Will Denis Villeneuve Make Frank Herbert's Dune a Good Film?

in #film5 years ago (edited)

Funny how when you are a fan of a book you remember a lot about it. Case in point, I've read all the proper Frank Herbert books, and there was never any mention of spice withdrawal symptoms. Yet, the person who made the linked video somehow thinks there is a withdrawal component written in the books. I think he has this confused with the Spice Agony. This is the passing of the highly concentrated "Water of Life" that the Bene Gesserit use in the rituals to choose Reverend Mothers, (their highest rank). Making things more difficult, the Water of Life can only be extracted from one of Dune's sand worms.

362000784_928039f26d_o.jpg

The reason I was specific about Frank Herbert Dune novels, is that the Brian Herbert novels were written with Kevin J Andersen. Andersen pumps out 3+ books a year, and if you are a fan of Frank Herbert this is probably the worst decision in publishing history. Frank Herbert would take years between novels. And Andersen's high volume style is better suited to the Star Wars novels he is known for. While I did enjoy a few of their co-written novels, I found them lacking in the depth and detail for which Frank Herbert is known. For instance, sometimes Frank Herbert would take about 1/2 a page just to describe a room.

6071888843_323f36fd92_b.jpg

Of the Brian Herbert and Kevin J Andersen novels that I liked, the 3 "House" Novels were interesting. But my favorite was the Butlerian Jihad about the war against the machines. That novel filled a prequel gap that was referenced the original novels. But I was able to predict what "Dune 7" was about. So, when they finally got to continuing the tale after Frank Herbert's last novel Chapterhouse Dune, I was pretty sure I knew how it was going to go. So, I went to the book store and flipped forward into the novel and confirmed by prediction. And well, I liked the way I wrote it in my head better than how it was actually printed. The new novels just give the reader the sense they are assembly line books as opposed to crafted novels. And there's a lot of Frank Herbert missing in the new stuff.

4826173536_38c6e2a5c6_z.jpg

Brian Herbert is a great writer. He should have held out and insisted he write the novels alone. Kevin J Andersen ruined the new Dune novels with his pulp fiction style high volume writing.

3456998345_503c0130ea_b.jpg
This rare toy based on the 1984 Dune film directed by David Lynch is an indication that Hollywood thought they had a serial hit to rival Star Wars on their hands. While the film stands on it's own merits for a lot of reasons, it fails to deliver what the fans of the novels wanted. And it fails to deliver the kind of action science fantasy feel of Star Wars.

Denis Villeneuve will be making the 3rd attempt at making Dune into a film. So far, I think he is on the right track as I've always felt you need 2 films to properly tell the story of the first book. And Villeneuve is doing just that. But, as French films go, a lot of times, Americans do not get it at all. For instance, I thought, French sci-fi epic Valerian, was a fantastic film. But, American critics and fans didn't give it much of a chance. My feelings are that it was very French. And by that I mean, the characters display passion more than Americans seem comfortable doing. And since Dune is a high-stakes novel involving the entire "Known Universe", lets hope that passion carries over into the new film.

35397143143_3392e20156_k.jpg

There is another part of me that wishes this film would not be made. This is because of how many novels Brian Herbert and Kevin J Andersen have been spitting out. We are talking at least 3 Dune novels a year for the past 4 to 5 years. And with that kind of pulp rag volume, it makes me think that some Hollywood executive has seen dollar signs in their eyes as there is a lot of source material to make sequel after sequel like the Star Wars franchise. Dune is too broadly scoped and serious to ever reach the pop-culture status of Star Wars, in my opinion. At least, I hope it remains only a special set of books to those who love them. Because so far both films were entertaining, but they were nothing compared to the books.

8890975662_6fbd83c563_z.jpg

I had to stop watching this video after it was obvious the guy didn't know how to pronounce Fremen. It's Frey Man, not Free Man.

FAke_INternet_News banner.jpg

Sort:  

I don't think this movie will be made, not by Villeneuve that is for sure. After the financial disaster that blade runner 2049 turned out to be, I don't think any studio is about to give him another big budget movie any time soon.

Interesting! Haven't seen it yet, but I heard a lot of people didn't like it.

I actually did like it. But it's definitely not for everyone.

There are some mistakes in it for such an expensive film. For instance, when Paul Atreides falls off a rock escarpment in the desert, the background suddenly goes all B-movie.

And there is a continuity error in the craft they get into when Duke Leto Atreides and Paul meet Kines the Emperor's Ecologist for a tour of the Spice fields. The craft they get into, suddenly becomes something else when they are flying around. And that was never caught by the David Lynch. But the rest of the visual FX are top notch.

The acting is excellent.

But the issue with the film is how the book was adapted to film. The Sci-Fi mini-series of the same name does a great job at telling the story. I think it's 3 parts.

But, there still is a majesty to the original film that is quite wonderful. I even like the version directed by Alan Smithee. Alan Smithee is a fake name used when the studio edits their own version and the original director wants his name taken off the film. Occasionally you will see this version played on TV. And it makes more sense as it follows the film better.

Also check out the documentary on a version that never got made. It makes me think perhaps David Lynch as an Autuer type director tried to make the film too personal like this guy was doing. My feelings are if you get a great novel, comic book, or film series that as a director, you owe it to the fans to support the cannon of the original content. As much as I love David Lynch films, I think the original Due film would have been handled better with someone like George Lucas.

