There Are Rules: Finish the Story Contest #31

in #finishthestory6 years ago (edited)

The Beginning


library luke.jpg

What Goes Around, Comes Around

By @f3nix

Barnard Hall, in the heart of the west wing of the medical school, the Asclepius sancta sanctorum. The light of the sunset dripped from the dusty double-glazed windows and mixed with the cedar scent of the wooden stalls, arranged in steep theatre. A visitor who had passed the heavy double door would have undoubtedly caught the note of animal musk mixing with the wood essence. Smell of anxiety. Smell of hunted prey. Smell of university student exhausted during a long, endless session of exams.

"I strongly advise you to think carefully about your next words," Prof. Angelus said to the student.

Spread over several rows, set in the narrow space between the back and the table top, the remaining students were crossed by the icy scalpel blade of that voice.

"Here we are," Luke thought in a flash of conscious resignation.

It was the sixth time he had to repeat that exam: after five fails in a row his whole life have been interrupted and swallowed up in that black hole. By now he knew every detail of "At Heart of Cardiology", the three volumes treatise written by Prof. Angelus, a widely recognized eminence of cardiology.

For an eternal moment his thoughts dissociated from the scene and flew to that day three years earlier when, at the head of a handful of fifteen other students, Luke had decided to protest the decisions of the seventy-year-old professor.

"Do you mind if I ask you.. do you really intend to graduate in this university?" A stunned secretary had told him at some point, after the insistent protests of the student committee showed no sign of blurring.

And at what levels could the power of an old ordinary professor, close to retirement, ever come? The answer did not wait and, just two months later, Prof. Angelus was acclaimed by the unanimous council as dean of the faculty. Luke was instantly fire-branded and he would never graduate from that university.

"Well?" The assistant, the professor's guard dog, broke the silence.

"The... the... commissurotomy can only be performed if the flaps are not calcified and the subvalvular apparatus is preserved. With a left anterior thoracotomy, the chest is accessed through the resection space of rib 5. Once the pericardium is opened through the left auricle, a diverter is introduced into the mitral ostium which, opening, forces the valvular flaps to separate the merged commissures." Luke answered almost without breathing, tense like a Vietcong in his tunnel paved of sleepless study nights.

The professor's nose had disgusting bright red veins, Luke did not know if he was breathing - or alive at all. He looked down at the white, protruding knuckles of his left hand, clinging to the arm of his chair, and waited for his fate.

"Twenty-six, do you accept?" A note of irony in that electric scalpel voice.

"Yes. Sorry, I'll take the transcripts." Luke stumbled into his bag, looking through the notebooks for the grade transcripts. He had not even brought the booklet with him since there was so little hope of passing the exam.

The professor absent-mindedly drew a twenty-four and a signature in cuneiform spelling.

The cold light of the Pentaled surgical light-head outlined the instruments neatly aligned as efficient soldiers ready to execute his orders. It was almost pleasant to the watchful eyes of Dr. Luke Richards, a promising cardio-surgeon and head of the famous Royal Brompton Hospital in Chelsea, London.

"Doctor, we have verified that a serious heart attack is going on. The frequency is 207 bpm. We administered 50 mg of protamine sulfate, the patient did not react. Furthermore, his wife informed us of a complication deriving from senile cardiac amyloidosis."

accent accent.jpg

My Ending

There Are Rules

By @agmoore

operating room luke.jpg

Luke hadn't seen Angelus for eight years. They were both working at the Royal Brompton back then--Luke as Attending Physician, Angelus as President of the Board. An emergency meeting was called to consider one of Luke's pediatric patients. She'd been born with neontal lupus and congenital heartblock. A pacemaker kept her going for the last ten years, but now she needed a new heart.

The hospital had guidelines for all procedures. This child, Rosalita Amasario, did not fit into those guidelines because her overall health was poor. So the Board turned down her application, and Angelus cast the deciding vote.

"In order for her to live," Angelus had explained at that time, "someone else must die, someone with a better chance at life. We have to be practical."

