Heavy, Man - Fifty-word challenge

in #fiftywords6 years ago

LIGHT.jpg

Heavy, Man

 

"There's nothing to stop you, then?"

I laughed. How can you stop the light?

"Jim..." I shook my head. There was nothing more to say. This was the ultimate trip. I handed him the bong and secured myself inside the hypership.

Jim brought his flame to the bowl. “Heavy, man.”



Image mine

This is an entry for this week's Fifty Word Story Challenge coordinated by @jayna. I haven't done many of these super short flashes, but this one is exactly fifty words, not counting the title, of course.

Sort:  

Ah, Jon, this one is fun. I've never ridden a hypership before, but if I did this is probably the conversation I'd have. :)

So you get it too, huh @negativer?

Um. I'm just really good at pretending ^_^

I think you need to be at a certain...height...for it to make complete sense.

Now you are just toying with my mind! Or are you?

Fun is all it was meant to be! Glad you liked it!

Nice one. I quickly went from... okay fine --> huh? --> aha, laughing out loud. Well done.

Googling humor never works, but this? Yeah, this.

Hello, Jon!

I want to go for a ride in your hypership... Desperately! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

LOL! There's always room for more!

Wait.... I need some help with this one! The hypership is a video game, right? @nobyeni is smarter than me and she figured out the meaning. Someone give me a hint. :-)

The bong is the hint.

Thank you, @nobyeni! I am still noodling on this. One is smoking a bong and the other is strapping into a hupership. Hmmm....

It's a LIGHT hearted attempt at some humor!

Either these guys are scientists who are about to break the lightspeed barrier or else they are simply out of their freakin' minds. Either way, it's heavy, man!

Ah ha! Okay so you are leaving it up to your readers’ interpretation. I often do that as well with 50-word stories. You have just enough space to hint at what’s going on and then BAM! Done!

Truly.
I only wanted a story that used the word 'heavy' in that context. I miss the 70s sometimes.

You're so funny! Those were indeed the good old days.

Stoner sci-fi. Now that could be interesting. Lovely, Jon!

Ha ha, a new genre is born :o)

Thanks! At least it might be humorous...

Duuuuuuuuuuude, that's some heavy sheeeeeeet.... Ha ha, that was funny as :o)

Thanks @ablaze. Came to me in a dream... a blue dream.

I'm just imagining two guys sat in their living room imagining they're on the Starship Enterprise.

Great story!

Thanks! I do watch too much scifi. Not.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you! I am honored.

Like, far out, man :)
A fun take on the prompt, enjoyed it @jonknight

I can dig it! :D

I will now admit this was inspired by the song "Spaceman" by Harry Nilsson, which was playing when I wrote this... yeaaaahh.

That is some great inspiration :)
I love using music to inspire writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83