Film Review: 'The Reincarnation of Peter Proud (1975)'

in #film5 years ago (edited)

#film #movies #cinema #books #horror #writing #review

The Reincarnation of Peter Proud (1975), a feature film directed by J. Lee Thompson; starring Margot Kidder; Michael Sarrazin, Jennifer O'Neill, and Cornelia Sharpe. Based on a best-selling novel by Max Ehrlich, this film was hyped quite a bit when I was a teen-ager. I saw it in the theater in first release, and loved it.

Unfortunately, it seems to have been almost totally forgotten, despite the presence of what were big stars at the time: Kidder, Sarrazin, and O’Neill. The director, J. Lee Thompson, showed his directing chops with the original production of Cape Fear (1962) and The Guns of Navarone (1961). This film also features a memorably creepy score by Jerry Goldsmith, the great master of horror movie soundtracks. Camerawork is provided by Victor Kemper, who shot the masterpiece Dog Day Afternoon for Sidney Lumet (not too shabby)!

Despite this enviable pedigree, Peter Proud never got a VHS or conventional DVD release in all of this time, and it’s currently not available for streaming anywhere except YouTube (see link above).

But someone must have remembered it, because it’s recently become available on Blu-Ray. Plus, according to the IMDb, there’s a remake in development that is attached to—of all people—David Fincher of Fight Club fame. I’d definitely pay to see that one, if it ever makes it out of development.

Dig That Groovy Score

The original Peter Proud was part of the great 70s occult obsession, which included novels, films and television shows about ESP, reincarnation, devil-worshipping, body-switching, etc. I wouldn’t say this film is “scary,” but I would call it very haunting, especially the Goldsmith score, the creepiest parts of which accompany repetitive scenes from a memorably disturbing nightmare.

The plot concerns the title character, a California college professor named Proud, who suffers from a recurring nightmare. In the nightmare, he sees a woman in a rowboat rowing across a lake at night. The woman encounters a naked man swimming in the water, and kills him by bludgeoning him with an oar until he sinks to the bottom of the lake.

During these nightmares, Professor Proud calls out in a strange voice to a woman called “Marcia.” He also dreams about a vintage sports-car and landmarks from an unfamiliar place. Eventually, he begins an investigation which includes consulting a prominent psychiatrist. This leads to a stint at a sleep lab, where his nightmares strangely don’t register as dreams on the monitoring equipment.

Later, he sees a random television documentary that features landmarks from the same town in his nightmares. The town is somewhere in Massachusetts. Proud and his skeptical girlfriend, Nora (Cornelia Sharpe--a famous "supermodel" of the 70s), drive through the Bay State looking for the town and eventually they find it: it's Springfield, the state capital.

Somewhere along the way, he realizes that when he visits scenes from his nightmares in real life, he stops dreaming about those particular items. But fed-up Nora ditches him when he becomes too obsessed with the investigation.

Eventually, he meets the woman in the rowboat from his nightmares, although she’s much older; her name is Marcia Curtis and she’s a wealthy, prominent citizen of Springfield (Margot Kidder). Marcia has a beautiful grown daughter named Ann (Jennifer O’Neill--another famous 70s supermodel), to whom Proud is immediately attracted. Ann returns his affection and soon they are having an affair, which causes Marcia a great deal of distress.

Icky Themes

One big, kinda icky problem: Both Proud and Marcia begin to believe that Proud is the reincarnation of Jeff Curtis, Marcia’s late husband—and Ann’s father. Yup, there's a big ol' incestuous thing going on, which may make some viewers squirm. (Jeff supposedly drowned in a lake accident when Ann was a baby, but that's not the real story of how he died.)

I won’t tell you how Peter Proud ends, but this is a film that sticks with the viewer for a long time, despite dragging in some parts. That music, those haunting images, and that ending! If the remake ever happens, I hope they keep the score. Critics gave it a lukewarm review at the time of release and especially ridiculed the terrible "aging" make-up worn by the beautiful Margot Kidder, who was only 26 when this film was made. Crappy make-up aside, I rate it 8/10, considerably higher than its current IMDb user score of 6.6/10.

