Fishing in HawaiisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fishing5 years ago

Hi Friends,

When I was on vacation recently, I put a collapsible fishing pole and a few lures into my suitcase so that I could do some fishing in Hawaii.

With all the activities planned and needing to assist with the young kids (not water safe yet), I only got out and fished 1 time while I was there for about 1.5 hours.

My gear was a spinning reel with 10 pound mono line and a 1/8th ounce jig head and 3 inch soft plastic minnow with tail. This is a setup I use often in the local harbors and surf here in California, and do very well overall with the setup.

I fished at low tide at 8am in the morning. I ended up getting lots of short bites where the smaller fish would rip the tail off the minnow but not actually eat the entire thing where I could hook the fish. I thought about downsizing lures to catch a few of these smaller fish, but wanted to keep at it to see if there was anything bigger around.

The only fish I managed to catch was a barracuda. It was about 15 inches, so not large, but I did not get a picture as I was in the water up to my thighs and it came off as I was walking up the beach in order to snap a pic before releasing. Overall, I had a good time, but wished I would have done some more fishing. Here is a snapshot of the water for lack of anything else to show:

EF756DF8-25B6-45CB-8CAB-CE0DC395308E.jpeg

While at the Polynesian cultural center, they have an activity where you can use a bamboo stick and a paperclip and try to catch a fish – I did manage to catch one small fish doing that, check it out:

2ADC1D07-8D8B-4FD2-B6C5-64F0D6931ED2.jpeg

A close up, lol:

1FE1F5ED-2188-43DE-9566-A9112F30A6D1.png

As a throwback, I honeymooned in Hawaii 11 years ago, and did this same fishing activity. Here is that fish way back when:

1DBBF416-4C23-4AD9-A1D5-C78954704D56.jpeg

Thanks for stopping by to check out the fishing report from Hawaii!

Brian

Sort:  

Nice you did a good job and nice catch

Have a fun time on Hawaii. I always enjoy your fishing trips. Thanks again for sharing your enjoyable moments.

Posted using Partiko Android

wow... beautiful views with crystal clean water... your kids are so sweet....

Posted using Partiko Android

I really love fishing though, when the water base go down a bit , thanks for sharing yours.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93