Friday Fishing: Fish Paper

in #fishing6 years ago

So I subscribe to a weekly “fish paper” named the Western Outdoor News. I have been getting this for a number of years, and the cheapest I have gotten it is about $30 dollars a year (52 issues), though sometimes it is higher (just depends on if I can get a special discounted price). If you buy a single issued paper at a tackle shop, the cost is $3.25 so the annual subscription is a significant savings.

A732A7B3-75F9-45F0-AC7A-0B8A41616EC9.jpeg

Well, life has been busy lately, and I often do not even get a chance to read the weekly fish paper before the next week’s issue comes. I probably read about 10 of the newspapers per year right now, making me rethink if I should be subscribing.

The main benefit I have had when getting the fish paper is the fish reports and latest news. However, as the years have progressed, I have been increasing looking to different fishing forums on the internet to get real-time fishing updates and reports, making the fish newspaper less relevant. Part of me wants to keep subscribing simply to keep the fish paper supported, as I would hate to see it not have enough subscribers and end the publication, but I just have not been utilizing it, so the cost has not been worth the price over the last couple of years.

My wife has been giving me a hard time about never reading them, and thinks I should cancel. After much thought… I AM KEEPING THE FISH PAPER! My rationale is the following: you never know when you will need it, it makes a great bonfire starter, the cost is relatively small, and I would hate to see the fish paper stop circulation from lack of support! Plus, I want to see myself in the paper from time to time after catching a whopper – perhaps I am just vain!

Do you subscribe to any similar publications or magazines?

Fish on!

Brian

Sort:  

Eastern Fly Fishing Magazine and Ducks Unlimited

Nice magazine , fishing adventur is great adventur . I love fishing . Thanks for sharimg @brian.rrr

This is a great idea, it's a pity that it does not exist here, you can not subscribe to get newspaper maybe at a lower price now we almost do not have paper period

Now that I see it's interesting, they have only one fishing newspaper, this is really new for me, it should be good to have a newspaper with only what you like.

Happy weekend my friend

How are you friend @ brian.rrr how are you spending your weekend?

Great have a newspaper where fishing news come out have you ever been in that newspaper?

I think it's a good investment you're saving, besides, when you want, you can read it in tranquility because there you have everything you like.

I only subscribe to the magazine Coinage, dedicated to American numismatics. I never fished and I have been collecting coins for more than forty years.

I always like your fishing adventure. Still i don't subscribe any magazines but i think it's very interesting for the fish hunting lovers like you. Really i appreciate your beautiful idea and hope the magazine gives you more interesting idea about fishing.

I used to collect sports illustrated for years. I was in a similar position with having to decide to keep it. Ultimately I let it go because the cost was too high. Glad you kept the fishing publication and I love the multi-purposing you have used as justification.

Friend, how are you? I know you love fishing and although you do not read the newspaper every week for your busy time you should keep receiving it because what you say is true, it is better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it, I feel it for your wife and maybe as I understand her

Greetings to your beautiful family, happy weekend, I am anxious to know what you are going to do with the children and your wife this weekend!

Brother, how are you? how is the family? you have a good subscription because it is an activity that you are passionate about so do not leave it, at some point that your children are already big and the responsibilities are less, for sure you will want to read some chapters

Blessings to your family

I don't subscribe to magazines, but I think it's cool you get one that's for a specific hobby of yours. Do you submit pictures of your catches to the magazine in the hopes of them publishing one?

Occasionally I have... it is actually pretty easy to send them the pic and some quick background through their website!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79