Game Night (film): Funny and completely impractical.

in #films5 years ago (edited)

Watching the movie is not impractical. The ideas portrayed in it are just so out-of-the-realm-of-all-possibility though. This is why I write this.

13947168_f520.jpg

I watched this movie for 2 reasons: Jason Bateman is my new favorite actor and 2: I was on a plane and it was one of the few options I had available for me.

The premise of the movie goes like this: Max and his wife really love having game nights where couples compete in various games such as the classics like Pictionary, charades, or really anything else that involves a team. They, as a couple, enjoy the fact that they tend to be so much better at it than most of their friends. Their competitive spirit keeps them happy as a couple and is subsequently how they met.

image.jpg

They host a game night that gets wildly out of control when one night the game night involves a hired company that sets up murder mystery events for people and well, things go wrong. It wouldn't be much of a movie if this weren't the case.

game-night.png

All the couples at some point realize that the game they are playing is not really a game and straighten out only to realize they are now caught up in a serious real-life danger situation and then it stops being fun and becomes very serious.

This movie is not great but it is reasonably entertaining. However, I am a realist and want continuity to exist in movies I watch. This movie did not have that. The scenarios are so completely absurd that it is really easy to see that there is no way that what happens in this movie could ever possibly happen in real life. The situations are just too nuts.

I still enjoyed this film, it just isn't something that anyone can relate to afterwards because there is no chance that this could ever happen to anyone by mistake or otherwise. The scenarios that they find themselves in would be impossible to be faked by a company and impossible to survive if they were real.

gamenightdog.jpg

One very important thing to note: Jesse Plemons plays Gary Kingsbury, the next-door neighbor of Max who is a cop with some serious socialization issues. He just absolutely nails it. Despite the fact that he is a minor character in the overall scheme of things he totally steals the show.

overall i would say check this movie out if you are nearly out of stuff to watch but don't expect it to be amazing; because while it is decent it certainly isn't something to write home about. It is my undertanding that it made more than $50 million so that is great news! for them

6 / 10

Sort:  

I had a great time in the cinema watching Game Night. I was actually positively surprised, as it had some cool twists in the story, and I couldn't really understand it all, and thus it was kept interesting.

It was a great combination of funny and exciting, it kept the attention of its viewers, and it managed to surprise. I believe that is more than most other similar movies can accomplish in these days, so again - I was happy and satisfied as I left the cinema after watching Game Night!

Jason Bateman, same reason.
I would give it 6.5/10, pretty close.
Not super, not bad.
Jesse Plemons, exactly this is a real bad ass.

Oh man I think any Jason Bateman film classifies as not in the realm of realism and the last resort on a plane!

That may be a hungover Sunday afternoon watch while dozing on the couch kinda watch for me. ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good review and detail by ypu . Game night over all truely speaking i like this movies . Gokd role play by all the characters in this movies.

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent a movie that I enjoy a lot, I do not know the general perception of all but I loved it. Greetings and my respects as always I love to read you a hug.

You tend to love a movie much when your favourite actor is acting in the moving. I also understand you about what you said. I also think it is not possible to happen to a family in real life, I mean the wife should get something more to do and the husband should be busy making up for the family. I guess I have not watch it but reading a little review about this movie, I guess I also will not like to watch the movie on a long time because I don't think I can learn anything from it. So I guess I will give the rating of 3/10

Posted using Partiko Android

I did not even like to watch this type pf films. I will always preferred those like the kung fu, the magic films or even actions films that invloves much shooting. I guess i preferred that one but you know people taste are always different than the others

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73