Dear Mr. Kent: Finish the Story #51

in #finishthestory5 years ago (edited)

apple-691323_1920.jpg


This constitutes my entry into Finish the Story Contest, sponsored by @bananafish. The first part of this story was written by @gaby-crb and @calluna. They devised a tantalizing piece. I saw it as an invitation to be campy--I mean, Mr. Dankworth?? So I hope I picked up the banner handed over by these writers and finished the story in a style worthy of their craft.

Here's the blended creativity of @gaby-crb, @calluna, and @agmoore:


The Devisal of Mr. Dankworth

by @gaby-crb and @calluna


The familiar ping jerked through my morning haze, the signal of a new email arriving in my inbox, blared from my laptop. I hastily tapped at the volume. My fingers circled around the warm mug in my hand, the hot brush of steam warning me not to take a sip yet. I checked the screen, 16 new emails already this morning. Working from home had seemed so much easier, I never liked the office, or being out on the road, at least at home I had my own brand of coffee, and my cat Neelix, but the emails never stopped.

I cleared through the top 10 as spam, another 5 were easily filed, the last however caught my attention. My eyes focused on the sender name, I hastily placed my mug on the table and clicked the email. The sound of the news playing on the TV melted into the background, even the smell of my burning toast didn't interrupt my focus.

Good day,
My name is Michael Kent, I am the personal attorney and sole executor to my late client, Mr Ian Dankworth, who shares the same surname with you.

After the death of my client, in an automobile incident, in the year 2007, the bank contacted me to provide his next of kin to inherit his fortune, totaling Thirty Seven Million Bruvna ($37,000,000.00) according to the existing bank records.

I have written several letters to his country embassy with the intent of locating any of his immediate or extended family who will stand as the next of kin and all my efforts has been to no avail.

I have received official letters from the board of directors of the holding bank in the last few weeks suggesting a likely precedent for confiscation of his abandoned personal assets in line with existing laws, therefore I have been issued a 30 working days ultimatum to provide his next of kin or forfeit the deposit.

From my professional experience I can use any and all legal means available to re-profile and present you as the next of kin to my deceased client since you share his surname, this would enable you put a claim to the funds on our behalf.
Please kindly indicate your interest by responding to this email so we can discuss further.
Yours sincerely,
Barr. Michael Kent

I glanced at the scuffed bag by the door, I had known Mr Kent would contact me eventually. I was the last person in the country with the surname Dankworth. As my eyes read over the email again, I laughed to myself, this had been easier than I initially thought.

Neelix stalked past the black bag, rubbing up against it, he then stopped and pulled out his claws, pulling at the plastic material.

I stood up fast in an attempt to scare him, knocking my coffee over my laptop in the process. I swore and grabbed at some tissues, watching as the black liquid slowly absorbed. I would forever be cleaning up my own mess.



My Finish to the Story

Dear Mr. Kent

by @agmoore

detective-28799_1280.png


When I picked up the computer at Apple repair the technician told me I was lucky. Last person who spilled a mug of coffee on the laptop killed the machine.

It had been 24 hours since I received Kent's email. The delay probably whet his appetite. My response had to be drafted carefully--an exquisite balance between naivete, and an eagerness to grab that inheritance.


I began:

Dear Mr. Kent,

This is most remarkable news. If you're sure we're not doing anything wrong, I would like to hear more about your proposition. After all, if I have Mr. Dankworth's last name, maybe I am related.
Sincerely, Eva Dankworth



Perfect! My email screamed stupidity and greed.



Kent's response, less than 30 minutes later:

Indeed, Ms. Dankworth, you most assuredly may be a relation. I will happily pursue the case for you. My only fee will be a small portion of the proceeds, a modest 3%. Besides that, there will be no cost to you--except for incidental expenses.


Me:

Expenses? Will that be a lot? I'm not rich.


Kent:

My dear Ms. Dankworth, considering what you have to gain, this expenditure will be insignificant.


Me:

OK. When would you need the money, and how much would that be?


Kent:

I think I can easily start for about $1,000. But I would need that in 24 hours. We have to hurry, or the bank will seize the assets.


Bingo! A proffer. Now all he had to do was accept the money--and put everything in writing.


Me:

I have a thousand dollars. How do I get it to you? There's a contract, right? I'd like a contract. That's smart, don't you think?


Kent:

Certainly. I'll send that right over.


Me:

I'd like to meet you. It's kind of scary, doing business over the Internet. If I see you face to face I'll feel better.


Kent:

That's inconvenient. There's nothing wrong with the Internet. Everybody does it.


Me:

I don't think I can, if I don't meet you. Bring the contract and I'll bring the money.


He wasn't going to like that, but the prize was so close, he wouldn't be able to let it go.


Kent:

Of course, Ms. Dankworth. We can meet tonight. There's a diner, the Starstruck, in your neighborhood. I'll see you at 8, in the parking lot. Look for a red vintage Mustang. That'll be me.


He took the bait! It was time to call the fraud squad and give Mr. Kent the reception he so richly deserved. If the money changed hands, and I got that contract, his career of scamming would finally be over.


