Fishing Day Today!!! Kokanee Salmon At Stampede Reservoir

in #fishing6 years ago (edited)

There are only two things that can wake me up at 3:30 am with a smile on my face, photography and fishing. Today was a fishing day!

My buddy Blake recently upgraded and bought a new (used) fishing boat. I was stoked to get the invite to go out with him this morning. We went to Stampede Reservoir, just north of Truckee, California where I had recently photographed some wildflowers.

We decided to go for the Kokanee Salmon, which I was happy about because in the 16 years of fishing in the area, I had never caught a Kokanee and supposedly they are delicious. Yay me! I finally caught my first Kokanee today!!!! Kokanee are a landlocked Salmon so they do not get very big, these are about as big as it gets.

20180511_062037edit.jpg

The sunrise this morning was nice but I didn't have time to get out the Canon, fishing comes first on days like today... These photos and video were all shot on my Samsung Galaxy S7.

20180511_055332edit.jpg

It was a bit chilly this morning, 33ºF when I left my house, but when the sun finally came out, it felt great. We caught around 8 or 9 Kokanee total and they seemed to bite better when the sun was lighting things up.

20180511_061521edit.jpg

Here's a short video of Blake landing a Kokanee. (I know, youtube... The video was a short clip and it just didn't seem right for dtube.)


We did have a little bit of sun in the morning but the clouds rolled in and brought the wind with it. Waves with white-caps started forming so we called it a day. Here's Blake's new boat. It's a 20 foot Thunder Jet and it was super nice to fish from. Very roomy, tons of rod holders, two electric downriggers, and a nice fish finder. Bravo Blake! Way to step up your fishing game, and thank you for the invite!!!

20180511_091831edit.jpg

Now I'm looking forward to tonight's dinner. I can't wait to taste this illusive and delicious fish!

Update/Edit:

I forgot my son is going to a movie tonight with some friends so I cooked the fish for lunch instead. A little olive oil, salt, pepper, and some cilantro and lemon slices in the belly.

20180511_131723.jpg

20180511_133009.jpg

@enak approved!!! My wife @athompsoncpa even tried a little and she hardly ever eats lake fish. I thought it was indeed delicious and I will now be fishing for Kokanee more often...



Thank you for looking, watching, and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

Sort:  

@scottshots I've been waiting to see a great post like this. How is it in Tahoe this time of year?

Shhhh, don't tell anyone but, dude, life is good this time of year. It's "shoulder season" aka "locals season" up here still. Still a little chilly in the mornings and evenings but the sun is usually out during the day and it's t-shit and shorts weather. Tourists will be here in masses soon but only a few for now so hardly any boats on the lakes and the road traffic is smooth sailing. The meadows are greening up and the early blooming flowers are out and about. In other words, Tahoe is paradise this time of year. Be sure to let me know if you make it up here for a visit, steemit meet up... :)

Ahhh this post made me dream of summer! @raised2b and I have had some pretty early morning fishing trips too. It’s hard to get out of bed that early (for me anyway) but I love being out in the water when it is glassy and calm... and then watching the sunrise from the boat. 😊

Awesome that you caught so much Kokanee! It looks delicious!

Watching the sunrise from a boat is definitely worth the early alarm clock! That's awesome that you guys get out fishing too. I'm curious what you and @raised2b usually fish for... Summer is just about here, but hey, even fishing in a snow storm can be fun as long as your dressed for it. It's was a great day for catching Kokanee and it made up for all the fails I've had in the past going for them. Blake took one look at my Kokanee rig and said nope, I've been using the wrong color... That dude knows how to fish! Best tasting type of fish up here for sure.

We usually fish for trout!! Rainbow or cutbow usually. It just depends what lake we are on. Some of the lakes closer to town have Kokanee - but when we get more into the backcountry, we tend to be at lakes that only have trout.

My favorite place to fish is the Ross Lake/Diablo lake area in the North Cascades. Google it! Your photographer heart will melt. Such a beautiful place. 😊

Wow, that water color of the lake(s) is insane! Definitely a place I'd love to shoot and fish at. Until Friday, Rainbow's were my favorite to fish for as I thought they were the tastiest in the area, but nope, Kokanee's are #1 now. We get the cutbows around here too and even some real cut throught as well. Mackinaw are the most fun to fish for in Lake Tahoe as they can get huge, they're just a bit oily and not quite as tasty as the others. Here's a 21 pound Mackinaw a couple buddies and I caught:

IMG_20160405_165627866_HDR.jpg

fishing trips are very fun like it, visible happiness of the video that I see

Yeah they are!!! It was a very fun morning.

whether the results of fishing so menu at home?
if we in indonesia the result of fishing so eat menu

These fish will indeed be eaten soon!

good luck to enjoy its delicious cuisine

I ended up eating it for lunch, it was great!!! (post updated)

Congrats! To bad I'll be out of the house for dinner, but I'm glad you had fun.

What!?!? That's right... I brought one home for you, maybe we'll do lunch instead...

Thank you @doitvoluntarily! Yes, that was a perfect view. Always a good day when seeing something like that.

The view of the lake :O This is the first time to hear of this Salmon. It doesn't even look like a salmon. Thanks for sharing your trip!

No problem @bluefoxy! Yeah, they're tiny compared to ocean salmon. Supposedly long ago they swam upstream and a landslide prevented them from going back to the sea. Over years of evolution, they shrunk. But they still taste great!!!

Good job friends, a have nice day

Thank you @gaul. Have a nice day too!

Hi, @scottshots! I have just seen the post made by @claudiaz and the promotion it does to you “In the Spotlight”. Brilliant photos!!!
I am a person who loves nature and I admire the beauty around us. As a novice in photography, I always admire to the fullest, photographers who are as talented as you are.
My father was also keen on fishing, too. I remember when I was a kid, as every weekend he went to the river that flows alongside my native village, and he only returned in the morning. Most of the time with a bag full of fish. I was very happy, because I love eat fish.
See you around!

It looks like the comment I made a couple days ago didn't actually post, sorry about that.

Thank you! Glad you saw the "in the spotlight". Your father sounds like a great man, providing food for the family is a lot of fun. Cheers!

great photos. Even though I don't eat seafood Your photos as all ways makes me feel I was there.

Thank you @davidwardlow! You'd be in luck, these fish are from a lake, not the sea... Haha!

Fresh catch of the day straight to the dinner table. This is living life the fish you are holding caught my attention. Cheers!

The fish caught my attention too, right when that fishing rod started bouncing, haha! Swimming about 2 hours before eating, so fresh and yummy.

I could just imagine the enjoyment you had. I have a fishing rod that we bought last December which I never got to use. Hope I could go fishing one of these days and take photos while at it lol.

Dude! Your @name is watersnake, watersnakes eat fish. Get on it, hahahaha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11