Winter's End :: 50 Word Short Story

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

As has become a pleasureable Friday habit, @jayna's Fifty Word Story Challenge waits for me as I near the end of my workday

The prompt this week: bank


Even though winter is long done and spring is fully in bloom, I will hearken back to colder days that I remember in December, where -15F or -20F was the norm during our Wisconsin winter.



Winter's End

Potatoes again.

The last few sat in a pot atop the woodstove, barely boiling. Banking the embers, I pulled my children close. The icy fist of the wind rattled the windows, the drafts like knives. I wrapped the blanket around them as best I could.

I waited for the end.







Title image by @negativer using Canva

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

Dude...this is a potato cliffhanger.. can't leave it like this... it aint right!

I don't think you want a part 2. My past history shows it won't end well for anyone :)

I waited for the end.

COME ON BRO!
What happens next, we gotta know... i might just flag it!! hahahhahah

I can tell you! A magical fairy comes and rescues them all. They are transported safely to a warmer climate with hot cocoa to drink along the way, and everyone lives happily ever after. Yay!!!

ORRRRRR..... they toughed it out on potatoes, then moved to Florida, never having to face an icicle or potato again!

See? There are so many possible ways for this to end well.

I like your ending jayna... but his handle, @negativer hints fluency in the art of negativity.

He might kill everyone with a potato.

Gripping! Winter's coming here and this chilled me to the bone. Also, that ending. End of their lives or end of winter? Lovely, and dark.

Ah, the ambiguity came through. It could indeed go either way.

Hopefully you outlast your own winter down there, Anike. Stock up on potatoes! :)

An apocalypse told in full with the sharing of a last meal. Nicely done, Negativer:)

Thanks! Maybe I can write a part 2 if @jayna cooperates with a dark and bleak prompt :)

Why do I feel that it won't be a good idea to ask for a part 2 on this?

You...are wise. We'll see if a part 2 is in the cards here. I'd like to give my people here a name, maybe I can spare the words for that :)

Another grim fairytale from Negativer! This is really well done. And very poignant. Next week's prompt is "cannibal." Just kidding.

Oh damn. I almost kinda hoped for 'cannibal' so I could wrap up the story the way @meno was wanting...

So many possible endings, so little time. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78