Calibre (Film): Review.

in #film5 years ago

Today I decided to watch a movie blindly, what? and I do not mean not watching the movie, lol, but I saw it without knowing in advance what I was going to consume, I did not read the plot, I did not see the trailer, I just put the first thing I found, and I got an excellent surprise.


Image.png

>>Source <<


Year: 2018
Category: Thriller
Director: Matt Palmer.
Cast: Jack Lowden, Martin McCann, Tony Curran, Ian Pirie, Kate Bracken, Kitty Lovett, Cal MacAninch, Cameron Jack, Donald McLeary.


Plot

Two friends travel to an isolated village in the Scottish Highlands to go hunting for a weekend, but first, they decide to have a few drinks and spend a night in the bar with the villagers. Unfortunately, the next morning, when they decide to go hunting, one of them will shoot in an unplanned target.


Opinion

Ok, I will not delay this much, I will try to be concise here. It's interesting that in my previous review I was talking about Locke, a movie in which the protagonist risks everything he has to take responsibility for an error he made. Now, in Caliber, it's the opposite. The film is based on the archetype of the involuntary culprit, which commits a fatal error accidentally, and then, any decision other than facing the consequences will only make the situation worse.

This is not a survival thriller. There is no action in the movie, not even when you finally think there will be. The priority of the film is to show the situations in which the protagonists must make decisions in which their morality is at stake. Thus, the viewer can think what his decision would be if he were in the same situation.

Actually the characters did not generate sympathy, I do not know if that is good or bad, but their decisions are what allow to develop the plot, while they are carried away by fear and instinct, the plot progresses, otherwise it would be impossible. Jack Lowden and Martin McCann do a good job, I personally liked McCann's performance better than Lowden's, but both do it well. Tony Curran and Ian Pirie also do an excellent job, mainly Curran, who plays one of the town's residents.

The film tells us about the conscience, the feeling of guilt, the fear of discovering what the protagonists have done, since they must pretend that nothing happens, while hiding the truth of their actions. Actually the movie leaves me with a very good feeling, I must say that it is extremely realistic, it could easily be a real life event.

Maybe, the best thought that the film leaves us, is that we should not hunt animals for sport, the consequences can be very bad.

I must say that I do not know of any previous work by the director, Matt Palmer, but according to what I know he has not done much anyway. So for the moment, I get a very good first impression of him, I hope he does not disappoint me in the future, and that I managed to maintain the realism that he transmitted to this film in the next ones.


Trailer


Score

7/10

Good film, recommended, keeps the viewer in suspense while narrating a tragic story about accidents and wrong decisions.


Image.png

Sort:  

Hello @martinmcfly, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Wow... it sounds fun to just choose a movie randomly without knowing anything about it! And the description and the trailer makes it look like an interesting movie that I might end up watching one day... Love this, get so many good suggestions by reading the Steemit articles about movies and TV series!

Yes, it's something I really do frequently. Sometimes I see a bad movie, but sometimes not knowing anything is better, I just start to see to know what happens.

Congratulations @martinmcfly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 comments. Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77