Filmmaker's Diaries: 10/06/2019

in #filmmakersdiaries5 years ago

Hello and welcome to another Filmmaker’s diary!

Been some times of tribulation…

Haven’t even kept this diary up to date. Incredible resistance I’ve been getting from all fronts.

I’ll just do a quick resume and hopefully, the luck will change.

#The nine to five

So first of all while I’m on holiday the location of my regular job changed, making it a 14/15 H daily activity… (keep in mind I get paid very poorly) so, a very difficult choice was made… I gave my notice… my 30-day notice. When if we go back 3 years ago… when this diary started, you might remember the insanely difficult times I had… thing like waiting a year just to film a video… and so on… all of those recorded (and none recorded) struggles came from the fact that I had no money because I quit my job to really… So this was indeed a difficult choice. (Also I had cut into my crypto funds…. Missing the last peak price) So yeah… it was a difficult choice, but one that had to be made.

If I stayed there now… I would turn into a full on Zombie and none of my projects would be achieved… not the business and much less the creative. So yeah.

But here is the thing, since I took more holidays than the ones I had accumulated until then… I actually own them a bunch of days… now that sucks. So (I think 8) of the days I’ll be working until my contract ends will be to pay them back… If only I had snowed about the move before asking for holidays… On top of that, I haven’t really been going there since I came from holidays. Just had too many important things to do and as a matter of priorities … I just could not go. I will have to the next week. If I go every day from the 17th until the end of the contract I’ll work 12 days… minus 8, minus 1 (the price of public transportation) and I’ll end up with 3 days … plus I’m really not sure I’ll go every single day. Especially the last two (with would mean one more transportation money) So basically, even If I go to work… for 12 days /14H a day… I’ll make … nothing… literally nothing… less than 100 profit… that’s a tuff one to swallow. And more likely I’ll go like 10 days and make zero profit… I don’t know… I probably won’t go until the 17th…. Don’t know what’s happening.

#The other Job

The editing job… hasn’t been smooth either… basically, I still haven’t been paid… I’ve put, I don’t even know how many hours. Communication is not at it’s best. Last time I sent 6 videos they only approved 2 (So I only get paid for 2) and no explanation. It takes several/ a week or more days to get feedback from the videos. And I still don’t have a contract. Now in their defence, I had a non-valid ID card… but I’ve sent them my passport as well. And I’ve sent them my new ID card, more than a week ago. Today it was a national holiday but tomorrow I’ll ask about it. And I got some finos that they want me to use. So It might go smoothly from now on… but not too impressed. Hopefully, it will be ok. Especially now, that I don’t have that safe income coming.

#Writing

The worst of it all is this one…

For the first time (as far as I know) there will be a pitch/ screenplay competition in this country. In the end, the winners will present the idea to someone who can make it. Now, this is by far the most important thing I’ve mentioned here in this entry. But the deadline is on the 16th…. And this day that I didn't go to work… were supposed to be dedicated to that. I had many things to do for the video production companies, but I made a schedule and was supposed to be done with most of the things many days ago… guess what? I’m not. So today, I felt a bit down when I considered abandoning that project… the mains project, the only one that’s exactly what I want to do...

But now I’m thinking, fuck it. I guess I’ll try. I’ll do my best. Even If I can’t finish it on time, I will have done my best and next time will be different. So I’m going for it. Tomorrow I’ll finish a few things, I won’t go to work until the deadline and I hope I can focus a bit.

#Video Business Company

This one I won’t say much… except that the resistance is starting to become somewhat supernatural. I have accounts getting shut down for no reason… wanted to migrate my websites and domains to this hosting platform…. They didn’t allow me… Just the most insane.. haven’t been able to start writing on the script due to complications on this front. Insane, I’m at a point where I need this to take off as well… this plus the pitch…plus leaving work (bad memoirs from the past) plus the editing job not being up and running… makes me a bit anxious at the moment… I can not lie.

Also, I might join a mentorship program… like business related.

Well, that’s enough for now… this was meant to be a quick update, just to break the silence. Had some videos to edit, But I think I’ll just do them tomorrow.

As always, thank you for reading.

By Upvoting this post you are helping independent artist!!

If you like this, you can see the previous diaries for more reference:

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-drone-knocking

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmakers-diaries-sitting-down-and-writing

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmakers-diaries-reading-lenses-and-drones

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-no-rest-on-the-holidays

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diaries-01-05-2019

https://steemit.com/filmmakersdiaries/@maxjoy/filmmakers-diaries-the-f-noise-from-upstairs-and-trying-to-rest

Word Logo- croped.png

Photos (except Logo) from Pixabay.com

Sort:  

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

This post had received 5.00% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

Congratulations @maxjoy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13