Carnage (Film): Review.

in #film5 years ago

There are days when I just decide to watch a movie, not because the plot I like, not because I have an excellent director, not because the story is very good, not because the movie has won many awards, but because the film has excellent actors saying good dialogues. This is one of those cases.


Image.png

>>Source <<


Year: 2011.
Category: Black Comedy-Drama.
Director: Roman Polanski.
Cast: Jodie Foster, Kate Winslet, Christoph Waltz, John C. Reilly.


Plot

A couple receives a european marriage in their apartment in Brooklyn to discuss the altercation between their children. What begins as an educated conversation between responsible adults will degenerate into an increasingly less civilized dispute.


Opinion

mmmm, I am short of money, I probably have to pay some lawyers and maintain my lifestyle, so if I get a camera, I improvise a script, I propose four actors to join me and we share the profits, and then we sell a movie that we can shoot in a day. Yup, that's what I'll do.

Well, that seems to be what Roman Polanski thought when he decided to shoot Carnage. Well, that's what I think.

The argument is simple, the first thing we see is how a child hits another with a stick. Then they immediately show us how the parents of the children meet to talk about it, because the child who was hit was obviously hurt. But... but... but... as the conversation progresses, the differences between the parents, which seem to be greater than that of the children, begin to appear.

If I'm honest, I did not plan to see this film, but the film was starting when I was changing the television channels, and when I saw the four main actors in the same scene, I just kept looking at it. I must say Jodie Foster, Kate Winslet and Christoph Waltz are three actors that belong to the small group of actors that I really like. Jhon C. Reilly is also good, and in fact, in this film it is not out of place, but I do consider that at a general level he is well below the level of the other three.

Something that I did not like about the film are the constant and unsuccessful attempts, by the couple formed by Waltz and Winslet, to evade the situation, since such actions are extremely forced and unreal. At a certain point, I think it's intentional, which is why it keeps a comical tone, making the film, together with the dialogues, become quite funny, sarcastic and satirical.

Practically everything revolves around the idea of ​​human nature. While the couple formed by Foster and Reilly talk maintain the courtesy, the couple formed by Winslet and Waltz intuit that they are only maintaining the appearance and that they really believe they are morally superior, because their son is less violent, however, they decide to continue the game anyway. So some are polite to each other, when what they really want is to impose their will, but slowly, and at times, each one will let out what they really think about the situation.

The weight, and the value of the whole film, although the dialogues are good, resides fundamentally in the work done by their actors, Jodie Foster is a paranoid woman, which from the first moment she wants the other couple to recognize explicitly the failure of his son and punish him harshly; Jhon C. Reill, her husband, is a hard worker. On the other side is Winslet as a patient and cautious wife, but who, beneath her appearance of sensitivity, conceals her irritable personality. And finally Christoph Waltz who plays a cynical character whose main priority is his work. If we ignore the possible cultural observation that arises in the dialogues of the film, the work stands out exclusively for the capacity of its actors, and nothing more.


Trailer


Score

5/10

The film is worth it for those spectators fascinated by the dialogues. Actually the film is entertaining in its own way, but I am aware that a film of this style will only please a small number of people, that is why I place an average score.


Image.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 93 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88