Movie Review : Son of a *****

in #films5 years ago

Hello Steemians,
I hope you all are in good health.
Now before I proceed with my usual rambling I would like to ask a question. What hurts the most
a) A blood test where the syringe is big,
b) A blood test where the nurse is actually an intern or
c) A blood test where they keep poking you at the wrong place.
Nope, You are wrong. The correct answer is d) A movie which will make you stab yourself and the nurse with needles.

Lets get this quickly over with this is 'Son of the Mask' the pick from the lot by @macchiata. Who is also a good friend of mine. And Kind enough to warn me about the side effects of the Movie.

Spoiler: The film is supposed to be a sequel to the amazing 1994 movie 'Mask'. So if you hadn't watch that movie, I recommend you to watch that one and completely forget about the sequel. Trust me this is for your own good. Also, I would deliberately avoid the fact that the mask in the movie doesn't look like what he is supposed too, Because every time I think about that, I RAGE QUIT!!!

1.jpg

Image Source

Again this suffers the same fate as the Mortal Kombat movie. Although I would give points to Mortal Kombat as they had a game which they somehow managed to make a movie. In this case, The movie is based on a well-established cartoon series which is very good adaptation of the comic. I haven't read the comic but what I understood is the comic is bit more violent and gory. I am not going into the story much as there is nothing to talk about. The Plot is bland and very unfocused. I didn't know whether the focus was on the relationship or the job but.. Oh!!! I had to talk about the plot to get to the point.

So there is this guy who had a dog, and gets a mask for a Halloween office party.. (By God just typing the story in the simplest manner is boring).. Let me start again.

(Takes deep breath)

The Lead is an animator for a studio and has been trying to get the attention for launching his own ideas for a new cartoon series. The animator once accidentally wears the mask and impresses everyone at work, and after coming from work makes a baby with the wife played by an actor whose movie career seems to be ended by this bomb (Don't worry she did well in the TV Industry). And that is how the son of the mask is born. Loki is also there in the movie who is trying to retrieve his mask and even though being a god screws up more than the coyote from the road-runner show.

So the animator is trying to focus on the show, while the mask baby is screwing up with his mind because the baby hates him for no reason. The Loki is trying to get his mask and to get the mask he kidnaps the mask baby and Loki develops a liking towards the baby. The animator is fighting Loki for his son. The dog fights for the attention of animator (Yeah!!! There is a dog). And the story is a mess and deserve no time of any of us.

Honestly, This could have been a better story. But I blew for many reasons. First being none of the actors were trying or at least that is what my Impression of this movie is (First and Last ever), In my opinion, the best actor in the entire movie was the dog and even at times the dog also screws up (Not a fault of the dog). The mask is all about the energy and the cheekiness. And to be fair not many can nail any character done by Jim Carrey. The second point being the overuse of animation and CGI. Bwwwaagggghhhh!!! Just thinking about that creepy animation gives me shivers. From all these movies I learned one thing CGI babies are creepy. I didn't like the animation style in this movie. And the baby is just like the one from that Twilight series. (I told you nothing good is coming out of this movie, It just reminded me of twilight) The third point, the plot is all over the place. The animator was looking for a muse, The Loki was looking for Mask, the Dog was looking for affection, The wife was looking for lines. It was like dragged out version of a 20mins weird animation real-time movie thing.

I wouldn't rub my opinions on you, But I would agree with @macchiata chan. It is not just bad, it is very bad and cringy.

EOD.png

I am inuke.png

Now if you excuse me, I have to take a pill for my headache.
Stupid movie gave me an headache, What else can you expect from a movie which is nominated for the highest number of razzies in that year

EOD.png

inuke2.png

Also I am a proud member of Indiaunited a community committed to help and support quality contents and guide the new minnows. If are new to Steem and has no clue please join our IndiaUnited Discord Channel. Do check, IndiaUnited trail, a dedicated trail to support fellow steemians to write and promote quality content, Community growth is the precursor to Individual growth. To find more about the trail, please visit : Indiaunited Curation trail

Sort:  

Hi there buddy,

Haven't seen it, nor have I seen the Twilight series or read those books.

I think I will stay far away from this, after reading your review. Not that I planned to watch it at all, haha!

By the way, I loved the original Mask movie in my early teens. I was also totally in love ( for as far as that's possible ) with Cameron Diaz, back in the days and a huge fan of Jim Carrey.

Times change though...

Glad to have you back reviewing films. Looking forward to reading some short story of you too, again but no rush...

Haven't seen it, nor have I seen the Twilight series or read those books.

Such a good life. ;-)
I too am itching for some story, Maybe after a couple of movie review. And I am really looking forward towards the Next episode of TOSP

:D I need to sleep first to digest this story!

Oh !! I should include the warning as the nightmare inducing movie.. ;-)

It was very difficult to sit through.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 94 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited-bot community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Nope, You are wrong. The correct answer is d) A movie which will make you stab yourself and the nurse with needles.

Now that is something :-D

Also this is what the first movie of "Fahd Fazil" did to me. As of 2018, but he is the best actor around - won the national award for the best "supporting" actor in a movie where is a thief/anti-hero. Looks like the movie did the same pricking you mentioned to the "hero" / actor too and that changed him for good ....

That's is one way of saying there are two types of people.. one who learns from their mistakes and others are not worth mentioning.. :-D

BTW .. next is your request.. 'The Love Guru'. I am looking forward to that movie.

lol .. I think I have seen that movie

thanks for the review. I need not bother watching this.

Oh!!! Sorry I didn't mean it that way. I just want everybody else to suffer as much as I did. LOL.
How are you? Sorry I wasn't around much lately in IU. But hopefully will be back in no time ;-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by inuke (Andaman ka Hero) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello @inuke, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37