Lahti Karting Centre

in #finland6 years ago (edited)

I gave friend of my daughter's a ride home and took an alternate route back. I dropped by at Lahti Karting Centre. It is in an isolated location just outside the city. Lahti Formula K Club uses it for practicing and racing. There were many types of go-kart on the track. I talked to the owner of one and he said his go-kart had a 125 cc engine and that its top speed would be around 110-120 km/h. The ones that were on the track at the time I shot the video were quite fast as you can see for yourself.

20180514_173907

Pit stop + race officials' building

20180514_174126

The club building

I went on my way and took a few photos of the nearby quiet railway between Lahti and the port town of Loviisa on the coast of the Gulf of Finland about 80 km away. The Lahti-Loviisa railway has very little traffic today. Passenger trains stopped running in the 1970's and but some freight trains and museum trains still run from time to time. Not very often, though. It is not electrified and the speed limit is 60 km/h.

20180514_174624

No passenger trains here

20180514_174545

Towards Lahti

20180514_174828

It is still spring going by the look of the trees and bushes. But the temperature is 29 C. It's hot even for July.

20180514_174857

Thimbleweed

20180514_175414

Another crossing near a village

20180514_175528

Water from the field runs under the railway.

20180514_175442

There is only Orimattila (pop. 15,000) on the way to Loviisa, another smalltown, on the coast.

Sort:  

I'm glad you used YouTube as a host, I don't know why but Dtube loads me super bad, lol 125 cc that isn't a kid toy, I imagine that this club should also be a school and give some courses, btw really cool the towards Lahti shot. Today was a really hot day here to even with air conditioning.

How long has it been since you tried DTube? Just asking because I used to have lots of problems with them but it's been more okay recently.

Another thing you might not know, and I'll tag @markkujantunen here too in case he is interested in trying it out next time, is that DLive allows you to just upload videos now too. So that's another option.

Just hang in there until the rainy season begins.

Thanks for all the pictures! Railroads are one of the things that interest me for no reason in particular I guess. I just like the aesthetic, and riding on trains just has a romantic feel to it for which I have yet to find a match.

It's a little weird that I just thought of this, but it's funny how no matter where you go, the rails look more or less the same. It feels like it sorta "connects" us all in some sort of way. Or maybe I'm just on drugs. Seriously though, I'm not on any drugs. Just weird.

Never been karting myself. Looks pretty fun, though! I should give it a try one of these days. :)

Railways literally connect people.

Nice compilation buddy and as for your racing skills, well, watch gamer Hakkinen go! I really enjoy your compilations as I feel like I'm on a little field trip through someone else's country and from childhood have had a great love for trains, very nostalgic for me reminding me of my father and I setting up our Lima train sets and going at it for days over school holidays while racing Scalextric that we wove in between the train tracks.

Nice one man

Hi Markku. Lucky you getting to do this during the day. The Go karting track is good fun. We had an office Christmas party the one year doing it and became highly competitive. They can go slightly faster than what you say but they put a limiter on them for safety reasons. They seem like they go faster because you are basically sitting on the ground. They are very low. Small little towns are beautiful as they are usually unspoiled by development. Lucky to have places like that still around.

I didn't go go-karting myself. I was just dropping by.

I know but it is nice to do it. If you haven't I suggest you give it a go sometime.It is a lot of fun. Need some other people to join you though. The more the better.

Sounds like something to do with work colleagues.

Yes. It is good fun. What do you do?

Hello markku., The truth is that you have very good photos, it shows that it was a great trip. Among all the photos I'm with Towards Lahti that looks like a picture postcard :)

That's super finoo! It must be exciting to go in one of these go-karts, the adrenaline that must be felt when competing must be ... Sensational.
What good train tracks!

The Thimble weed is beautiful. Also Loved that the old era non-electric trains are still running only if for museum's sake. Got to keep a little bit of history alive.......

Another very quiet railway leads to the north the terminus being the industrial town of Heinola about 30 km away.

What a nice and peaceful place to have go-kart! Hahaha. So that silence will not be bored!
Like these photos of natural setting and railway!
Best of all, the go-hart track is so good and the speed is high.
I used to be in one with top speed of 80 kms/hour!

The high temperature is quite incredible. Yesterday, the temperature at my garden house was 30 degree Celsius! But night time can be okay around 22-25! Heat wave is spreading over!

What a good shot you recorded of the race! I liked the pictures of the train track, I think they look good for their long way

nicr place
railway track

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99