Friday Fishing Stories: Paper Clip Fishing

in #fishing6 years ago

My wife and I visited a Polynesian Cultural Center in Hawaii while on our honeymoon. It was a pretty cool place and it was great learning some history and experiencing some of their cultures and customs. We enjoyed their luau as well!

When we were walking around the grounds, we found out that one of the things their guests can do is try to catch a fish with a stick, string and paper clip in one of their ponds… challenge accepted!

I procured the necessary tools from one of the workers, and quickly got to it. I used a little bread ball as bait and bent the paper clip into the shape of a hook. Within a minute, I was hooked up with this “monster”:

9345F8C9-1120-40AA-AB88-22031740C9ED.jpeg

I conquered the challenge, and the worker was surprised as I guess there are not too many people who are actually able to do it. There was some other people trying, but they did not have any luck so I guess that makes sense!

This was a fun experience, and got me thinking that it would be enjoyable to do more “alternative” styles of fishing from time to time in order to make things more challenging or keep them interesting… then again, I am not fishing enough as it is, so why make it harder on myself!

Have you ever been fishing “alternative” style, such as with a paper clip?

Take care,

Brian

Here are a couple more pics:

B3F129C3-A440-4B2D-B3F3-6A951A019622.jpeg

99B9C50D-82D1-4878-BEDF-E29F3463E70A.jpeg

Sort:  

Were there any bigger types of fish in there?

Beautiful .. well done
Yes and there are artificial ponds for fish
Great post..

your fishing story really very wonderfull. this small fish to see obviously nice.. Huwai beautiful place I have not gone but ugly pictures or very nice videos of places there have many things to offer incredible experience.. I imagine that that honeymoon was fantastic, fishing with a click never crossed my mind, but I imagine it was much easier for you, since fishing is a hobby for you! even though I caught a trucha in a kennel a few years ago, of course it was very easy, there were many, but I share it because it was fun! thanks to sharing for your beautifull history of fishing. very well done..my dear friend.. @brian.rrr

Lol..... monster fish!!!

Seeing your fishing history on Fridays I realize and I tell myself how fast the week went by I feel like it was recently when I read last Friday's story.

Huwai beautiful place I have not gone but ugly pictures or very nice videos of places there have many things to offer incredible experience @brian.rrr

You caught a fish with a paper clip? That's new. And here I was thinking I was a good fisherman. Hope you and your wife enjoyed your honeymoon @brian.rrr

That is an amazing story!!! I love that you caught a fish with a paper clip. I remember as a kid we would catch fish near the Canso Causway in Cape Breton with a stick and a string and a hook with a piece of corn. We would go down to the water with an open can of corn and catch tiny Perch all day.

nice catch :v

what a remarkable positive and vivid post! thank you VPM for such beauty. and successful catch ))))

This is a very tiny fish... It is sad killing such a small one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74