The crazy has continued, and I've been enjoying it!

in #fitnation6 years ago

Nearly a week after signing up to do a 25 km challenge and I'm well on track for completing more than my minimum. (last post here)

I've done 3 walks since my last posting, all of them being over 2 km, with today's nearly being 3 km of wandering.

So Friday I needed to get a couple of things from the local shops, so I walked around the block on the way there. It's not just a single block, but more like 4 or 5 blocks by 2-4 blocks (Red path in map below). In any case, it totaled 2.3 km and I got home with bread, apple sauce, and chips (they weren't on the list). I had some cold roast pork to put into sandwiches, which obviously needed apple sauce too. They were delicious toasted.

2018-05-11 11.27.16.jpg
It's a lovely day out, but see that trolley down near the tree?

2018-05-11 11.27.26.jpg
This is what the footpath is like between where it vanishes above, and the trolley (also in this shot)

On Saturday I discovered that I didn't have any more of one of my medications, so I walked to the Chemist, and then around a slightly larger block of blocks than the day before, going one street further from the main highway, and avoiding the footpath stairs. I also discovered that the local council has been busy in the last few months, and even more of the uneven footpaths have been replaced with fresh concrete paths (Orange path on map below). That extra block didn't add much though, with the walk being 2.4 km, and I only had medication with me when I got home so no yummy snacks!

After a couple of days with poor weather, today I got out for a walk again, the main purpose was to walk, but I was also playing 'Our World', a walking dead themed game with locations based in the real world, so you have to walk around to collect your weaponry and fight zombies. It's been fun, though doesn't really require much walking compared to Pokemon Go, as there are so many sites. The wander around the block this time was expanded to be 2.9 km by going all the way around the smaller block bounded by main roads, and a bit of the larger block before cutting back in to where I live. (Green path on map below)

2018-05-11 11.56.32.png
My 'full block; or 'larger block' walk goes around the 2 parks, instead of the strip of blocks on the northern section of the green loop.

This brings my current total up to 11.8 km out of 25 km with 16 days remaining (well, 15 since I've waked today already) At my current rate, I should easily make 25 km, and am expecting to be closer to 35-40 km by the end of the month. Assuming I can keep up the regular walks.

If I get use of the bike, 50 km should be easy though, which I considered way outside possibilities before starting.

Sort:  

11.8 km is really so far.... good fitness.best wishes for you, i hope you will reach 25 km easily..

Yeah, I'm quite happy with it so far.

It's easy to rack up the Km's walking to the shops, and walking around a shopping centre. But it all adds up. I used to walk about 7kms a day on a local 'fitness loop' (1 km running track).

You will find that as you get fitter that you won't think about the walking as much. Listening to podcasts is also beneficial at this time.

I keep thinking about putting some of my podcasts onto my phone for just this purpose, but currently I've got music, which gives me a beat to walk to. I've never been much of a fan of just walking a loop like that repeatedly, but I can incorporate them into my walk if they exist near me. I much rather out and back, or large blocks, although if I'm pushing some distance, or the weather looks a bit iffy, I'll do laps of near home so I can stop at any point.

I do like to go places to do my walks too, but haven't really done that much because of the parking and travel costs, but I hope to in the future.

While I do count distance to/from the shops, I don't count walking around inside them either.

The step counter on my phone does it automatically. But you'd be surprised at how much generic walking we do without thinking about it.

Pretty sure mine does an estimation on the distance, but given the accuracy of the step counter, and then not knowing how they estimate the distance, it's quite inaccurate. We do however do a lot of incidental walking when just getting up to get a drink a few times a day, and getting some food, and going to the bathroom. And that's before we even leave the house!

Yay! Hit the 25 first then shoot for the 50 :D So have you beaten me in PoGo yet? Shouldn't be too hard to do as I've been so out of everything x_x

goatsig

I have no idea where I finished up with PoGo. I've uninstalled as it no longer works on my phone and I'm not going to update just to play it.

While the weather holds, I hope to get 2+ km each day done, though tomorrow I might not depending on how long hospital appointment takes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76