Transformational Tuesday 🍑- Two Months Lifting Heavy Weights

in #fitness5 years ago

IMG_1257.jpg

Hi Friends,

I’m at about the two month mark of my latest fitness experiment – weight lifting – and I’ve been pretty blown away by the results. I’ve always done a lot of cardio (check out @shinebright to keep up with my actifit account) – but I recently decided to start lifting to see how that would work for me.

Speaking of @actifit – I was recently interviewed by their founder @mcfarhat. You can check out the replay HERE.

actifitinterview.png



Getting Started is Intimidating


I felt intimidated by the idea of starting to lift because I was worried I’d end up injuring myself, pulling muscles, or just looking stupid around a bunch of experienced lifters at the gym. Let’s be honest – the power rack kind of feels like the “dude’s” part of the gym – loud grunts and massive weights hitting the ground included.

I had some training sessions in the beginning to make sure my form looked good and then started SUPER slow and have just been gradually adding weight as I go. I’m now up to squatting 75 pounds – which might not sound impressive, but it’s something I’m proud of. When I first started… I could barely hold the 45 pound bar and do a couple squats – let alone adding weight with confidence and going through 5 full sets. I’ve also added bench press, barbell row, deadlifts and overhead press into the mix.



How do they get that booty?


I’ve enjoyed seeing more arm definition creep in from these exercise’s – but squats have really been my favorite. I used to see people with these super sexy, toned asses and wonder how they got them. Seems silly that it never occurred to me that I had a lot more power over that than I thought – all it would take was a little work and some heavy weights. It just didn’t occur to me that I could do anything about it.

I’ve enjoyed the shift from cardio to weights for other reasons as well. Cardio is so just damn time consuming! Although I still go running sometimes – I don’t feel the pressure to get a lot of cardio in every day. I just lift 3 times a week, and then try to go for a walk every day. It’s pretty simple and works into my lifestyle way better. I can hit the gym 3 times and then not have to feel guilty the rest of the week if I don’t do more.



Women and Weights


IMG_0853.jpg

The fairly quick transformation I’ve seen kind of makes me wonder why more women don’t lift. Obviously there are tons and tons that do – but it does seem to be more skewed male. Perhaps other women (like me) felt intimidated to get started, or worried they would start looking “bulky”. You know what I’m talking about – the women that do those bikini contests that look like they could seriously kick your ass. Of course those women are beautiful, but that’s not the look I’m going for. I just want to get a little more toned!

So far what I’ve found is that weight lifting can be a really great tool to change your body – and it would take a long, long time before I would ever have to worry about looking bulky or masculine. In fact, I bet most women would have to intentionally eat a crazy amount of protein and train for that specific look before they could achieve it. A woman eating a normal diet and exercising a moderate amount likely wouldn’t have to worry about it.



Cheers to Health


I wish I had taken more “before” photos to compare as I continue down this journey – but I’m definitely starting to take them now. I found the photo on the left on my phone from the 4th of July last year and realized I had a more recent photo in the same shorts from Austin. Love finding coincidental before and after’s.

That would actually be one piece of advice that I’d give to anyone that is starting a new exercise regimen or food plan. Having before pictures to compare can be so motivating and exciting! Even if you never share them and they are only for you to look at – it’s such a satisfying feeling to see progress.

I hope you all have a healthy and happy day!

XO,Lea

Sort:  

Wait.... are those the exact same shorts? That's amazing Lea!

I've had so many fights with girls that are convinced they'll look like He-Man the second they touch a weight... and it's so not true. Firstly, it's really hard for anyone; male or female to look super muscley, it doesn't happen by accident, but most importantly, it's incredibly hard for girls to get super muscley, even if they wanted to, because of the lack of testosterone in their bodies.

Lifting for women is the most efficient way of losing weight, and getting toned. It's amazing and so much quicker than cardio.

Totally agree on the before photos... you just have no idea how far you've come because you look at yourself every day... you either have to take before photos, or continually bump into long lost friends to get any sense of progress.

Let's get more girls into squat racks - hopefully we'll be able to stamp out all the unnecessary weight dropping!! Which, by the way, is ridiculous... some of the best gains to be had are in the lowering phase of the movement.

I bet most women would have to intentionally eat a crazy amount of protein and train for that specific look before they could achieve it.

KACHING

That's it.

weight lifting really does empathize the NATURAL muscles of a body, including women...

...unless someone goes into overdrive on it

Wow. They look like smaller shorts LOL. That's quite an impressive transformation. 💪

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I debate this with my wife all the time! Will definitely show her this as she has been blessed with great genes but is always frustrated about the looks and thinks that cardio will solve it all!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s how you do it, always lift heavy! 😬... I think I lost to much weight this year to 155 lbs haha but stronger than ever 🤷🏼‍♂️😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Nice glasses!!

Great improvement for sure. I transitioned to weights at the recommendation of a trainer friend a few years ago... mostly because I really hate cardio and weights give faster, more immediately noticeable results.

I feel as though your article is a tutorial of sorts and could be really helpful to other people, particularly women. I hope you carry on and yeah, lets see some before / after pics in the next one !

Amazing progress cate! Keep pushing your limits!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11