How to save to be able to one day be financially free PART 1

in #finance5 years ago

It's already the 4th of March 2019. 10.19 pm here in Malaysia.

How has your day been?

5a061e57ded4a.image.jpg
Img src: Google.com

I am going to write a shorter post today as I am going to read a book. Been so busy lately to complete a book.

Today's post will be about how we can save more money.

I was reading this this article about How we could save a $100k. It gave me an idea to write a summarized version of
what I thought was needed to at least save some money. 100 k for a goal is too far fetched for anyone who currently have lots of commitments or are not earning lots of money.

One of the things my mom always tells me is that,

It's not about a person's propensity to earn that can determine whether a person could one day be wealthy or not , but also the ability to save. Saving is hard but spending is easy. There are lots of folks that I have known, who earns lots of cash, but end up having a deficit. The last two years I've worked really hard to make sure I can sustain my life without working for someone else. I did work for a company for a couple of years.

In total I've worked for around 8 years for companies, currently, this would be my forth year in earning my own income.

A lot of us wonder, how is it possible to escape the rat race? To some extend, I think it takes pure guts. I felt pretty scared doing it at first. Imagine having the need to pay for your expenses but yet your going to try to attempt the impossible.

6a01116888abb7970c01a3fd366b75970b-800wi.jpg
img src: Google.com

Rat Race is something that Robert Kiyosaki has made famous. It is when an individual needs to work for money and has to sacrifice once time into earning income. If there were colour changing fonts here on Steemit, it would make it really interesting.

There is no magic formula in getting wealthy. I am not wealthy yet.
I still need to work for money but I am working on my way towards financial freedom.

The day, I reach that goal is when I don't need to think about money and I have created my own money making machines.

These are some of the ways which we could do which aren't that hard to achieve;

The right mindset

The first thing to do is to stop worrying. It's going to be something tough as we may constantly be worried about our finances but reducing these worry and focusing on what is important is key to being able to think at a critical level.
What could we actually do with what we're worried about? Nothing. It adds more stress. I din believe it at first until I tried it and it's working quite well.

Have a budget. Every month, no matter how tough it can be, stick to saving a portion of your earnings that could be invested. What I usually do as I accumulate these funds is to learn more about it. I still remember the first time I invested my money. It was pretty
intimidating, nevertheless. Stick to the budget. I honestly have my own budget too. I din have one when I just started working and had spend on the things I wanted and worry about paying off my expenses. It is really tough to have a budget because it limits what we can spend on.

If you have already used a budget for a long time, it's hard to have an non-budgeted mindset. The first thing that we will have the habit on is to pay off our debts first, then we would slowly have the habit to spend on only necessary things.

I only invested about USD 30 and I managed to earn some profits from the capital gains that I got from the stock price movements. Learning to learn is a key skill. Even if we had those funds but don't have ways to use it, what good can it be?

Going to finish my writing for now. This shall be the first part of a two part financial series on savings.

Good night everyone , hope it helps.

Do follow me at luueetang

Gonna write a second part tomorrow. Have a great day ahead.

Sort:  

It does take guts to quit the rat race! Everyone in my family looks down on me cause I don’t have a “job” and stay home with the kids. Like that’s easy! Little do they know about the smart real estate deals I’ve made. The two years I spent obsessed with trading and trading signals. The fact I invested in bitcoin at $250, when they all said it was stupid. All the eBay sales. Side jobs, etc. All hate and jealousy! Cause they don’t have the “guts”! Their hate fuels me to do more!

Budget is my biggest problem, it’s to tedious for me. I just try to make more money to save. Inevitably I get into debt, when my income lowers. I pay it off when it increases. Not saving much that way though!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Story of my life!

Hahaha you can write one. I would be interested to read.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi hi Patrick. It's a great share. Really love your comments. I usually take a bit more time to reply as I want to reply them with quality. Ooo.. Wow, so I am also in a similar position as you although some variables here may be different. I invest in stocks more and have some crypto investments. I stay at home alot too. It's a rather strange feeling to be at home and making money. I guess this is the new way to the future. Keep it up, Patrick. Really great to see you being active here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it is different to be home, it was really important to find a house we liked. Big reason I will be here a lot!! Being home with my girls is another blessing!!

Just closed a 6% gain in ETH. I left a little on the table, I closed it this morning and didn’t worry about it all day. When to close the trade is a struggle, to soon or to late. Closing at 6% after only being in the trade for a little over 24 hours is never a bad thing though. Now comes the part we’re I feverishly watch and decide my next entry. I can short or long. Would you be interested in reading a Elliot Wave book? I have a link somewhere for the best book and it’s free!! I want to share some charts with you, but I’m a little hesitant, I’m still figuring it out. So I guess I just feel like a “noob” trying to give advice. 😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Do send me the link. I have been investing for a number of years mostly in the stock markets but I haven't really studied the Elliot wave to detail. It would be great for me to get the link if you have it. So what's does your wife do for a living? How do you get about your time? It's great to be able to live a life of freedom with no boss around. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok, I will send it here soon! She’s an ER nurse, she’s gonna be a nurse practitioner. My time is spent homeschooling the girls, cleaning, cooking, trading, and Steemit!! 😂😂 I usually do all that stuff daily. Even if I’m not actually trading I’m studying set ups or monitoring my trades.

If I have free time, that’s usually spent playing videos games! lol with myself or friends. It’s safer than going out to bars, and less expensive and we have some great times battle the “AI” or at least the games AI. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi hi Patrick. Wow. Nursing is a really honorable job. It isn't easy. What are the subjects that you teach the girls? Anyways, just wondering as this question suddenly came to my mind. Since English is spoken everyday, do you still need to teach them the language? Definitely playing games are a lot better than going to bars and all those. Hehehe.. I too prefer staying at home and doing some light reading.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi hi Patrick.. Really appreaciate it for the pdf link. I will read it later. The Elliot wave is something essential. Thank you

Posted using Partiko Android

I don’t necessarily teach them English, more just spelling and grammar. I was trying to teach Riley sign language, but my knowledge is limited.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85