Resetting targets ten thousand times over

in #fitat405 years ago (edited)


Fit@40 #126

(5 Dec 2018)

Alternative Youtube link

Today's thought

Press reset



Sometimes you have to reset your targets. The end goal stays the same, however along the way it is always healthy to reset targets.

I'm the kind of person that likes to hit small goals every day. Even something as simple as this blog. To set aside a few minutes every morning, while the house is sleeping to reflect on my previous days workout and activities feels like a small victory.

Level up activity

Another daily goal I decided to set myself is to hit 10k steps daily. Over the last few days I signed up to @actifit and started using a fitbit. I've found it has been a great way to level up the monitoring of my activity. It has also shown me that the amount of steps I've taken per day has been half of where it should be (around 5k). I want to up that to 10k steps.

Double up

In practice this means more steady-state cardio. I'm finding ways to incorporate that into my daily routine now. Walking can be tedious. Particularly on a treadmill. That's why I'm doubling up my walking with another goal. Consuming more audiobooks.

Refocus the mind



I currently spend a lot of time in front of an LED screen of some description, be it a computer, a phone, a TV or now even a Fitbit watch! If I'm not doing that I'm dealing with the hectic pace of a busy family routine. Currently this is only punctured by the strains of working out.

Don't get me wrong, I love the way life is. However finding a couple of hours solitude, listening to an audiobook and walking is a perfect way to refocus the mind.

Privileged opportunity



Yesterday I listened to Black Privilege: Opportunity Comes to Those Who Create It, by 'shock jock' radio DJ, Charlamagne Tha God. It was recommended to me a few weeks ago so I downloaded but never got around to listening to it.

On the surface, before reading the book, Charlamagne Tha God comes across as a character that says anything for shock value. However reading the book was an opportunity to get an insight into his way of thinking and modus operandi.

The book is by-in-large auto-biographical. With an insight into how a delinquent kid from South Carolina when on to become one of Hip Hop's most well known Radio Personalities.

The Black Privilege title is a play on the 'White Privilege' strapline that has creeped into the modern vernacular. Charlamagne's point is that everyone has a privilege, you have to learn to make the most of it. He is also an example of how you can use contrarian thinking to get ahead.

Charlamagne narrates himself so you really get a good feel for his message. All in all it was an enjoyable listen.

Next up Audiobook:



Let me know in the comments if you have any audiobooks you'd recommend I listen to/ review

Today's stats

DateWeightCalWorkoutProtein (g)Carbs (g)Fats (g)
WedDecember5219.32,435120' Cardio session12323491

Today's workout

Warmup:

Walk

20 minutes

Treadmill, uphill walk

40 minutes



Cycle machine

40 minute



Cool down:

Walk

20 minutes


fitat40-large.png

Follow my blog:

@nanzo-scoop on the Steem blockchain, pick your interface: e.g.
https://steemit.com/@nanzo-scoop
https://steempeak.com/@nanzo-scoop
https://busy.org/@nanzo-scoop
https://d.tube/

Support my Patreon:

Do you like my content or would you like to earn cryptocurrency rewards?
Join my Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/nanzoscoop


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I just love the way that you shoot your fitness video “The Fast forward”. I hope you will achieve your fitness goal

Cool to set target of this kind, what is experience of using Actifit with your Fitbit watch?

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11