Minority Report (film): It's probably old enough people don't know about it

in #films5 years ago

Tom Cruise is still one of the biggest stars alive today and likely will be for a long time. However, i feel as though a few of his really good movies didn't have as far-reaching an audience as most of his inferior films of late have had. This being one of them.

9dc25f9fcf65ccf5c18d22f90c09b316.jpg

The story takes place after 2050 and Tom Cruise plays Chief John Anderton, a ranking member of the Pre-Crime unit in Washington D.C.. In the future the murder rate has been reduced to zero because of the fact that the police now have the ability to see crimes before they happen using people who can see the future. These people are called "pre-cogs" and I wont spoil their magic by explaining it here.

minority-report1.jpg

Things are running well and great until the day comes when John Anderton (Cruise) is faced with a situation where the images of the future murderer are actually himself. Previously Anderton had told others that he was gloating to that "everyone runs" when faced with the Pre-Crime unit, and he himself is no exception.

Minority-Report-movie-image-Tom-Cruise-1-600x321.jpg
I'm sure it comes as a great surprise that Tom actually accomplishes a lot more with his running than most of the other "criminals

This movies isn't great because it has wonderful plot twists as it definitely is it follows a very predictable progression once because Tom is the only major actor so of course he is going to win. What makes this movie powerful is that the visions of technology being overreaching is something that appears in a number of films and is pretty much the entire premise behind Black Mirror (one of my favorite TV shows.)

Minority-report-UI.jpeg

I've always felt that it must be a tough job for a film-maker to attempt to predict what technology will be like because it can end up making a film look ridiculous in just a few years if wrong.

I was actually unaware this was a Spielberg film until a few weeks ago. I said it wasn't as far reaching as recent films of Tom's and well that might not actually be true globally. It is with most of the people I know. If you have not seen this film i think it i better than any of the Mission Impossible films - does that mean anything to anyone?

8 / 10

Sort:  

"I've always felt that it must be a tough job for a film-maker to attempt to predict what technology will be like because it can end up making a film look ridiculous in just a few years if wrong."

Back of the Future is a great movie when it comes to technology. The Hoverboard etc.
Any chance you will review this movie? 3 parts of course.

This movie is a masterpiece in its genre. In my opinion, of course.

It raises a really convincing version of the future. The cars that are driven alone, personalized advertising, even in the totalitarianism that means PreCrime, because they capture people before they commit the crime.

This is an excellent film and very avant-garde at the time! I actually bought two dvds just in case I might lose one!! I collected as many sci-fi movies as I could! But I could not find some old films which never got shown in Thailand!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Tom Cruise is one of my favorite actors. He is very talented and very charismatic. I haven't seen this film, but I'll look for it because you gave it an 8/10. I also like Black Mirror. Good night, my friend.

Tom cruise seems to be a god of acting.Love hollywood’s A-list actor Tom cruise, not to mention he's handsome.

There is no need to tell anyone about Tom cruise because we all know them how great is that. there are many discussions of these in india. he left an impression in hollywood. AND Smart too are they different. thanks @gooddream for sharing about Tom cruise. he smart too much.

I am rarest of the rare population who are not that big fan of Tom cruise. but i liked this movie. according to your reviews too this movie seems interesting.
keep up with such good content.

Trust me, you are not alone. I actually like a lot of his movies, but it is almost despite him starring in them.

The guy just loves himself so much and he can't seem to hide it. A little humility goes a long way!

I really like tom cruise. He is most popular actor in the world. His acting is to much impressive. Very interesting trailor of this movie. You gave 10/8. His personality to much great. I really like fighting movie. Thanks for sharing. @gooddream.

This is one of my favorite Tom Cruise movies and I agree that it's better than the Mission Impossible movies. Though as I recall, it was pretty big in the U.S. when it was released. Not sure about the rest of the world...

I love Tom Cruise and this movie is one of his best works...the movie is very enjoyable and I saw it when I was in college. I am a big fan of sci-fi films and he also have done some great movies related to this category. War of the worlds is my fav. \n\n### stay well and keep posting

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82