Rosalita expired two weeks later. Angelus retired and Luke never heard anything about him again. Not until now.

**

As he looked down at the operating table Luke noted the familiar red nose. He also noted the distended abdomen--hallmark of advanced heart failure. Without an operation, Angelus would soon be dead.

Luke held his hands over the patient, palms up, almost as though he was giving a benediction. But he wasn't. He was signaling everyone to wait.

"Let me see the patient's chart," he said to the surgical nurse. That was Bridget O'Hallaron, a seasoned professional who had worked with Angelus on some of his most celebrated cases. O'Hallaron had always been loyal to Angelus. Now she glared at Luke.

O'Hallaron moved her fingers in front of a magnetic screen and pulled up Angelus' chart. There it was: the lie that had been told so Angelus could undergo this procedure.

Luke addressed the nurse in a level tone.

"That date of birth cannot be right. Dr. Angelus is 82, not 76. Which means I can't perform this operation. According to the guidelines established by the Board, Dr Angelus is ineligible. The cutoff age is 78."

O'Hallaron's voice was tense. "Dr. Richards, this is Daniel Angelus. His name is on this building. He gave thirty years of service to the hospital".

Luke was cool. "Who filled out this form?"

"I did." The tips of O'Hallaron's ears grew red over the top of her surgical mask.

"Where did you get the information?"

"His wife gave it to me."

Luke couldn't speak to the unconscious Angelus. But O'Hallaron would serve as an acceptable surrogate for the esteemed professor. It was with relish, therefore, that Luke uttered the following words:

"We have rules. If Dr. Angelus lives, someone else dies, someone with a better chance at life. We have to be practical."

He turned to the staff and announced, "This procedure is cancelled. Ms. O'Hallaron will inform the family."

Luke turned abruptly and left the room. As he pushed the elevator button and waited for the "ping" that announced its arrival, he allowed himself one moment of smug satisfaction.

"That," he mused, "was certainly worth getting out of bed for."



If you like to write, or would like to try your hand at writing, #finishthestory contest is ideal.

Each week the beginning of a story is featured by @bananafish. Sometimes guest authors write these pieces. This week @f3nix is the author. All of Steemit is invited to enter into the realm of imagination. There are few rules. A 500 word limit is suggested, but not mandatory. Any thread, any idea from the first part may become an inspiration to follow for the second author.
The name of this contest is finishthestory, but it's really about writing your own story that is connected in some way to the first. Accept the invitation to write, to become part of a community and at the same time demonstrate your individuality.
Finish the Story Contest--highly recommended.

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @f3nix
This post was given a rating of: 0.8172604269456707
This post was voted: 64.98%

Thank you!! :)

well this wasn't supposed to happen twice.....interesting

Good news heard twice--nothing wrong with that :)

well either way I fixed it lol

I saw it happening twice even on another one, it was @gwilberiol's story.



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @f3nix
This post was given a rating of: 0.7970559878734669
This post was voted: 63.37%

I really appreciate your vote and your endorsement. Feels good :)

Ooohh! You served up a can of worms with this story! (Which I enjoyed immensely, BTW, even if I don't personally agree with the decision Luke made.)

I think that the doctor is in for some major repercussions. On top of the possible guilt he'll be experiencing after the high from his revenge fades, I bet that there will be an investigation regarding his conduct. Standing rules or no, the hospital board and the media (with some probable help from O'Halloran) will likely have a field day with Luke refusing to operate.

Thanks for that energetic response. You're right--there will be repercussions, besides guilt. I'm pretty sure a doctor would have to justify a last-minute decision that resulted in death and wasn't based on sound medical principles. Luke did let his ego get in the way, didn't he...sort of filled the boots of the dearly departed professor. Happy you enjoyed the story--I have a rather spare style that doesn't suit some readers. Glad it suited you:)

Haaaaaaaaa! Here we go! A very very (but very) interesting outcome on an ethical theme. Where do human rules can be infringed for the sake of respecting the moral ones? Luke couldn't escape from a strict eye for an eye thinking, sharp yet primitive in a way.. or not?

