Revenge? Spite? A Mural Somewhere in Morocco, Analog Photography on a Wall, Working with liquid Emulsion

in #filmphotography6 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

This is what I call: Leave something behind :) Great work!

Thanks @delishtreats; it is also a weird experience to make photos that I can't take with me ;)

Holy shit! This is great

I feel like i just got slapped in the face! Haha. Omg. I miss having access to printing. Printing anything at all. I had limestone lithography classes at school and would go over there in the middle of the night to the print dept. And just go off with all the stuff. Having everything right there to work with was so cool let alone being in Morocco and printing on walls!!

Sorry for the tangent. I love this so much i'm dying here with all my steemit junk work...

Thanks Ross, nice tangent there ;)

I am in the middle of planning my final darkroom; rebuilding horse stables for that. Can't wait to have it all within 'pyjama-distance': Colour lab, b/w also, film developement, large prints.
btw.: I'll offer residencies. Including very nice accomodation...
All finished in autumn 2019...

That sounds great! Where are you?

On the south-east Arse of Austria, Central Europe.

Mind blowing stuff, again! Really impressive! The sheer size of this.

thanks @vander, makes me happy ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

thanks @c-squared, happy to have fallen in your net ;)

unusual and thought-provoking. far from the masses. that is why i like your art.

Thanks @nikokafka, I appreciate!

Oh... I was looking for a way to do that for a few months now. With digital photos, though...

If we could do it for a certain village in Bulgaria I and my partner on the project will be very happy. Maybe locals will be, too.

Anyway, can you please give me details of the process and the relative costs of it?

to expose digital photos you could use a video-projector.

The process, all in all, is quite an effort, and time consuming. Basically you can use liquid emulsion like liquid light, or one from rollei. You warm that emulsion to 40° in a water bath, and then you coat the wall (all in red light). Don't paint it on like you would do with colour, but apply quite a thick layer.

Then it should dry for 24h in total darkness. My dark-tents are never dark enough though, so I give it one night (have to get up early). Don't forget to also coat some small pieces for your probes (exposure time).

Once this has been achieved, you use pump-n-spray bottles to develop, fix and rinse it. I put trays and foil underneath the picture to collect the waste chemistry.

Aftrewards, once it is thorougly dry, you can coat it with varnish.

For the costs I'd check at a shop like nordfoto.

Where in Bulgaria are you planning to do it? I had one up close to Pavlikeni, but it came down during the winter.

Hope that helps.

Thank you very much! It feels like a totally new field of expertise and I am not sure if our first attempts will use this method. Basically, we're looking for outdoor methods of exhibiting photos in a way that has a natural feel to it.

Now that you said the thing about the place near Pavlikeni, I wouldn't be surprised if it turns out your project was the one that inspired the man who invited me to photograph another village. It is Boliartsi, Sadovo municipality, Plovdiv region.

Maybe we will use an abandoned church or maybe not... We have to think about it. I am still gathering journalistic material.

sounds nice; and you are right, this process is very complicated, and maybe not the nicest one to start with...
Ask the guy who invited you if he was visiting the Nomadic Village 2009; this was the thing I did in Pavlikeni.

btw., the simplest way of putting something photo-like on a wall: Use a video projector, project image on the wall, paint it.

Thank you so much. Those are at least ideas that need considering. On the other part - not the Nomadic Village, no, it turns out what I spoke of was somewhere else. And it was mural painting... I don't know the exact terms... :

https://www.dnevnik.bg/bigpicture/2015/07/31/2582363_fabrikata_na_uorhol_v_selo_staro_jelezare/

I'm always surprised if I give a lot of answers and help, and it isn't reflected in the upvotes...
All the best with your projects!

I personally appreciate what you do and I would be glad to support you. I have to thank you for somehow calling me back to your account again and I will make sure to check out your recent posts.

But I want to ask if I would do any difference if I voted alone on comments of yours and my voice does no add to anybody else's (since I don't give even 0.01 on my own alone).

Also, please tell me if you are ok to receive votes through a service such as that particular bot that plants trees.

Votes are not only about the value, but about the gesture; I'm happy, even if it's 0.00001 ;)
And I also don't mind bots. Just different ways to show appreciation...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81