My Top Five Favorite Movies About RunningsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fitnation6 years ago (edited)

36430456462_1cabb57ef8_z.jpg
Running in Samoa in 2016

A little while ago I posted about the top five books about running that changed my life, so I thought it would be interesting to get my top five movies about running. There is a mixed back in the list below, so I would be interested to hear your thoughts.

So in no specific order, here they are:

rfbr.jpg
Image Source IMDB

1. Run, Fatboy, Run


Link: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0425413/
Run the race, win the girl back. That's kinda how this story goes. Dennis, played by Simon Pegg, is out of shape and struggling to keep in touch with his child and ex girlfriend after she decides to move to the USA with her new boyfriend.

Why I Love It
This shows the story of someone who absolutely hates running or exercise, to transform into someone who almost enjoys running. Without giving the ending away, he even has a turn at leading the early stages of the London Marathon.

2. The Barkley Marathons: The Race That Eats Its Young


Link: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2400291/
This movie documentary follows one of the recent runnings of the Barkley Marathon, and gives you the history behind how the race was created and why it has such an infamous reputation.

Why I Love It
This race looks terrible, participants struggle to make it even half way through the race and you won't understand how people have been able to even enter the race. Having said that, you may be tempted to run it, or at least take on an ultra marathon some time soon.

gallip.jpg
Image Source IMDB

3. Gallipoli


Link: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0082432/
Not sure if this movie was at all famous out of Australia and New Zealand but is one of Mel Gibson's first movie before he went a little crazy. It tells the story of two young men, originally running the "Stawell Gift", Australia's greatest sprinting running races, it follows them as they face the brutal realities of war when they are sent to fight in the Gallipoli campaign in Turkey during World War I.

Why I Love It
It's great Australian Cinema, but even it you only have time to watch the opening scenes which has the following first lines:
Jack: What are your legs?
Archy Hamilton: Springs. Steel springs.
Jack: What are they going to do?
Archy Hamilton: Hurl me down the track.
Jack: How fast can you run?
Archy Hamilton: As fast as a leopard.
Jack: How fast are you going to run?
Archy Hamilton: As fast as a leopard!
Jack: Then let's see you do it!

4. Chariots of Fire


Link: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0082158/
Chariots of Fire tells the story of two British track athletes, one a determined Jew, and the other a devout Christian, in their quest to compete at the 1924 Olympics.

Why I Love It
It's a great movie in its own right, without the fact that it is about running and the Olympics. And if you haven't dreamed of running on the beach to the theme song of this movie, you haven't lived.

ft.jpg
Image Source IMDB

5. Finding Traction


Link: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt3956712/
Finding Traction is documentary following ultra runner Nikki Kimball as she attempts to become the fastest person in history to run America's oldest hiking trail as she tries to take on the 273 mile trail in under 5 days.

Why I Love It
A few reasons, it's a great insight into ultra running, seeing exactly what she goes through to run the trail, including her eating and rest stops. After a few days with no real sleep, is where the drama really start as Nikki fights to stay on track. It also gives a good insight into how she uses running to deal with her depression.

My latest updated to the @runningproject is all about the "The Jack Daniels Running Formula and Training for a 10km Run", so feel free to look it up below:
https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/using-jack-daniels-run-formula-for-your-next-10k-for-runningproject-week-1

If you have found this post useful or interesting, please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following and/or Resteeming @run.vince.run

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

I have not heard anything about on movies on running thanks for sharing this information to us @run.vince.run
Regards
@maujmasti

Great tips @run.vince.run

Hace you seen the movie Without Limits? https://m.imdb.com/title/tt0119934/

Its about the life of Steve Prefontain.

Oh thats interesting, I will have to watch it. He died so young but there are so many movies about his life. I think I will need to watch it and find out more.
Regards @run.vince.run

When I went to high school I had two role models in running. Emile Zatopek and Steve Prefontain. Two very different runners

Run when you can, walk if you have to, crawl if you must; just never give up.
Dean Karnazes

*Resteemed by @runningproject

I heard about the movie on the Barkley Marathons but I never watched it. However, I recently watched the movie/documentary "Where dreams go to die: Gary Robbins and the Barkley Marathons" made by the Youtuber "The Ginger Runner". And it's a really great movie, you should watch it.

Nice one, thanks for that, I will have to watch it some time soon.
Regards @run.vince.run

Thank you so much for sharing this! I will watch the 4 I haven't yet. I only watched the Chariots of Fire and even that was a long time ago... so really happy that you reminded me to get some extra motivation fro running from movies! Keep on running and writing these excellent posts about running!

Thanks for the kind words.
Regards @run.vince.run

Thanks for the suggestions, I had only heard of two of those

How about Without limits based on Steve Prefontaine's life. In fact there are two movies based on his life.

Without Limits
Prefontaine

Thank you so much for this post! I'll keep in mind

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87