Leon (the Professional): Just exceptional

in #films6 years ago (edited)

If you haven't seen this film I can't really understand why. I get it, it's not Transformers but it is much much better. This movie is absolutely perfect and I can watch it time and time again and never get bored. As a matter of fact I am going to watch it immediately after I post this.

71f5y6yNE+L._UY445_.jpg

I can't even correctly speak about how amazing this movie is. If I had to choose my favorite films of all time "Back the Future" would be number one and this would probably be in a 38-way tie for 2nd place.

The story follows a hitman that leads a low-profile life in a New York neighborhood that reluctantly intervenes in the life of a girl's family that just happens to live a few doors down from him. He has never met her or her family but they were involved in some shady shit and it wasn't her fault ("She" is Natalie Portman, by the way. If not for this film we might not know who she is and perhaps someone else would have been partially responsible for ruining the Star Wars trilogy.)

maxresdefault.jpg
she is very young but absolutely incredible in her performance in "Leon"

Leon is played by Jean Reno, who (and I encourage you to prove me wrong because i would love to see it) doesn't have many inspiring roles except the one where he is almost immediately dispatched in "Hannibal."

His lack of real English-speaking capability actually works to his benefit in this film because his character is not meant to be fluent anyway and his involvement with Matilda (Natalie Portman's character) is endearing and at times rides a fine line at potentially being inappropriate.

Gary Oldman plays the role of "Stansfield," the detective with apparently unending police powers that initially is pursuing Matilda's sketchy family and ends up hunting Leon, who he also doesn't know is a world-class assassin.

index.jpg
everyooooooooone!!!!!

The actors are absolutely perfect for this film, the story is phenomenal, the soundtrack (which seems to be fluid, moving from scene-to-scene) is absolutely stunning, and the directing is second-to-none. There is literally nothing that could be improved in this movie. It is absolutely amazing and if you haven't "seent" it I strongly recommend that you forget all the other things I have recommended and START RIGHT HERE.

I have no idea why the name of the film was changed to "The Professional" in USA when the rest of the world called it "Leon" but whatever, it doesn't change how incredible it is.

Here is the trailer and if you don't go and watch this immediately, you are a fool

Sort:  

I have seen the movie, watched it some years ago. He thought Leon on how to use weapon and still remember when he disguised trying to invade the police arrest until the corrupt detective notice caught up with him. Is been over 6 years I saw this movie. I think I cried at some point in the movie cos am very emotional.
Thanks for bringing back old memories

I haven't seen this movie, but now I have to go check it out! It sounds amazing!!! Great review @gooddream.. i hope get this movie on showbox

The movie is absolute Gold. It's part of the reasons I like Natalie Portman till this day

As a matter of fact I am going to watch it immediately after I post this.

LOL

I have not graced this movie, but am sure gonna grab my copy NOW

The way you have tried to paint the narrative, am sure salivating already. Watching this with pop corn will be a master class combo.

("She" is Natalie Portman, but the way. If not for this film we might not know who she is and perhaps someone else would have been partially responsible for ruining the Star Wars trilogy.)

I think you meant to say by the way and not but the way

I have no idea why the name of the film was changed to "The Professional" in USA when the rest of the world called it "Leon" but whatever, it doesn't change how incredible it is.

AMERICAN!!!!
They always have a way of making stuffs funky.

I they named it "The Professional" because, WHAT IN HELL DOES LEON MEAN?
LOL

Thanks for spotting my editing mistake. It has been corrected. I hope you enjoy the film.

this is all a classic, I grew up watching this movie and its different interpretations as I was growing up, I always discover something new, other points of vitas

a firend of mine told to me about it a couple days ago, she said that the girls performance was wonderful, i definitely have to watch this film

I downloaded the office space you shared with us previously this morning. I think I will download this tomorrow on WiFi at work. This is another one , the way you speak about movies thrills me and gets my interest in the said movie . You’re a good promoter I must say and telling you now probably you don’t know or not being told

I will bring this film seems to be very beautiful
Thank you I will follow him tonight with all certainty

WHAT!!?? Who knew you liked this. This movie is .. wait a sec, cough cough, I want to say this loud .. Anyone reading this has to see this movie. It’s what I call a SICK movie booooooyyyyyy!!!!!!

If you loved this movie then you might like this movie(https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5742374/) - You Were Never Really Here, as well.
Excellent review btw.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85