Me:

And I'll be wearing a yellow coat. With a bird pin on the collar. I am so looking forward to our meeting. Great things are going to happen tonight.


Of all the things I wrote to Kent that day, this was the one sentence that was absolutely true.

Sort:  

I am so glad you made it with this one, and a decent way under the deadline as well!

You picked up on the poor language and tone of the email so well, I love the email back and forth you have here, some amazing direct storytelling interspersed with our main characters perspective. I really love that you took the hints of a scam, and turned it into a sting, you leave a smokescreen of mystery over Eva's motivation, this could be her job - which ties up the start of the opening and the working from home angle, or she could be setting this trap especially for Mr Kent to ensure he gets what he deserves - although equally that line could add weight to this being her job. Skillfully done. I really enjoy how you ended this, the change of tense giving a wonderful tone of reflection, a very good ending woven from the threads of the first half <3

I don't understand that deadline at all. Can anyone tell me what it translates into, EST? I'm not very sophisticated and am easily confused :)
Thank you for your comment. My story was simple--I did try to stay true to your beginning. Didn't want to go the sinister route (kill off all the other descendants) so this seemed reasonable.
I'll be seeing you at tellastory to me. I already have a rather diabolical scheme worked out. The writing of it, of course, is the trick.
Be well and continue to create
AG

In EST the deadline for submission would be 3:00 P.M.

I'm in the same time zone and became tired of the differences in online converters myself. One day I asked F3nix how many hours were left until the deadline on his end and then saved the information to my phone. 😂

~Bris

Thank you so much! I'll share this information with my husband and he'll tuck it away. He's very, very good with time. Way too good, if you know what I mean :)

You're most welcome! My sister is the same way and it drives her husband bonkers. 😉

HaHa! Really nice to catch the Fraudians. My man told me that under those thousands of mails at least one or two people fall for the fraud.

But this reminded me of a hilarious TED talk. Watch it, you are going to have fun:

:))))

I woke up in the middle of the night and listened to this. Actually chuckled...the punch line is the best: please stop emailing us. Thanks for that.

:) most welcome.
I got lazy these days in writing. Although I have a ton of research material gathered it's hard to decide with which I'll come up.

Maybe I will leave it to cook for a while.

Sincerely,
yours.

Whatever you decide, whenever you decide--I'm sure it will be interesting :)

😂 Love that you were thinking of Veitch's fun with email scams as well! (I've been tempted to copy his bit with the free toaster advertisement to the ones I receive.)

~Brisby

would be fun to do that, right? LOL

Novum kalium pirata.png

Congratulations, you've been selected to receive a 100% potassium enriched upvote from the @bananafish!

We are a safe harbor for every writer and poet. Freedom, solidarity, quality, inclusion: these are our values. Keep an eye on our weekly contests and grow with us in a friendly environment!

Join us! Here's your key to access the Bananafish Realms.



This post has been manually selected, curated and upvoted by CI mod staff team. Supporting all posts that are in high quality and don’t get enough recognition.



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was voted: 100%

Enjoyed the exchange of Emails in the telling of the story.

Thank you, @cyemela! I wanted to get a story out this week because I do like @calluna and @gaby-crb so much. I wanted to participate in their creative endeavor. Happy to hear from you :)

Yes. We are truly lucky to have found this group of people to write with.

Well, well, well. We got ourselves a fraudbuster story! Lovely story, Aggy Moory~

- FRAUD BUSTERS -


If there's something strange
in your email server,
who you gonna call?
<3 FRAUD BUSTERS! <3

If there's something phisy
and it has bad grammar,
who you gonna call?
<3 FRAUD BUSTERS! <3

<3 ~I AIN'T AFRAID OF NO FRAUD~ <3



<3 ~I AIN'T AFRAID OF NO FRAUD~ <3



If you're seeing a large sum
of good ole dosh in your email,
who can you call?
<3 FRAUD BUSTERS! <3

An Nigerian Prince
socially energineering yah!
OH! who you gonna call?
<3 FRAUD BUSTERS! <3

<3 ~I AIN'T AFRAID OF NO FRAUD~ <3



<3 ~I AIN'T AFRAID OF NO FRAUD~ <3




And if you wanna see the rest of the song, forward me a down payment of 10.01 STEEM by the end of the seven-day reward generation period.

Funny, funny, funny. Thank you, spirited reader, for that most entertaining response :)

And thank yah for that story!~

Thank you for your appreciation!

Catching the poor man just trying to feed his family, I'm sure. 8-)

Fun read.

I really detest parasites. I mean, I don't mind so much degenerates of any kind, but parasites and bullies...lowest on my list.
Glad you had fun reading it>

Oh yes! Another disgraceful scammer is about to be busted! How I wish we could read of this person's reaction once caught in the action. Maybe there would be a gratifying look of despair when they realize they've driven that sweet vintage Mustang for the last time?

The progression of your story through the email interaction strikes emotionally. I can't count the number of times that I've read through one of those despicable scams and wished there was more that I could do than make sure there's notification of it online as a public warning. Thanks to your ending, there's the feel of satisfaction that there will be one less piece of scum to prey upon others.

~Bris

Congratulations @agmoore! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10