There are no easy answers...unless it's what's for dinner :)

Your goal has been reached, since we're left wandering in the comment section :-)

Didn't realize I didn't upvote this one--gets very confusing on the comments thread sometimes :)

Hah don't worry and thanks 😉

What comes around, goes around, I guess. Nice finish. I mean, not-so-nice finish, but good story. :-)

Thanks! Put a little dose of reality in there--happens to be the way medicine is practiced. We don't like to think about it, but treatment is rationed, resources are measured. So the story went :)

It's funny.

When the Rule Makers get f*cked by their own rules, it provides a good measure of perverse pleasure, no?

Namaste, JaiChai

They never see it coming, but it does eventually :)

Wow! Well, that triggers some things in me. I feel a dilemma and it carries me to very fundamental questions that you raise here. Luke acted wrong, I'd say. He acted, as it seems, not on the basis of an existing rule, but on the basis of revenge. And yet this rule has only just come in handy to him. This is an infamous act and I think other readers would probably see it that way. I have not yet looked at what they write, because I wanted to answer uninfluenced. You use a very interesting question: Whose life should one save? As a rule, this is discussed on the basis of an emergency, for example at an accident site, where a doctor has to decide quickly who to take care of first. This is a very responsible task and mistakes are likely and human. In Luke's case it is different. An opportunity presents itself on his plate and he seizes it without a guilty conscience. One could sympathize with him and say: the old doctor deserves what he sowed. An eye for an eye? But people are also known for not being able to live well with guilt. Even if the revenge tastes sweet for a moment, it does pursue you in the form of a conscience that comes later. If you're not a perfect psychopath and mentally disturbed, Luke will also be haunted by such an emotion. Guilt can devour people and drive them further in a destructive direction. But it can also trigger catharsis. In any case Luke did not act ethically, his last thought reflects this well.

On an even deeper level it is about written and unwritten rules. As soon as a rule is defined, it often causes more difficulties than it solves problems (in so far as the application of a rule then becomes a dispute, I mean). The worst things often happen at the boundary between exceeding or falling short of a rule. I mean this in relation to some ethical principles. For example, I believe that it is not necessary to have a written law to see that you should not kill other people. The unwritten law is very effective here. People also have a sense of what would be against the prevailing customs, such as sitting in a public square in daylight and doing your toilet business. I know, a somewhat stupid example:)

One could also say that the student has very effectively taken his teacher as a role model and in general one wonders how one wants and should be a role model. In any case, your story has great potential for discussion!


I think we should make another contest out of your story to tell further what happens to Luke in the weeks and months after his committed act.

Ah, you do see to the heart of my story. Hence, the title. Of course, Luke will be seized with guilt (unless he's a psychopath) for the rest of his life--not because he followed a rule but because he acted out of revenge. The cruelty, the immorality, of a rule is that it lets people off the hook. They can defer responsibility for what they do to another authority. This abdication of responsibility leads to all kinds of miscarriages. So, the question for me in the story was less about Luke's revenge, which set an entertaining backdrop for a discussion about rules, than it was about moral, individual responsibility vs. authority.
Of course, some rules don't have much of a moral component: turn your cell phone off in a movie theater, for example. But many rules do.
Certainly the rules that govern use of resources in medicine--and these do exist--have a profound moral component.
So nice of you to be clever and see my point. Thanks for engaging in an interesting discussion. I haven't had coffee yet so I'm not answering with all my circuits charged :)

yes, how you designed this story clearly carries this meaning.

The cruelty, the immorality, of a rule is that it lets people off the hook

Indeed. Tons of material out there on how prison guards and executives of the "Drittes Reich" were just following the rules. There are inherent ones, one cannot escape though. Whatever one will do further on, guilt will remain until one can get healed from hurting an ethical principle.

How was your weekend?

