Godzilla King of the Monsters 2 (film): It's what you would expect

in #films5 years ago

The only reason I went to go and see this was because this group of nerds that I hang with wanted a group outing and since this Monday is a public holiday in Thailand (new Queen's birthday) everyone had the day off. Parts of it were good, parts were not and this was precisely what I knew it would be like.


source

How many times has this film been done? I have been seeing Godzilla features since I was a kid watching the seriously old school ones where an extremely sweaty Japanese guy was in a suit destroying miniature mock cities (which you really should have a look at sometime.)


source
quite possibly the most absurd one of them all

Things have come a long way since then and as you would expect, the CGI budget for this film was off the charts at over $100 million. Those sequences involving the various "titans," as they are referred to in the film, are incredible and quite spooky for me, particularly when they were taking place near water, which is pretty much the entire film for the sake of Godzilla being capable of "fast travel."

godzillakingofmonsters_finaltrailer.jpg
source

The rest of the story is pretty dumb but it did involve, yet again, someone who had good intentions with their plan that ended up being an unintentionally evil plan. It is a dumb plot but I have to give the writers some credit for being able to come up with really anything... because think about it.... what reason could there possibly be for these creatures all of a sudden decided to make a battle with one another? (and of course this always tends to happen in some sort of large city in the United States.)


a nicely made trailer but that radio transmitter scene the beginning focuses on isn't actually in the film, or at least the one in Asia

Overall, I would say that I am glad that I paid the $5 or so to see this on the big screen because I likely would have turned it off had I been watching it at home. In a proper theater environment it is actually pretty entertaining. I don't think that anyone in their right mind would go to this expecting any sort of novel storyline and that is a good way to approach these films. The story is just the necessary filler to justify the action sequences that obviously are the focus of the entire thing.

That being said, I was bored for a lot of it and found the lack of realism in the human aspect of things such as decisions made and the completely inept actions of everyone other than the main characters to be more frustrating than engaging. I didn't go to a Godzilla movie for scientific accuracy of course.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers" I give King of the Monsters 2 an overall rating of....


GBqz54O.jpg

Sort:  

Great film

Posted using Partiko Android

It's for kids. My nephew is so into Godzilla/Gojira that it wouldn't matter to him if it sucked.

And for a 3D CGI artist like me, I'd rather spend my money on a bucket (5 or 6 bottles) of beer and a bag of chips.

I really love this movie and my first movie I still can remember back on good ole days. I first saw it on VHS way back in 1990.

Oh man, I totally remember the old school ones from back in the day. They were so awesome. Mothra and all of that. I think the robot Godzilla was my favorite one though. They used to play them in the middle of the afternoon in the summer on one of the channels we had. It definitely brings back a lot of memories.

The original one is awesome.....ly hilarious! It’s awesome in its own ways. I haven’t seen this new one yet, but I wasn’t too keen on the previous release... as you said, I too feel I already know what to expect!

Bet it was fun at the cinema though!

We’ve come a long way in 30 years! Monstrous difference in entertainment nowadays

H there! It has been a while :>)

but, as I wrote a movie review for the first time in ages, yesterday, I had to think of you. Glad to see you're still posting about films on here.

This write up has entertained me more than I expect the film itself will do. Thanks for putting a smile on my face just before switching my laptop off to go ZZZZZ

Bye for now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83