A Feast (50-Word Story for @jayna)

in #fiftywords5 years ago

@jayna runs a regular 50-word challenge. You write 50 words, post to your blog, tell her, and sometimes she chooses your story to win. If you haven't tried it, you should! This one just closed, follow her for more.

Here's my story for this latest round:

If You Wait Until They Clean Up . . .


Source: Giphy

One whispered “feast your eyes on this!”

In silence, the others watched a man carry the food:

Sweet potato pie. Turkey. Cranberry sauce. Gravy. Brussels Sprouts. Cornbread. Ham. Applesauce. Grilled vegetables of all kinds. All in a bag.

The man dropped the bag in the trashcan.

Thanksgiving for the raccoons!

--

Hope you enjoyed. Keep steemin' people!!!

Sort:  

That reminds me of my racoons, gotta make sure they didn't amass an army since I last spot-checked them... I should go take a look and peak, but I probably should arm myself. So in the meanwhile as I arm myself with a riotshield, gasmask, helmet and riot gear, lemme speak the words I want about this 50-word tasker. Firstly, I love the usage of actual narration, like a script I say. (Where it's camera-esque, guiding our direction.) Also the fact that we're already given an outsider's view makes sense the entire sequence, but the ending line makes sense of the sequence and repaints it at the same time. Finally we can feel raccoon-esque and understand the information spewed out. So we don't need to elaborate nor pontificate to understand the scene, the mere suggestion that we're raccoons reminds us that we can imagine just as well without elaboration and can use our minds to tie the pieces together. Especially with what a raccoon cares about at the scene of their great soon-to-be-feast area. Anyways, let's see how the situation developed...

Oj nie... Oj nie! OJ NIE!!! SOUND THE ALARM!

Anyways 'twas a fun lil' 50-word tasker yah got there, stranger!~

Hope to see that contest winners' post soon as well~

Upvot'd and resteem'd!~
Flyin' by!.gif

That is quite an elaborate comment, @theironfelix. I love it when a 50-word story creates a stir.

If this were a contest and not a challenge, this would be the winner for me. Because...raccoon.

You are the raccoon queen, @rhondak! I love that picture of Glory, peeking out between the cushions. (Note to anyone reading this: Glory is a feral raccoon who has adopted Rhonda's pet shelter.

Yep, she didn't give me much choice but let her stay. LOL

Cute! Missed those peepers until I looked twice.

here is a video of a stupid raccoon who attacked me. Thank goodness I had Levis and sneakers on (I am usually in shorts).
It had gotten into the trash and pulled out some rib bones, I think it was angry because it I picked them up and threw them away into the covered container. It walked right up to me and hit me.

Raccoons are cute but feral. They will attack, claw and bite. You're lucky.

Yikes! Don't piss off the wildlife, right?

Wow, did he make all the food for the raccoons, or were these his leftovers? One wonders!

Interesting... I don't see GIFs used to illustrate 50-word short stories, so this was a new one. As you will see in my prompt post, the rules are to use creative commons images or ones you have the rights to, but I looked up the legal aspects of GIF image usage and found this article suggesting that they are not considered copyrighted! You can read it here.

One other note for you, @vdux. You mentioned this as a contest and that there are winners, but I just wanted to clarify that I don't (at least currently) run this as a contest. It's a "challenge," and it's a fun way for participants to hone their writing skills by crafting a story in just 50 words. Each week I highlight a few well-written stories as inspiration, but there are no winners. :-)

Ok I'll remember that for next time. Thank you!

Hi @vdux!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.796 which ranks you at #12440 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 116 places in the last three days (old rank 12556).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 225 contributions, your post is ranked at #100.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73