Below The Snowflake (50 Word Short Story)

in #fiftywords5 years ago (edited)

                  Below the snowflake, huddled in the snow, a cold hungry boy watched a girl through a window.
                  The snowflke landed on the hungry boy's nose, and the little girl noticed him and opened the window. Smiling, she called him near, gave him broth and a present to sooth his tears.

Note:
                  This was a little bit more challenging than last 50 word challenge I had entered. I usually lean to a more Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror style and wanted to take a more literary approach and write about a theme of something back from my childhood in the 80's. I was a little a little kid then, flipping over couches, running around like a maniac, and the one thing I really looked forward to every year was this time of year. That was when the cartoons I grew up to love and still watch to this day would come on TV, like Rudolph The red Noise Reindeer, Santa Coming to Town, Frosty the Snowman, but one cartoon in particular I love more than the rest and that was Mickey's Christmas Carol. It always gave me that feel of spirit that this time of year is about Life, and preserving a tradition of sharing and giving.
                  Its kind of strange as I look back when I was a kid, for life didn't make a bit of sense then, but it made so much more sense then than it does now. When you are a child you believe in magic and the fairy tales, believing with unquestionable faith in the things unseen, knowing that anything was possible, your praise clean and pure. I look at my children now, and I see that same unwavering magic twinkling in their eyes, and it takes me back to that time in life. It always brings back memories, but each year is less, as if the memories grow further in the distance with each passing day, like the wind chipping away at sandstone, leaving only a small monument of stone's former self. The one thing or if any I have learned during my childhood is the spirit of giving and sharing and helping others in need. I wanted to write this story to express what I had learned when I was a kid.
                  No matter what you believe, it is still all the same, through sharing and giving we can create a better world for our children and to the generations to come. Children are the future. The future belongs to them as it should be, but it us, the living, responsibility to give every child living and unborn a better life than we. And I think if there is some unforeseen alien race out their in the cosmos and they so happen upon our planet sometime in the future, they will look at our civilization were every mouth is mouth is fed and person free, and realize our greatest invention wasn't the machines we had built, or the poetry we written, or even the scientific breakthrough we had discovered, but something that is magical and unseen, and they will say to to each other, "Love was, were, and still is Humanities greatest invention."

Signing Off


                  Sorry for the rant, and if you read it all thank you. Sometimes I get to writing and I can't stop, it like a snowball that keeps building as it rolls down hill. But anyways thank you all and have a good night, noon, or morning, depending where you are. Thanks To all.

This is my entry to @jayna's Fifty Word writing challenge

Upvote. Follow. Resteem.


@shanedustin

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/wintry-winter-background-map-white-583251/
Image Source: <https://steemit.com/steemit/@dunja/steemit-logo-in-different-file-formats-png-jpg-ai-eps-svg-pdf

Sort:  

Heart warming story. Very suitable for the season. Let's wish the xmass spirit can stay in people's hearts.

Beautifully said, @shanedustin. I think this time of year makes us long for the past a little, or remember "the old days" wistfully, when life seemed a little less cluttered, a little slower paced. I remember all those shows you mentioned too. Those were the days when I would sit long enough to actually watch a show and enjoy it. But today there is always too much to do, or the combination of long work hours and an enormous desire to write and blog in my available time just shoos away that opportunity for relaxing and enjoying some entertainment. Enjoy your young ones! Kids are so much fun during the holidays!

Congratulations @shanedustin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @shanedustin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I enjoyed your short story. Warming.

Hello @shanedustin, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

@creativecrypto
Thanks for reading. I checked out your blog, love what you are doing. Awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80