30 Day Movie Challenge - #4 - What is your favorite horror film?

in #film6 years ago (edited)

Day 4 - What is your favorite horror film?

Answer: A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

A Nightmare on Elm Street is an almost perfect horror movie. The premise alone is unique and separates itself from the rest of the pack. We've got a slasher that gets you in your dreams. You're not even safe in the comfort of your own bed. No. Freddy Krueger attacks you in your most vulnerable state. He can manipulate the dream world to suit his own evil desires. You can't get away from him. No matter what you do, Krueger will get you. Your body requires rest. You can only deprive yourself of sleep for so long, but eventually your body is going to betray you. You can't escape Krueger. I think that's just great.

That's pretty much what we get here in the movie. Freddy Krueger was a serial killer when he was alive, but he was found innocent by the courts on a technicality. Angry people decided to take the law into their own hands and burned Krueger alive. That didn't keep him dead for long. He gets his revenge on the children of those who killed him. Horror shenanigans ensue. It's a fun horror movie. We even get to see Johnny Depp here in one of his first movie roles. That's neat too.

Robert Englund steals the show as Freddy Krueger. Aside from him M.O., I love the fact that Krueger has a personality and he taunts his victims before he gets them. I know there's something scary about the unknown. The classic big, silent boogeyman like Jason Voorhees or Michael Myers can be spooky in their own right. I just like that Krueger is a horror icon you can have fun with. I know you can make the argument that it is the thing that made him less scary as the sequels went on, but I think it was another thing that set him apart from most of his peers.


Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hello @d-steezy, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Ah Horror. One of my least favourite genres. It is interesting that you picked this one because it was the first movie of this type I ever watched.

We watched it at school on a sponsored stay awake of all things. It had such an effect on me that it is probably the reason I don't watch a lot of Horror to this day although I appreciate it as a well made movie with a clever story.

Two more to offer. The Exorcist was a ground breaking movie for its time and still holds up today for the most part. I kind of have a love hate relationship with this movie.

My other slightly more controversial offering is The Blair Witch Project. Lots of people didn't like it because 'You didn't see anything' I say its terrifying for this very reason and takes a lot of skill in the direction and acting to achieve this.

Nice one. Gaz.

Day 4

"What is my absolute favorite horror film?"

"The Serpent and The Rainbow"

One film, that I've seen first as a young child, remains one of the scariest I've ever seen. I won't spoil you for a proper nightmare, but after so many years, it still gets me going. And of course, anything "inspired by true events" this incredibly mind-bending, horrifying cannot properly describe.

7.8/10



Thank you @d-steezy for sharing this!




That picture is giving me the creeps all on its own!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17