searchlight :: 50 word short story

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

A busy week for me that cannot be concluded without collecting 50 words together in the form of a short story for @jayna's excellent 50 Word Challenge with the prompt of 'light.'

This time around, I'm basing my story on @jayna's own submission, which she snuck in DAYS before her own deadline. How unexpected! She must be as busy as me, and you steal what time you can from the day to do what you really want to do.

Back to subject at hand, I did a mild continuation of @jayna's story in an attempt to wrap up the intentional open-endedness of hers. I think I ended up leaving mine equally open-ended, depending on your interpretation. Oh well.




I was surely lost. I had run too far into the deep forest where branches clutched and thorns pricked. The impossible light followed my flight, more fleet of foot than any beast I knew.

I fell, and the warm light covered me.

I was lost, but now I am found.







Title image by @negativer using Canva

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

@negativer You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter & @bycoleman because this post did not use any bidbots.

Oh I love it! Thank you for taking my story a step further. But I agree... this still leaves many possibilities open. The character could be found a friend, a family member, a creepy woodsman, or perhaps the spouse he or she was running from. Or even an alien being. Yes... I think this story still needs a conclusion.

One step is all I got before I ran out of words. I see you offered a conclusion already! Sweet!

Sounds like a happy ending to me... that's my interpretation, and I'm sticking to it... :D

Are you sure you're feeling well? ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

I was leaving a bit of an opening for @jayna to wrap it up if she wanted to, and she did :)

I think my ending was fairly ambiguous, but definitely not...negative. :)

Oh the twists and turns of this drama! I could take “the conclusion” out my previous post so you have free rein for what comes next!

Nice ... a bit of lovely delivery here:)

Still wondering where the twist is going to be. Where is the light really coming from? It seems too good to be true that she could make it out safely again.

Or maybe I'm just pessimistic. There can be happy endings too. Great story!

I'm no good at happy endings, so I'm glad jayna took care of the hard part for me with her third segment :)

I like the fact, or at least my interpretation is that the ending can have several different meanings. Great stuff as usual @negativer

Congratulations @negativer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I love the cooperative build-a-story concept. Well penned.

Great read! The words and rhythm are perfect! Also, I really enjoy it when the title adds the final cap to the piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29