And not just the "Drittes Reich", but prisons all over the world, and soldiers at war, and doctors....all of us. Anyway,
My weekend was peaceful, quiet and happy. My brother, who lives in a distant city, celebrated his birthday and my son was my emissary. I couldn't go. First-hand reports came back and they were quite good.
I hope you also had a peaceful, happy weekend. I'm ready for my next blog, next story, next writing adventure. I always begin in one place and end up in another. It's an adventure!

nod, nod, nod. All of us, true.

Bummer that you couldn't join your brothers birthday. Good that we are having all the modern devices to get some sense of the gatherings which take place without us:)

My weekend was relaxing and I had a good time.

Curious, what your adventure leads you to and will comment as always.

I don't know. I would like to write another STEM-article but then I am so absorbed by the writers community and doing recordings. Also, I think, I already said everything related to my profession and I could only repeat myself. lol. ... Maybe I am just too lazy. It's a hell lot of work to be accurate and to fulfill the standard I set for myself.

The writers community is rich. Have you checked out @calluna's tell a story to me? Also, the haiku here. I know nothing about haiku, but @marcoriccardi wrote a beautiful clear guide. I think this is something you would be good at and have great fun doing. Also, as for the science--these are the blogs that take such a long time for me to write. I'm learning. Everything I write about is a new door opening--an adventure. I go slowly and write other pieces as I research. Always, my heart and my interest lead.
If we follow the path, we'll get there:)
The important part is to have fun.🎪 My husband reminds me of that all the time.

I have checked it all. Haiku sounds interesting - I came to know of it through Buddhism:)

Goodness, there is so much beauty out there.
I still have to learn to be relaxed in also missing things and not become stressed by FOMO (fear of missing opportunities).
Laughter.
Your handling I like because you stick to your pace and "I cut myself a piece from it", as we say in Germany:)

Say hello to your husband. He is right.

We should brush up on Immanuel Kant and others, me thinks..

... so much heard about him but never read a piece of Kant. Therefore I cannot say that I understand what he was publishing. I am afraid of doing so because it certainly will suck me up from a looooong time. lol.

But you know a lot about Buddhism...Eight-Fold Path will do it :)

So you do know something, too! :) I welcome the influence it takes on my way to deal with relationships to people and the world. If you are interested, I can throw in some names of monks/nuns who give talks on youtube. But I guess, you'll find them anyway.

Yes, I can, thank you. You have also influenced me :)

"Two things awe me most, the starry sky above me and the moral law within me". Immanuel Kant

@f3nix: it's been a long time....

Yes.. I remember zero lol.. what a shame after years of study.

This was an interesting and challenging prompt and I dig the direction you took it in. The hostility between Luke and O’Hallaron in that final scene is palpable! The fact that he takes his revenge in a way that upholds the letter of the rules, and punishes Angelus’s hypocrisy, gives it extra punch. I don’t think getting revenge ever brings people much happiness or closure, it but it definitely makes for some satisfying fiction! Great read! :D

What a subtle reading of my little ending. Yes, exactly, it's about rules--their cruelty, their hypocrisy. You looked past Luke's obvious moral weakness to the main idea: rules give Angelus and Luke an out to be cowardly and cruel. O'Hallaron, as irritating as she may be to me, is actually heroic. The heck with the rule. This is Dr. Angelus, a human being. I want him to live.

Now that’s pretty much Karma incarnate. He pretty much was an empty vessel to Karma for her to act on the cruelty of the Professor. Now, will Karma cover up her tracks and get rid of him if he starts acting up? Upvot’d and resteem’d!
0A79C759-BD38-47B7-9B66-907B7289358E.gif

@f3nix gave us a philosophical and moral dilemma. Will be interesting to seeing how the other authors addressed this issue. So far, I've only read @stever82, who came out with a positive conclusion. Tomorrow....

You most certainly wrote with this theme in mind. Well done. Much to reflect on here.

Thank you!

I think I should explore more life choices and existential themes...

This group rose to the occasion....

I always struggle when it comes to names. Don't now why... maybe because I always think funny stuff and when I get serious all I write is metaphores hehe

And I have trouble with names because I'm getting old enough to forget them...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37