Friday Fishing: Always be Prepared

in #fishing6 years ago

One thing I have come to realize is that a fishing opportunity might present itself when you do not expect it. Fishing does not always have to be a long and involved activity. Sometimes 15 minutes of casting around in a new place can yield some exciting results! I am learning to be prepared for just such cases.

Recently, my son and I went on a hike to get outside and explore. The hike was along a creek, which ended up being much bigger than I had thought. Since I thought this was going to be a small creek, I didn’t bring a fishing pole – boy did I regret it!

A27BB78A-66A9-49BF-8D06-5EF984EB59B4.jpeg

5AB79131-C614-47DB-9F23-569CF2675947.jpeg

As you can see form these pictures The creek had some nice pools in it, and I even saw a couple of fish swimming around in one of the pools, though I am unsure if they were trout or bass. I was kicking myself for not being prepared for an opportunity to wet a line, even if only for a short while.

In the spirit of always being prepared, I am starting to keep a mini fishing pole in my truck in case I find myself in a fishing location that I was not expecting. That, along with a couple of fishing lures, should allow me enough gear to have a little fishing fun. I have also considered keeping a small fishing pole in my golf bag, as golf course ponds can often hold nice sized bass!

Next time, I will be ready for whatever fish were in those pools!

Do you have any similar stories?

Take care,
Brian

Sort:  

I feel your pain. I too am guilty of storing a fishing pole in my golf bag. Some of the best bass fishing in the state comes from golf course ponds. The problem is most courses don't like me fishing much.

Great idea to always have a fishing rod with you. That stream looks like a great place to fish! A friend of mine was telling me they found a place that is well hidden that holds lots of great bass. They make the trip up there once a year and kayak in for several hours to get into the fish.

Not really, but I imagine your enthusiasm to see the fish, it is also very intriguing to see what fish was and although I do not have stories with the fish I would like to do it someday.
@calitoo

As I never fished in my life, I have no similar story.

Such a great idea. I usually have my poles in the van because we are heading out with the boat so often lately but it is nice to have them in hand in case you come up in an unexpected opportunity. Like a Boy Scout!

Friend, how are you? a beautiful trip to this lake, of course that a fisherman like you should always have his tools to not lose the opportunity to fish, how are your beautiful children?

Greetings to your wife

Hi there, it's been awhile since I have been on your page to read up your posts. I wish I could fish but maybe one day I will learn to see how relaxing everyone says it is.

Really a perfect place for fishing. The place looks very quiet for fishing with family. I like your beautiful fishing story. Hope you and your son Jacob enjoyed the amazing moments. Thanks a lot for sharing your enjoyable moments with us.

wow,my dear friend.. @brian.rrr this is a really very perfect and nice place for catching fish.specially,this pool looks just awesome and quiet.this place very proper to take fresh air environment and enjoy yourself fishing moments time.i am really happy to hear know that you doing hiking with your son. obviously its very happy enjoy moment of you and i hope that you creating fun with your child jacobs.i like your every fishing story.. i wish that your son jacob,s spending great day with your fishing moments.thanks to sharing for your great post of fishing..very well done for your excellent idea always sharung with us.taje care yourself and your happy family.best wishes with your child anytime.may god bless you.enjoy your day.. @brian.rrr

@sadkitten is countering 85% of @timuann self-votes for 1 week starting Thursday, August 2nd 2018 because it is part of last weeks top self-voters. For more details see this post.

Hello my friend oh I think you had to take your fishing rod but I think it's never too late the place is 15 minutes from your house so you can plan a second trip to that place

This is how we should always be prepared in any situation. You never know what can be presented to us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14