Tikinaagan~ Is Ojibwe For Cradleboard. (Baby carriers)

in #firstnations5 years ago

source

Such a cute bundle, no?

This is a cradle board used many generations ago by the First Nations (Aboriginals).

It was a means for the mother to carry their babies throughout the day comfortably and more easily so they could have them with them all day.

The babies were wrapped in a moss bag and securely tucked in to a thin cushioned board. The reason for boards was to keep the child's back and legs straight, to strengthen the necks and muscles and to provide a chance for the babies to gain in sight and hearing as they would be stimulated the their environment and family.

The tikinaagans were and still are an important tool for both mother's and babies for their benefits. Just like we would use carriers and Moby Wraps, the babies benefit so much with being close to their mothers, feeling and hearing the heart beat, breathing, singing and talking, walking around even helps them fall asleep.

I used to have a Moby Wrap for my kids and loved having them so close to me. At the time I didn't know about cradle boards and I wished I had for it would benefit my babies posture.

In the image, it shows that people still use them today so the tradition is not lost in history, using pine or cedar wood laces together with thin strips of leather.

If you would like to see earlier pictures of mother's carrying their babies in their tikinaagans, I would invite you to visit @janton's post

Today what I want to share with you is the activity my kids and I got to take part in yesterday.

At the Beaver House, band office, we were welcomed to do some family crafts during this family well being week.

It came to a big surprise when finding our what we were making as I have just read @janton's post just before.

We made small versions of tikinaagans for the kids to play with for their dolls and small babies.

So it's not nearly as traditional as how it's actually made. These are mini versions made easy for the kids to make.

I would have enjoyed making an actual one with real wood work but it could never be done in just 2 hours.

We used wood glue to glue the parts together but it took too long to stick so we just used hot glue to do the trick.

Using the leather strips we weaved it through the holes in the plastic and the material as a means to sew it on.

Now I noticed I put my Knott inside the cradle area which would have me fail the test as if it was for a real baby, it would chew on the rope... Bad idea.

My son, Aaden has quite the crafty hands as he was well advanced in his project compared to me.

Emma was hard at work, concentrating on making sure it's straight and without a mess.

To finish we simply weave another leather string through the holes, kind of like a shoe. Simple enough but I'm sure its much more complicated when making it for real.

The kids had a great time learning an important part of history as they made and decorate their boards. And they are proud of it too. Good!

I kept mine simple as I couldn't decide on how I wanted it decorated. Perhaps I could add some beads to it. I hung on my wall to keep it as a decoration, a nice reminder of my cultural heritage.

Here are pics of the kids creative masterpieces.

Aadens:

Emma's:

Frankie's:

What do you think? They will make fine crafters later on when making their own 😊

This is just the beginning of my journey with my kids as we dive in to learn about our culture that was hidden from us for 2 generations.

This weekend is going to be another great adventure as we will be gathering for traditional language on the land. It will be very interesting.

Miigwech/ thank you/ merci!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This is wonderful, @foxyspirit. Cultural heritage is so important. And kids love crafts, so that’s such a great way to share knowledge! It sounds like you are learning and reconnecting with the past right along with them.

Those are so neat! My daughter would love doing that as well.

I also used a Moby wrap and loved it. Well, I loved it until June, and then going outside was way too hot for both of us in it. It looks like this is a better alternative.

It is such a great reminder that in all our modernity we are not necessarily any wiser. People long ago knew young babies were happy when snuggled up in a wrap without any of those newfangled studies and parenting books.

Hmm, I wonder where They had the idea from...

You really are taking advantage of some awesome opportunities this summer with the kids! This looks like not only a fun craft, but such a great way to pass down traditions and knowledge. Shoot, I would enjoy going and doing something like this, too. Thanks for sharing so we all get to learn a little something, as well!

Oh absolutely! I'm all for sharing and sharing knowledge is the best thing! Thank you for checking out my post!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think they will be very good crafters:) Best of luck in the next step, language:)

Thank you so much! We just got back. I will write about it tomorrow when I have the chance.

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy foxyspirit! Thanks so much for the mentions and those look like such fun and what a wonderful learning experience. It's thrilling to see that you'll be able to take the kids with you on many of these learning experiences about your culture and heritage. wow, what a blessing!

When you said this weekend did you mean the 6th and 7th or do you mean this coming weekend? Anyway, great job, this is a beautiful post!

Ah you're welcome.

It is a blessing, a wonderful gift!

I meant 6-7th. My energy is a bit used up now lol. Trying to find the time to write about it a bit. Next weekend is Pow wow!! Woohoo!

Thank you for coming by.

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy again foxyspirit! How was the language thing? Pow wows are amazing in sight, sounds, education, and experience. I haven't been but I've seen videos.

Have you contacted any American Indians on steemit?

It was wonderful!

The experience of being at a pow wow is surreal. Just like a sweat, there's nothing like it. The drums and the chanting comes and gets you and you can really feel the strength from it.

I've only met one other person but that was some time ago.

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy tonight foxyspirit! What an experience for sure. I'll go to one someday. Well the reason I was asking about other Indigenous People on Steemit is that ganja farmer (separated his username because I don't really want to tag him) has been extremely helpful to me.

He is Shoshone-Bannock and has taught me alot and adds great input in my posts like today he explained something because I mentioned the Shoshone warriors.

He can teach you tons in private on discord. He's extremely knowledgeable and I won't say anymore than that because I don't have his permission.

Interesting. I wonder about northern and southern tribes... knowing they are similar, there are some differences. I wouldn't want to bother him too much if he is busy. I'm not even sure what I would ask 😬 lol. It would be to see what he would be willing to share and teach I suppose.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, you wouldn't be bothering him and he loves to teach. Especially a fellow Native, doesn't matter what percentage. Are you on discord?

Yep, I'm on discord 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

They made quite fascinating Cradleboards, you got some really creative kids.

I like your exploration with History.

Thank you. Finding out our history, our roots tells us who we are. An important Journey.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @foxyspirit, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70