The Invention of Lying (flim)

in #films5 years ago

Considered a reasonable success from a financial point of view, Ricky Gervais' directorial debut (along with Matthew Robinson) made me laugh a lot and he touches on some important societal issues in the film as well.

the-invention-of-lying-movie-poster.jpg

The movie poster basically gives away the entire film but trust me, there is plenty of fun that can be had with being the only person that can lie in the entire world. This all happens in a moment of epiphany where Mark (Gervais) is facing financial ruin after getting fired and is on the verge of getting evicted. Something happens in his brain when he is at the bank trying to close his account.


source

He informs, with the very first lie ever told, that he actually has $800 in his account even though he knows that he in fact does not. Because no one on the planet is capable of lying, the bank teller takes his word for it, apologizes for the bank's error, and gives him $800.

MV5BMzkzMjg2YTItNWM0ZC00ODk5LTg5NmQtNWJjZTlhOWJmMjc4XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMjk3NTUyOTc@._V1_.jpg
source

There are tons of cameos in this movie including a particularly hilarious scene where Edward Norton pulls over Mark and his very drunk friend Greg (played by Louis C.K..) Greg is cuffed and about to go to jail when Mark simply says "officer, this man is not drunk." Norton apologizes for his mistake and lets them go.

I don't really want to ruin more of the film for you but I think there is something really fun about being the only person on the planet who doesn't have to tell the truth 100% of the time. It kind of makes me think about how in many ways, life would be a lot easier if everyone was more honest. We certainly wouldn't have any fake friends anymore.

NiVj.gif

One of the downsides of this no lying world is the fact that there is no such thing as fiction, so entertainment is quite boring. They touch base with this as the only type of film or tv that exists is rather monotone documentaries about things that actually did happen.

Even this trailer made me laugh a few times. It really is a lot of fun. This movie is on Netflix in many regions (maybe yours!) and I highly recommend that you check it out. When I talk about this film with people most of them have never even heard of it so I think that this film might have gone mostly unnoticed by the general public. If you fit into this category - i think you should change that and go see it right away.

Sort:  

I remeber watching this movie a few years ago. I loved it and that's when I discovered Gervais. The dude is a freaking awesome.

Posted using Partiko Android

The trailer is amazing and specially that date scene!
Also I have seen right now this is available in my Netflix too! I will watch it today itself!
Keep on with amazing reviews!

Oh yes, I also watched this movie. Being the only liar in the world of people who can't lie is endless possibilities. Money, fame, women, whatever, any skin color - you can have it all, because the people unconditionally believe everything that is being said or done. All this is the hero of Ricky Gervais and did, despite the fact that everyone considered him a boring middle-aged fat man with no further prospects. But in Invention of Lies, unlike the protagonist, there were other prospects!

Good review. I'll see it this weekend. Thanks for the recommendation

That is pretty funny. I haven't heard of this movie, but I might have to check and see if it is available in my area. If not I might have to leverage my VPN a little :) It is a really interesting concept and I can see how it would lead to some comical situations as you mentioned above. I watched the US version of The Office, but never had a chance to see the original version with Ricky. I have heard he did a fantastic job in it though, so it makes sense this would be equally as good.

now i need to rewatch it, awesome movie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98