We celebrate him with this chocolate cake. Our last meal shared together.

601353_10200143979636384_2055257584_n.jpg


Backstory: Sadly, I cite these photos from my mother-in-law, as this story isn't 100% fiction. The coincidence of 'chocolate' being the word of the week was too much of a coincidence that I couldn't pass up the opportunity to share. My 'would-have-been' brother-in-law died on 9/11/05, in a small private plane.
Crashing into terrain behind a building in California, a few days later a Bird of Paradise had emerged, literally the only thing in the area that was living after the fire from the crash had charred the earth. The chocolate cake is ceremoniously eaten on his birthday, August 2nd, as it was the last thing him and his family shared together before he went back to CA. But with the anniversary of the accident, 9/11, being tomorrow, I figured it was just another sign of him stopping to say hello. Rest in peace, Elliot.

Written in response to the #fiftywords challenges that @jayna has been posting.

Chocolate was this week’s prompt:
https://steemit.com/challenge/@jayna/fifty-wordshortstorychallengehighlightsandnewprompt-io8swh9f5v

Sort:  

A nicely told heartfelt story. Thanks for sharing.

Glad you enjoyed it, thanks!

Thank you for sharing something so dear and personal to you. So ironic indeed the date. But I like to think there is some purpose and meaning to it all. Even though it is easy for many of us to say that who were not affected directly.

But I like to think there is some purpose and meaning to it all.

I like to think so too. Thanks so much.

Simply beautiful. May Elliot rest in peace and look out for you and your family always.

Thank you so much.

This is really lovely, @intothewild. I can't imagine the roller coaster 9/11 must be for you each year. I wouldn't have trouble believing that people send us signs from beyond, and that the Bird of Paradise was one such sign.

Thanks @jayna. Unfortunately, I never even got to meet Elliot as I didn't meet my (now) wife until after this happened. So as much as it effects me, it's more of a second hand sadness being around the wife's side of the family. I get a sense for him, I feel, the more and more we all get together.

I wouldn't have trouble believing that people send us signs from beyond, and that the Bird of Paradise was one such sign.

I agree. I've heard people say certain birds visit them or butterflies, lots of different things. I believe it.

Very well told your story. It is rewarding when we can connect a word with our feelings.

Minimal. So magical.

Congratulations @intothewild! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17