Superbad (film): My first real introduction to these guys

in #films5 years ago

Two of them went on to make stellar careers for themselves and the other kind of got type-casted and has difficulty finding work (relatively.) I wasn't really familiar with Jonah Hill, Michael Cera, or McLovin prior to this film and it still makes me laugh a lot when I revisit it.


source

It was produced by Judd Apatow and written partly by Seth Rogan so I suppose it shouldn't be that much of a surprise that it was a success. The topic matter at hand is something that I and a great many people in the west face in our high-school years: The social hierarchy of school cliques, handling your newly acquired sexuality, and also facing the unknown of how much everyone's lives will change following high-school graduation.

superbad.jpg
source

The film focuses almost entirely on these three fellas and mostly about their desire to obtain booze for a party that they believe to be out of their social league. They want to impress the girls by fulfilling a promise that they were unprepared for: The acquisition of alcohol. I know this isn't exactly a novel storyline, but the dialogue that takes place between the various characters (in particular Seth, played by Johan Hill) is just outstanding and hilarious.

hqdefault.jpg
source

An extremely unknown Christopher Mintz-Plasse plays Fogell / McLovin - who I have not seen in many films since. I am sure he is trying hard to break the stigma of only being capable of playing a McLovin type character. I actually got to meet him on the set of a video game advertisement that took place in Krabi - he was a very down-to-earth dude and very approachable.

Some of the best scenes in the film star McLovin and his two extremely uncop-like-cops friends played by Seth Rogan and Bill Hader. Their interactions with one another are just epic.


source

I think that Hader and Rogan were probably the best people to play these roles because in real life they are quite childish and the idea of two cops being as uncaring about the system as they are is impractical and hilarious.

Overall this movie is incredibly juvenile and that is precisely what they were going for. I believe it is a fairly accurate portrayal of a lot of the things people face in high-school and beyond, and that also made it a bit nostalgic for me (although I relate to the middle-aged cops more than the high school students.) If you have not seen this movie yet, you really should go and do so. It is on Netflix. Don't fall for the "full length film!" listings on Youtube. It should be evident that these are all scams.

on a scale of "urgh!" to "Wowsers" Superbad scores a ....


Just a touch below "Wowsers!"

Sort:  

Watch arrested development which is Michael Ceras breakthrough show. Top class. My favourite line in Superbad is the two police saying “apparently someone has an exam in the morning” . 😂😂

I love that line too. 😁. I've had arrested development recommended by many. Hope it's on Netflix

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep it’s all on there. It’s a cult following. It’s absolutely genius. The relationships . So many great characters ! Tobias and Joob are my favourites . Michael Cera is the same in all his roles. I think he just plays himself. 😂😂. Anyone who loves this show always salutes each other saying Anyong.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Remember watching it back in the day...was hilarious as then as it is now

Fun fact- Seth Rogen began writing the script for Superbad when he was only 13 years old

That IS a fun fact! I did not know that!

A classic ⚡

Posted using Partiko Android

A Wowsers rating by you! great I must say that this film surely deserves it.

I laughed with this movie, it's pretty hilarious, especially with the McLovin scenes. I have not seen it in a long time, maybe it's time to do it again.

Good review, Cheers!

I know this movie had a lot of hype, but I never got around to watching it. As I said there is a certain type of humor that I just kind of let go of at some point in my life and I haven't ever really gotten back to it. That isn't to say that I can't still quote pretty much every single line of Super Troopers... It's actually pretty rare that I watch any movies these days. I just don't have the 90+ straight minutes to dedicate to that anymore! Unless I am watching it with my wife that is.

I loved this movie when i was younger. I remember getting super baked with a couple of my buddies and downloading the torrent. Man, that was fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16