Pointilism cicada 7 to 9th day, and brief steps to do pointilism

in #fineartnow5 years ago (edited)

I'm done!! Me and this cicada flew to me also happy I am sure! I am very happy to share with fellow steemians.

The dotting did take time to do but I didn't need a lot of patience because... No deadline!! When I ran out of it, I put my pen down!
Yeah, this no deadline really helped.

image
Source

—-------—----------—-----------

Anyway, here is how I did on day 7 till it was done.
There were only few portions left by this time.
I did added more dots to the cicada but mainly focused more on the unfinished areas.
The earlier progresses are in previous posts if you are interested .

image
[Day 7]
The background needed to be done. I used gray to follow the pencil lines first. Then dark green and black. It seems to be the darkest spot over here. Gleam and noise added with blue and orange.
I don't know what that black pole with a cruvy marks...It was near the beach so maybe oysters stick to black pole??

image
[Day8]
The last is the wing. I left this the last because this spot is very dark and many structures going on. Used gray and brown first, then maroon and lastly black. Well.. I did go back and forth actually.
"Oh no not dark enough..." dot dot dot.
" hey this part is a bit orange-ish!"... dot dot dot.

image
Source
[Day9]
I did few final adjustments. Stick the drawing on the wall with small piece of masking tape and stepped back to see. This always needed to be done to get the whole image.

If any of you are interested, here are the steps for pointilism!

  1. Find a photo!
  2. Find marker pens! It could be one black pen or set of colors. Mine is 20 colors set. Your choice!
  3. Find paper for watercolors or ink! Start small if you aren't sure.
  4. Transfer the image using pencil lightly! Hyperrealism artist use projector to be exact.
  5. Start dotting with lightest colors following the pencil line! Make those dots random and give space in between so it would appear more natural!

image

  1. Mix colors! If green, dot not only green but also with yellow and blue. In a distance your eyes recognize them as green.
  2. Go darker and darker but keep the black for the last because you can't erase them. Use black use onlu when absolutely necessary!!

Thoughts.
After doing this realistic pointilism first time in dacades, and using a snap shot photo made me think.
It had noise that normally you don't percive when you look at things with your eyes.
So I was not only trying to reproduce cicada, but appearance only happens for snap shot?

It would be a conceptual art if I make it large and focus on those noise, or even magazine prints with printing technology to show. Very interesting.


All the works and images are done by me, @naomipangolin.

Sort:  

Cool post art :) .... And this flag come very good :)
What bug you next take it ? :)) And Hi from Estonia :)


Thank you for your appreciation @fokoit, next one... Not yet decided but thanks again for your encouragement😊!

Amazing artwork, @naomipangolin. Fantastic job. 🤗

Thank you for dropping by @trincowski!! You make me more happy now😊❤️

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you for your attention @artzone!!!

Hi naomipangolin,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow! Thank you so much for your attention and appreciation @curie!!!😄 😄 😄

Oh.... it turned out great, @naomipangolin... I wonder whether you will continue to make this sort of highly detailed work ? When you made it you applied 'colour theory'... I wonder whether this comes naturally or whether it hinders the creation process...

Hi hi @cryptocariad!! Thank you for dropping by😄.

The color theory comes natural!!
Our eyes blend it and recognize yellow dots and blue dots mix are green. Of course dotting the actual green among them would encourage that effect.

You can see this in printing too.
image
If you have old magazine, newspaper or books to take a closer look at, there you could find mixture of dots😊

It looks great!. This type of work is extremely complex because it's often forgotten that the essence of pointillism is to let the brain create the degradations and nuances corresponding to certain segments. Here that is clearly perceived.

Have you tried doing some design with only the primary colors? you will be surprised with the amount of colors that your brain will generate from them ;)

Thank you for your comment @nelsinho!

I had a sudden urge to do this, so I simply rushed and bought 20 color sets marker pen, a cheap one for kids from nearby supermarket.

Never thought of only use the primary colors, but I do understand your point, just as in CMYK printing .

It would be a challenge though.
Have you done it before @nelsinho?

