The Lone Ranger (film): It lost tons of money and it is easy to understand why

in #films5 years ago

Reeling from their wildly popular and massive cash cow Pirates of the Caribbean franchise, Disney seemed to believe that they could throw Johnny Depp into pretty much any role where he plays a whimsical character and repeat that formula. Wow, were they ever wrong with this dud.


source

Unless you are extremely young, I don't think it is necessary to explain the story of the Lone Ranger to anyone and even if you do need explaining, I'm not gonna help you much with this.

The Lone Ranger is a guy named John (Armie Hammer) and he is backed up, or should i say carried by his far-more-talented sidekick "Tonto" (Johnny Depp) as they predictably take on a quest of justice for the people because while this is not at all inventive, what else are they gonna do?


source

The film faced a great deal of scrutiny for putting Depp in the role of a Native American and the usual SJW garbage of "white-washing a film" screeching ensued. I don't care about that and am also not-at-all-surprised that the professional complainers came out of the woodwork to make a problem where there is none.

I will however complain that Depp's portrayal of Tonto is basically Jack Sparrow with more face paint and less command of the English language. I don't know if he struggles to break from that role or what but essentially everything about Tonto simply was Captain Jack Sparrow including his mannerisms. Perhaps he has been that character for so long he just defaults to behaving that way any time a camera turns on.


source

At the end of the day that wasn't even the biggest problem. They had a predictable story, dumb and forced humor both verbally and slapstick and in the end despite a massive budget, the movie simply wasn't entertaining. Perhaps if you saw it in an IMAX theater with a fantastic sound system you might be entertained for some of it. I found myself being tired and nearly falling asleep.

The Lone Ranger wasn't just panned by critics and audiences alike, it was a commercial disaster losing an estimated 1-2 hundred million dollars. Although I can find no information online about this, it wouldn't surprise me if the entire intent behind making this film was to turn it into another "Pirates" franchise complete with sequels and a tremendous amount of merchandising. Of course, none of this is going to happen now and I can't say I am disappointed.

The film didn't make me feel physically ill and therefore barely avoids the "Urgh!" rating.

skip-it.jpg

Sort:  

It is me or are these A-list actors only capable of playing one role? Those two characters are pretty much the same. I can say the same for Rambo-Rocky Balboa (Do not even remember the guy's name right now lol), The Rock, and many others which I can't think of right now.

I agree with you. You do not need to be a genius to predict in advance the failure of such a scale a film in the Western genre, which absolutely no one needs now, except for a narrow circle of fans. If such pictures fail, it means that there are still some common sense in the population of this planet that do not allow PR, advertising, beautiful pictures and ponts to take over logic, beliefs and justice!

@gooddream nice analysis for the failure of film. The idea was not that good to create film like this

Posted using Partiko Android

I completely agree with you @gooddream

hello @gooddream. This is completely unrelated to the above post, but I would like to hear your opinion on this issue:
https://steemit.com/steemstem/@kwadjobonsu/conservation-of-natu-1559899931

I remember the Lone Ranger and Tonto and this looks terrible. I haven't seen it and never will. I am not a Johnny Depp fan really and this looks weak and pathetic. Skip it is the best thing to do.

I remember when this came out I was really interested in seeing how it was going to be. I never made it to the theater, but many years later I finally started to watch it on cable TV and I just couldn't do it. I had to change the channel. It was just beyond horrible. I don't really know Armie Hammer from anything else, but even Depp was just not that great in it. I think he was fantastic in the first Pirates movie, but they kind of went downhill after that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29