How Do You Say Zenit?

CNV00050.JPG

In the last London Steem Community Meetup, I was speaking to the amazing @wizzdom and the conversation went to my interest in vintage cameras. Many of my cameras were made in the former Soviet Union countries, including Ukraine.

One of my favourite cameras is the legendary Zenit-E. Now, there's nothing legendary about the camera itself. Apparently, it is considered a 'junk camera' in Russia and Ukraine.

What is legendary about it, which is why I love it so, is the lens it was shipped with - the Helios-44-2.

15260002.JPG

15260014.JPG

Some of my favourite photos I've ever taken were with this lens. I owned three cameras that all came with this lens - Zenit-E, Zenit-12XP and PrinzeFlex 500. The Prinzeflex is really a Zenit-E, but with a label glued on top of the Zenit branding. It was hilarious to me when the label fell off and the camera instantly reverted to being a Zenit-E.

15260006.JPG

15260009.JPG

Apart from film photography, this lens is also quite popular in the digital photography world. The architecture of the lens gives it some special characteristics that are so beloved - both for photography and cinematography. Ironically, those characteristics were perceived as imperfections back in those days.

15260003.JPG

15260012.JPG

Up till today, I get comments on my YouTube videos I made about this camera, mostly from ex-Soviet nations, saying how the camera is 'ugly' or 'junk'. They also comment on how I pronounce Zenit incorrectly. I am proud to announce that I now know how to correctly pronounce it properly thanks to @wizzdom :)



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

The E-series was sold in Germany as Revue/Revueflex and Porst. The 44 lens mainly made with M42, but also available with PK. The late Zenit used PK.

Did they just stick the label on the Revue like they did with the Prinzflex? They didn't even bother trying too hard haha.

No sticker, a real new metall plate.

BTW. are you, as a #believeinfilm fan boy, interested in film-swap? If pls. have a look at this.

Always interesting to see how vintage items always become idolized after a while!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Exactly haha.

The truth is that I don't speak camera language, but, damn how are all those gonna be called imperfections when the characteristics are obviously amazing? these shots looks amazing and I'm even prouder than you are of them

LOL. Thanks bro. Yeah, they were striving for improvement back then.. we have those improvements now, but people are looking to the past when things were simpler. Nostalgia I guess. There are Instagram type filters that try to re-create these effects.

I think the things people now call regularities are turning out to become the selling point these days, and my! What a change we're experiencing these times

I guess the camera lens must be great to look at how the photos look so sharp and clear. And also are you the one holding the camera. If yes, then surely i guess you must have high level skills of photography

Yes it is me, thanks.

Yeh, I'm with @josediccus. I don't know much about cameras, but those are amazingly clear, and sharp shots.
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahah exactly lol the images matters more

Earlier Zenit or in Russian Зенит was popular. But now most people use digital cameras. But my father if I am not wrong has one Зенит camera.

Posted using Partiko Android

The camera also shines old.

I have zero knowledge on camera and all those features. Just came here to see some nice photography. And not disappointed.
Thanks @adetorrent

Posted using Partiko Android

Some man's junk... is another man's treasure.
So it is good, you was take it up .

so sharp and hazy at the same time. love it

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76