Too many Hollywood people have smeared their egos over good property as we have seen with Star Trek and Star Wars. I am hoping Dune with get the Game of Thrones treatment.

I did not read the novels, but Denis Villeneuve is one of my favorite directors, so the project is in good hands. By the way, vote and resteem. Regards!

Yes, I am also a fan of Denis Villeneuve's films. He has a grasp and eye for the fantastical. And he is properly making the first book 2 films.

I've always said the way to properly make Dune (meaning the first book), a film would be 2 parts. Part 1 would be House Atreides given control of Arrakis aka Dune. And Part 2 would be Paul Atreides rise to power in the Fremen desert people of Dune.

I do not want to give it away, but if Villenueve is on the same thinking about the story as I am, then he will conclude part one with the fall of House Atreides on Arrakis. Should be epic! Part 2, well, I am not going to give that away. Lets just say, I am looking forward to an amazing film.

I've never read the Dune books, but I'm a fan of Villeneuve and so I'm looking forward to seeing it.

I highly recommend reading at least the original Dune book by Frank Herbert. There are some terms in the book that might not be understood by someone who only sees the film.

Yeah, when the Reverend Mother of the Bene Gesserit talks about a Gom Jabbar, it will have more impact as a viewer if you know what all that means.

The first book has never been represented well. I have read very few books and Dune is one of them. There are so many amazing parts in the book that get left out and so many needless details put in.

It makes sense that they would do two movies. The entire book (except for the beginning) is a constant string of life/death scenarios after another.

Its such a detail book, the only real way to do it is a series with a budget like Game of Thrones.

Hi fakeinternetnews,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you @fakeinternetnews for this review, I remember in your previous review when I mentioned that you were very fast, thsi time your speed is really great, I could catch up with everything. To start with I have never read a book, the first time I watched in TV sometimes in 80’s but was completely fallen in love with the story, I am sci-fi fan and that was one of the best and good made movies. Everything was perfectly done, story, costumes, scenes. Therefore when I hear that a new movie “Dune” comes up I am really happy about that, nowadays with such luxury like computer animation and special effects that would be a great success in my opinion. Thank you for sharing that new and wonderful review!

Highly recommend reading Frank Herbert. Maybe start with his short stories, then read Dune.

I read the first Dune book years ago and loved it, but I could not keep going with it. They got too complicated for my small brain. And that 1984 film was a huge disappointment.

I think you are on track about the idea of them setting up for a long string of movies to come. We shall see if the first one is successful enough to allow for the next.

The complication in the books is keeping up with all the different factions and characters motivations. The film drew me to the books. Visually stunning and the film score was wonderful. But, as much as I love David Lynch's work, he was the wrong director for this film.

Yes, I got very confused by the second book. I loved the first one though. David Lynch movies are usually too scary and creepy for me!

Yeah, I'm still a 12 year old boy at heart. I love to scare people. And I think that's where Lynch is coming from. But I'm a big sci-fi head mostly. Suppose with a big enough budget I can scare some people. Made this for nearly nothing at Full Sail University.

I have the movie Dune which I enjoy. I do skip watching the gross part. LOL
You know that fat guy floating.

I did check out another book I think a sequel years ago. For some reason I can't remember now I did not like it and quit reading it. So reading your post I'm thinking you may be right.

I mostly like watching scify instead of reading it.

The floating fat guy is Baron Vladmir Harkonen. He's the leader of House Harkonen on the planet Geidi Prime.

What is the gross part you didn't like? When the Baron murders his boy slave? There are a lot of gross parts in that film.

There is another cut that David Lynch wants nothing to do with that SyFy channel and other stations play from time to time. It's supposedly directed by Alan Smithee. But, that name, Alan Smithee, is an film industry standard name for a director when the studio changes it so much the original director wants nothing to do with it.

But, all the sequences you see in that cut were directed by David Lynch. And, there is a scene where they submerge a baby sand worm into water and force it to give up the water of life.

There is also a set up to the film that involves illustrations and a voice over explaining the set up for the film.

Also the made for SyFy Channel, (Sci Fi channel when it was made) mini series is pretty good. But, they tried to make a part 2 that was a combination of Dune Messiah and Children of Dune, (the 2nd and 3rd books).

Well, if Villeneuve's film is a success as I hope it will be, you can might be able to enjoy the Dune universe without reading any of it. But, those first 6 Dune novels written by Frank Herbert are a joy. Specifically the 5th and 6th books Heretics of Dune And Chapterhouse Dune are my favorites from the entire series.

you are quite the expert. I am happy to read your comment.
Thank you. David Lynch is a genius.

Yes, I am a huge fan of David Lynch's Blue Velvet film and the Twin Peaks series. Also I learned Transcendental Meditation after listening to a speech David Lynch gives called Consciousness, Creativity, and The Brain.

I am a fan of Davi Lynch also. I watched Twin Peaks back in the day. As far as TM I do a different form of meditation. All meditation is great. I have a friend that uses TM. Glad to hear you meditate.

I heard a different speech by Lynch that I really enjoyed. I will check this one out later.

I was able to figure out TM with videos on YouTube.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85