30 Day Movie Challenge - #8 - What film makes you sad?

in #film6 years ago (edited)

Day 8 - What film makes you sad?

Answer: Pet Sematary (1989)

I love this film. I'm a big fan of Stephen King. Sometimes it's hard to find a good film adaptation of his novels, but I'll say Pet Sematary is one of the better films based on a Stephen King novel. I really enjoy this film. However, things have changed in my life and I have a different reaction to this film. I'm a father now. I have two sons. One is two years old and the other is only a few weeks. I watched this film a few months ago before my second son was born because I was on a Stephen King kick with all the new films coming out recently. I wanted to watch Pet Sematary again because it had been awhile. I wasn't expecting the film to really screw with me on a mental level. If you know what the film is about, you can probably figure out what I'm talking about.

I won't spoil too much about the film if you haven't had the pleasure of seeing this one. I'll keep things vague. The plot of Pet Sematary is simple. There is a piece of land behind a graveyard for pets that used to be an Indian burial ground. The ground had become "sour" as they say. Anyone who has been buried in that area have been known to come back from the dead, but the person comes back changed. Different. There's something wrong with them. Tragedy strikes. A father makes the mistake of tempting fate with the Indian burial ground. The horrors of playing with life and death come into play. Things get crazy. It becomes abundantly clear. Sometimes... dead is better.

Of the older Stephen King film adaptations that were made back then, this film has aged pretty well. The acting isn't bad. Special effects are still decent for the most part. There isn't any terrible looking CGI. The script gets down the most important parts of the Pet Sematary novel. It's just an overall decent film. I'm kind of looking forward to the remake that's to come in the future. I'm sure it'll probably mess me up a little bit too, but I still want to see it. It's one of my favorite Stephen King stories next to IT.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11