Two One and a Half Pound Omilu (Bluefin Trevally) Yesterday - Kona Hawaii

in #fishing6 years ago

20141109_2+#_papios.jpg

Whipping was very productive yesterday. I was hooking up to a lot of small stuff on a regular basis and threw them all back. When the action is hot and heavy it is so fun, but also tiring. The rush of Adrenalin takes its toll.

After a few hours whipping under the hot sun I was starting to fade. I felt that I was going to pack it in and call it a day then bang a hook up. The fight was brief but as I was bringing the one Omilu in there were 3 or 4 following it in. The Papio tend to swim in schools and the school was following the hooked Omilu in.

I lifted the fish on to the rocks and quickly unhooked it and dropped it into a small pocket. I immediate cast the line out again to where I thought the school moved to then I got another hit as I reeled it in. The same scene played out as the school followed the hooked fish in. Once I landed it I felt that was enough and let the school go on its way.

I packed up the two Omilu and headed home.

Sort:  

Nice little fish

Thanks for the comment. It was great for dinner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77