Healthy Recipe - The Craving-Killing Salty Salad

in #fitness6 years ago

Guys. I love salty things - perhaps OVERLY salty sometimes, but that’s just me! Chips, crackers, salami... Whatever it is, chances are I like it.

Did you notice that I’ve mentioned things that aren’t necessarily considered “health” foods? They're all fine in moderation, sure - but I’ve been working on sticking as closely to certain foods as I can (whole, fresh, unprocessed) during the last couple of weeks before my vacation so I can feel refreshed and lean while I’m away.

Is anyone out there like me who might crave treats MORE when they’re trying to let them go for awhile? I’d bet good money that you’re out there, so I wanted to share one of my favorite recipes with you when I’m wishing for a salty snack that I don’t feel like I have room for in my diet that day.

Side note - I know I’ve mentioned this before, but when I’m trying to find a healthier substitute for something I’m craving, I think about the things that make it so tasty and then I try to figure out how to replicate that with healthier options.

When I crave chips or crackers for example, I like that they’re salty and crunchy - this salad I invented hits those marks and then some! I'll share the recipe with you below so that you can enjoy it in the place of processed snacks, too :)

I made this when I was really wishing I could crush a box of crackers or a big bag of chips, but I didn't want to cave in and sabotage my day. I took crunchy veggies and paired them with salty, low-calorie add-ons to achieve a similar effect! The protein from the chicken as well as the fiber and volume from the veggies knocked my hunger and desire for macro-unfriendly snacks right out!

Here’s what I used to make this tasty salad:

  • Shredded romaine lettuce

  • Shredded kale

  • Grilled chicken

  • Lots of Persian cucumbers

  • Orange bell pepper

  • Fat-free feta cheese

  • Capers (packed in brine)

  • A couple of Kalamata olives (packed in brine)

  • Light vinaigrette

I mixed all of these crunchy, salty ingredients together for a satisfying and guilt-free meal - pretty big win, for me! I didn't include amounts so that you can decide on your own proportions of ingredients to suit your taste, and make this recipe your own :)

Warning - this is a VERY salty meal! If you have some reason that you’re trying to avoid lots of salt in your diet, or don't care for salt quite as much as I do, feel free to omit one or more of the salty additions to take it down a notch.

For me though, I say bring it on!

Let me know if you make this, or if it works as well for you as it does for me to destroy your cravings and keep you on track!

And make sure to follow it up with lots of water - always a good call!

Please feel free to comment, upvote, or resteem if you’d like :)

My Post (3).jpg

Sort:  

good alternative. I like my salads a little bit spicy so i add some green chili peppers to it.

Oooooo, that sounds delicious! Great idea!

it is 😉. if you like it spicy

This will help me a lot since I run away from you lol. Am back now as I can see you are still doing the good work as always keep it up dear...

Hahaha! Awww, thanks so much! Glad to have you back! :)

Salad always special menu for our everyday dinning table and it take care our fitness of our health. Salad also help to digest our food smoothly. Thanks for your nice post.

Oh good! You're totally right - healthy in many ways! Thanks so much for reading and commenting - I'm glad you enjoyed it!

The salads are very delicious, apart it is very good for dieters.

They really are great for those trying to watch their waistlines!

Thanks for the recipe, I love capers 😍 I guess it is not very healthy to eat much salt, but if you are really craving for it 😄

You're so welcome! I love capers too :D and I don't think salt really deserves the bad reputation it's gotten over the years, so hopefully we'll continue to learn more about what amounts of it are actually ok to have in our diets :) cheers, friend!

Yes, would be interesting if the nutrition scientists could agree on what amounts of salt are healthy 😄

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72