Army of Darkness (film) : one of my favorites ever

in #films5 years ago

This has to be one of the most beloved cult classics of all time and I believe that Bruce Campbell has a career almost entirely because of the character Ash.


source

Like most people, this movie managed to pass me by when it was in theaters. I had no familiarity with Evil Dead 1 or 2, most likely because of the R rating and I was in elementary school. However, it wasn't until many years later that I discovered The Evil Dead trilogy (of sorts) and I loved them immediately.


source

While the 2nd Evil Dead kind of got the ball rolling in transitioning from a serious gore-fest to being considerably more whimsical, Army of Darkness went all the way. It is more of a comedy flick with some gore and a few jump scares mixed in than it is a horror film. Ash's brash and cocky method of speaking and handling situations became legendary and his attitude and confidence is very different than the Ash that starred in the original Evil Dead.


source

Some of the special effects, particularly the actual Army of Darkness that attacks are pretty bad, but director Sam Raimi wasn't get getting hundreds of millions of dollars to make films yet. This one had a budget of 11 million, which I personally think was very well used because given the relatively low budget, the special effects are actually quite good especially when you consider the fact that the film was made in the early 90's when technology was a bit limited.


source

I don't want to get into too many opines here because since this is a cult classic people get easily butthurt about the specifics of this film. The movie has a little bit of everything though, and I think that really appeals to nerds like me.

I have seen this movie dozens of times and it stays entertaining to me every time I see it. I really enjoy sitting down and watching it with people who have never seen it before to gauge their reaction. I normally get my feelings hurt if they don't find it funny - Cult classics have a way of doing that to the fans. If you haven't seen this film, you really aught to because for an "army" of people out there, it is a fantastic piece of "horror" history.

The film made $25 million at the box office and over the years via DVD sales and remasterings and merchandising it has likely made much much more.

On a scale of "urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give Army of Darkness the rating of ....


Inspector-Gadget-Wowsers-Dec-2018.jpg

Sort:  

lol i freaking love this movie. Did you watch Ash Vs Evil dead? A real treat for Ash fans :)

yeah, about that. I don't really feel as though it has the same appeal. I am going to go and look at it again though and maybe put my finger on exactly why I don't think it is as great as the films despite having much more money and better access to CGI.

I agree, its not EXACTLY the same, but I still think its worth it to get to see Ash in action again after thinking we would never see him wield a chainsaw again. But i totally get your perspective as well :)

I was just going to point that out as well, I loved the original movies (my friend could quote Army of Darkness line by line anywhere)

Started watching Ash vs Evil Dead last week... same feelings as the third movie.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Love that flick from start to end - the low-budget flaws are forgiven - its entertaining fare - Bruce Campbell was well cast - annual favoriate around Halloween... or anytime. Well written summary!

11 million budget? To make 25 mill at the box office I would say it isn't bad business at all, I think watching the 1990s movie now will make one thing the effects were bad and it's simply because we have better technology now, I haven't seen this one though, from your perspective, it seems decent

"this is my boomstick"

which ending do you prefer?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88