The Accountant (film) - I liked it a lot

in #films5 years ago

I stumbled upon this movie because I wanted to see John Wick 2 but Netflix doesn't have that so it recommended this movie that i had never heard of. It stars Ben Affleck - who kind of annoys me as a person but is in some pretty great films... this is one of them.

So in a shell, this is an action film about an accountant who also happens to be someone you definitely don't want to mess with as he is also a one-man army. Ben Affleck plays Christian Wolff, the accountant in question. This isnt' really a spoiler since it is explained almost immediately in the film but Christian has quite severe autism that makes him perfect for being an accountant and apparently a stone-cold killer too. His is unable to leave a job undone and is able to complete tasks very quickly that most people would find extremely mundane.


I found some of this film to be personally funny because I did a bit of accounts auditing in my 20's. It would take me ages to balance the books and it would drive me crazy. So when the montage of him pulling through boxes of invoices and balances sheets in fast forward occurs I had a bit of a nightmare flashback. I hated that job. haha

anna kendrick ben affleck the accountant.jpg
source

The pace keep moving pretty quick in this movie so don't feel like you are going to be spending a huge amount of time doing math and staring at receipts, this is actually a very small part of the film and they fast-forward through a vast majority of it.

A lot of the motif of this movie is borrowed from John Wick but that is just fine with me. The Accountant was cast well and Ben pulls off the lead role perfectly. J.K. Simmons is in this movie too and although his role is quite minor, he is always a welcome addition. The film made about $100 million and there is talk of a sequel already in the works.

7 / 10

Sort:  

Yeah it wasn’t a bad film . It was a bit “transporty” at times . 😂😂

yeah, it certainly had a lot of similarities to other films. I think that is why Netflix recommended it when i was actually searching for John Wick.

I really like this film, a lot more than I thought I would. It's definitely worth checking out.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Yes, one of the better movies on Netflix.
I think Leo could do better, just joking. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87