Nightcrawler (Film): Review.

in #film5 years ago

Jake Gyllenhaal is one of those actors of which I'm always attentive to his filmography, because each film in which he participate is worth seeing, and yes, there are some exceptions, I sure do not have to mention them, there is always a film that is not worth it, but that does not change the fact that most of the films he stars are very good, so this time I gave Nightcrawler a chance, a film I saw a while back, but for some reason I did not finish seeing, so I decided to see it again, this time, complete.


Image.png

>>Source <<


Year: 2014
Category: Thriller.
Director: Dan Gilroy.
Cast: Jake Gyllenhaal, Rene Russo, Riz Ahmed, Bill Paxton.


Plot

The film tells how Lou films violent events at night in Los Angeles and sells the images to a local television news station.


Opinion

The film tells the story of Louis "Lou" Bloom, who at the time of starting the film is dedicated to stealing, however, shows interest in getting a conventional job, so when on the way home he runs into a car crash, Lou observes some freelance photojournalists make their job, intrigued ask some questions to one of them. Later Lou can not get out of his mind the idea of ​​doing that job, so after stealing a bike, he changes it to a camera and a police radio scanner.

Lou is a very peculiar character, his empty eyes and disconcerting look give the impression of being a kind of psychopath, and on the other hand, it seems that he had read and memorized all those articles of personal improvement and negotiations that abound in Internet, giving the feeling that every thing that says is copied from a book about business management.

In the course of the film we mainly see Lou's disposition towards his work, and how in some twisted way as advances what he considers professional ethics is not the same as many of us and the rest of the characters would consider moral or ethical, but in fact, the character is not ethical, is capable of performing criminal acts, something we can know from the first scene, where he attacks a guard, but due to a change of scene we can not know if he killed him or simply wounded him.

In the process Lou will hire an employee, Rick, who will serve as his personal assistant, while he films accidents and crime scenes without taking into account any moral or legal standard, even alter crime scenes. Lou will also interact with Nina Romina, the morning news director of KWLA 6, with whom he will maintain an exclusive relationship and that will encourage him to continue with his way of doing the work.

The direction work, in charge of Dan Gilroy, who until the moment of directing this film was an inexperienced one, is quite good, the rhythm of the film makes the spectator stay entertained and intrigued by what happens. The script was also written by him, and I think he's right again.

Of the acting work is in charge mainly Jake Gyllenhaal, one of my favorite actors, who participated in some films that I have already commented previously, such as Nocturnal Animals, Enemy, Prisoners, Source Code, and who will probably continue talking in the future. His work in this film is excellent, in fact, almost the whole movie is his character, and not evolution, because I really do not know if the character has a very big evolution, but the twisted way in which he gets what he wants, interpreting a perfect psychopath. The rest of the actors do a good job too, although they have very little time on screen to represent something really important, however, it seems to me that the work done by Riz Ahmed was very good too.

In short, this is a film in which the performance of Gyllenhaal is the predominant factor, a dark and a bit disturbing story, but maintains a pace fast enough so that the viewer does not lose interest.


Trailer


Score

7/10

Entertaining film with a very good performance, a story that seems to lead nowhere, but to which everyone can find their own observation about it. I recommend the movie.


Image.png

Sort:  

Probably my favorite movie starring Jake Gyllenhaal since I first got to know him through Donnie Darko, which really impressed me in my late teens at the Rotterdam Film Festival. I love the neo noirish thème of this film and Gyllenhaal definitely carries this one

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is a very good movie, it is surely one of his best films. He is a great actor, and his work is generally very good, I hope he continues to participate in good films.

The first time I saw Jake Gyllenhaal was in American beauty. I was immediately taken with him. Since then I've been watching movies in which he plays. I don't know this film yet. I had the thought that if you do your film reviews, it would be helpful for your readers if you mentioned whether the films you review are broadcast on Netflix and Amazon. Since I am a comfortable person, I would immediately know if I want to open my cinema program and watch the film on the same day. I don't know if that might be a bit too much work for you if you haven't subscribed to it yourself. And a candy on top of that would be whether you can watch it at prime for free or only in the paid version. :)

Now I will read through your review.

Kudos to you for continuing to post here so diligently in the usual quality.

Kudos to you for continuing to post here so diligently in the usual quality.

Thank you very much. You are very kind!

The first time I saw Jake Gyllenhaal was in American beauty.

I don't remember seeing Jake Gyllenhaal in American beauty.

I had the thought that if you do your film reviews, it would be helpful for your readers if you mentioned whether the films you review are broadcast on Netflix and Amazon.

Sure, I will try to do it in the future, what happens is that I am not sure if the catalog of these platforms is the same for the different countries.

Although I can tell you that I investigated, and apparently you can find this movie in the Netflix catalog of Germany.

Thanks for reading and commenting on some good suggestions, I will consider it.

I remember this movie, and I loved this neurotic character. I think I am the only one that finds it funny when at the beginning of the movie, he asks for a job and the boss tells him he is not hiring a thief, the reaction from Gyllenhaal when he hears that is hilarious, it is like what he just heard makes total sense but somehow (because he is literally crazy) he wasn't able to realize this obviousness.

This is the video of the scene but it ends right before he makes the funny reaction:

That scene is great, it's a small opening that tells us what we'll see next, the kind of character that we'll see the rest of the movie. Everything is very hilarious and intriguing.

Thanks for comment!

Great writeup and review! Thanks for sharing! I don't think I've ever even heard of this movie. Will check it out now!

I think it's on Netflix, it's a good movie. Thanks for comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00