Wow, all those dots make one beautiful picture. It is interesting to me how you combined the colours together, which is only visible in the close up view, at a glance, the pink dots beside the blue ones are not apparent at all.
                     
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

Thank you for your appreciation @scrawly!!! Yah, our eyes does do strange things!
This could find explanation in science perhaps?
I can't even recall science lessons in school but I remember I went to science museum and there was a section for eye perception. This blending of the colors by eyes was there. There was also something like I stared at this green square for 30seconds, then you look elsewhere you could see red square😂

Yessss, I know that colour experiment thing! It is true, we perceive the world and colours in such a way that our mind and eyes could be tricked given the right circumstances.

Congratulations @naomipangolin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 200 replies. Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

In love with your work .. You can not imagine how much I love pointillism, your work is fantastic, in the distance you can see a beautiful painting and when you approach the great amount of points you have and it is crazy "in a good way" ..
Pointillism seems a fascinating technique (I'm not an expert on it) but whenever I try to include it, I have never done pointillism in color, it is always black and white, if I had the right material I would certainly try.
Excellent work, a big hug @naomipangolin

Wow thank you so much for your love and appreciation @naideth❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
This was my first pointilism in 20 years, I am so relieved that I could still do this and.... Thank you, you made my day😊❤️
I go and check your works too!!

Hi @naomipangolin, this was an interesting drawing. I like it very much. And tempted to try it as well. May I know, whether you applied any base color in some portion of the picture? or it purely dotted.
I love this kind of drawing because I not good in art. And this would be easy for me to apply :p. So far, I good in color pencil only. I definitely will try this out but first need to get marker pen. You have any suggestion which type of marker pen good for art? I still try to find in aliexpress and I a bit blur with so many of choices and didn't know which one is good.

Hi @oliviackl! Thank you for your appreciation and interest!!
Yes, this is all dots, no pre-colored by paint or color pencils. If you don't rush it with no deadline, and size not too big(it was A4 size), you could also do this easily!!

The marker pens I used are these.
image

I believe any marker would work. Mine is about 2 USD for this set, very cheap one for kids😅. Maybe the color would fade easily?

The only thing is the size of the dots. If it is very small, it will take forever😅 see if you could test them at the shop and compare which one is comfortable for you.

If anything, don't hesitate to ask me here or direct message me by discord under same name😊

oh.. I have the marker pen same as yours but my dot is a bit bigger 😅. And I don't know how to make use of it because marker pen always a disastrous for me when i do coloring :p. Guess I need to get a small dot like yours to get it started.

When you apply the dot, you apply the whole area with the same color first or finish it part by part. Because in coloring, we always color the base first, then only darken the outer layer.

@oliviackl Bigger dots are no problem! No worries, I suggest try with what you have at home now first. 😊

How I did is, go from lightest to dark.
You have the same marker pen with mine?
I normally use yellow.
Its easy to cover up the mistake too, since it is not so strong.
Orange is also light, since the bug is in warm color.

The way I do it is not systematic you know😅
I did the head with yellow, orange and light brown... Then I got fed up, so I went to do the legs....next day I went back to do the head again😅

Also I am checking the balance. Is it dark enough or color strong enough then others? So I go back and forth the whole time.

But other artist, like few friends of mine, starts from the left upper corner and finish at right bottom corner withought going back!! Incredible....

There is no correct way for art making.
As long as the way suits you😊

And maybe in future I will post more detailed steps on pointilism.. Yah.. For now, you could also refer my previous post to see the dotting progress. I hope this helps;

[Day 1 to 3]
https://steemit.com/art/@naomipangolin/pointilism-cikada-1-to-3rd-day-f4ad34818a3fc

[Day4 to 6]
https://steemit.com/artzone/@naomipangolin/cikada-pointilism-day-4-to-6-8ff4bab04a44b

@naomipangolin, Yes i have the same marker pen as yours only the size of the tip a bit bigger than yours :p. Thank you for the guide. And definitely will take a look on the other 2 links you provided. Yay, can't wait on your future post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85