50 Word Challenge - The Unholy Ride

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Another great prompt for the 50 word chalkenge hosted by @jayna. This week's prompt was break and it is absolutely FULL of possibilities. Here is my interpretation of the 50 word challenge prompt.

 

50 word freewrite microficiton writing fiction short story story blog literatrure
Image Source Pixabay

The Unholy Ride


A winter breeze blew hair into her eyes, creating tears.

The hill stretched before her like a preternatural abyss. She quivered at the thought of the ride and pushed off. The board responded and the speed was exhilarating.

Searing, white-hot pain flashed within her as her foot twisted ominously wrong.

 

I hope you enjoyed this micro fiction story as much as I did creating it! If you want to give it a try, check out this post about #fiftywords hosted by @jayna . Keep steeming!

Here is my attempt at a 5 minute free write!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/07/11/50-word-freewrite-the-unholy-ride/


All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

This was fun and painful. I can just see this happening with my son. About to go for a ride and with clumsiness or without focus he falls. Exciting times to only fall short as pain takes on the journey. :p

Thanks. My wife broke her ankle on our last day of vacation this year and then I skateboarded as a kid so I combined the two..lol Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Oooooooooooo, I felt that!!! Ouch!

I know right?!? That was the response I was hoping for! Thanks for your comment and support.

Nice work, @papacrusher! Believe it or not I think this may be the first story I’ve read for this prompt that deals with a broken bone!

By the way, the freewrite challenge is a different initiative, run by the lovely @mariannewest. With a freewrite you are trying to write within a time limit, and without your editor brain intervening in that process. It’s a great way to write freely and see what you produce by letting your words flow.

This challenge is quite different. It challenges you to write a micro story within a tight word limit and absolutely requires you to tap into your editor brain.

Both are great ways to challenge yourself in different aspects of the craft of writing. But I just wanted to clear up confusion. If you thought you were in the freewrite challenge, you took a wrong turn! 😊

Thanks for your comment. I'm so sorry about the mistake. I participate in both writing initiatives and must have got my wires crossed.

No worries at all. It was a nice opportunity for me to describe the differences between the two challenges!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84