If you love that creepy, haunting, slow-burn 70s horror vibe, you may also want to check out The Other (1972); The Haunting of Julia aka Full Circle (1977); The Possession of Joel Delaney (1972); Let’s Scare Jessica to Death (1972); and The Mephisto Waltz (1971). Other, more famous films in a similar style include Don't Look Now (1973) and Picnic at Hanging Rock (1975).

Most of these films are on disc, at streaming sites, or at least on YouTube.

Sort:  

I remember being impressed by The Guns of Navarone and Cape Fear, when I watched those on TV in what was probably my mid or late teens but I had never heard of this film nor of the man it is based on.

As you already warned me for the aging make up, that part probably won't bother me. Watching what you describe as 'creepy, haunting, slow-burn 70s horror' with a Jerry Goldsmith score and cinematography by Kemper from Dog Day Afternoon, with all this talent attached to it, sounds like a treat to me.

I might actually give the YouTube version you attached here a try tonight, projected on the wall of my soon to be renovated house.

Thanks for yet another awesome recommendation and I'll let you know how I liked it :>)

Thanks Vince. I don't know why this film just disappeared. It's weird because I distinctly remember a big advertising campaign and of course the book was a best-seller. It's too bad that the version on YouTube is a somewhat blurry VHS transfer. The score is one of Goldsmith's best.

It was blurry and projected on my wall that added to the overall spookiness. Thanks to the score by Goldsmith, the slight suspense and its cinematography and editing, I managed fairly easily to sit through it.

I think if Hitchcock would ever have made a softcore film, it would look somewhat like this :>)

Holy shit, I have been looking for this movie for about thirty years and didn't even realize it!

I have memories of seeing a man swimming in a lake, getting smacked with an oar, and sinking to the bottom at some point (probably on television somewhere), and I had no idea what show or film they came from. I haven't thought about this since I was a teenager myself, but damn, you described that scene and they came flooding back.

I've not seen the movie, at least not in its entirety, but you just answered a question I had totally forgotten I had wondered since I was a kid! I love you, @janenightshade! :D

Wow, great story! Ain't the Internet great? I found many old movies I'd been searching for myself on the old IMDb message boards. I hung out there for years (under another name) and there was a large and very active horror/mystery/sci-fi community there. But they axed their message boards two years ago and it was a great loss. How I miss those days.

Man, I was SO disappointed when IMDb ditched their message boards. I understand their reasons, but I still feel like it was a huge loss. I loved reading the discussions there about movies where things weren't always black and white, with people arguing over interpretation or explaining what happened when the outcome wasn't entirely clear.

Yup, I learned A LOT from those boards, plus they were fun. The Kubrick boards were especially entertaining. They were full of people I call Excessively Devoted Kubrick Fans, the kind of nutjobs who believe that every single lampshade and coaster in the Overlook Hotel is a coded Message From Stanley. I used to piss them off with posting things like: "Dude, you know that doorknob in Scene Five of Eyes Wide Shut? It's just. . .a. . .DOORKNOB." I wasn't popular in some places :)

Haha! I like the kind of trolling that you did. I have the tendency to tell people who want to ‘understand’ the films of David Lynch that the trick is to try not to understand it and just watch the movie

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, to be fair, the IMDb board was very good for the various theories about Mulholland Drive for me! But, unlike Kubrick, nobody thinks that Lynch has inside information on government conspiracies and secret cults that he's communicating to the world in his movies.

nobody thinks that Lynch has inside information on government conspiracies and secret cults that he's communicating to the world in his movies.

I wouldn't be too sure about that with his transcendental meditation background ;>)

Everybody did that shit in the 70s. Even Clint Eastwood.

I get what you mean. I still have the tendency - every now and then - to go there to find out about the ending of a movie or just to pick up the general vibe of the (imdb) audience - and then realize that the message board is gone. It feels somewhat dead. It’s one way to deal with trolls I guess.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Someone imported part of the old board to MovieChat.org, but hardly anyone posts there. It's not the same, sadly.

Hello @janenightshade, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15