Borrowed a 7,000 Euro bicycle

in #fitness5 years ago

When I moved to Chiang Mai in February, I decided to make a life change. I was going to drink less and exercise more. One way that I was able to make this happen was to have a bicycle be my only method of transport and here i am 5 months later and I still ride my bicycle everywhere.

66796110_504195253455820_3132707342785708032_n.jpg

This is not the 7,000 Euro bicycle by the way. This is the bike I bought for me. It was around 175 Euros and it is made of steel or lead or moon rocks... i dunno, but it is heavy AF. I have never weighed it but it is without question the heaviest bicycle I have ever had in my life. I would like to believe that the materials used in its creation equate to it lasting longer or being more durable. We'll see.

I was cruising up to my favorite local pub when I saw something considerably more exotic parked at the entrance.

httpcervelo.vwclients.netbikes0e0p5xdi1c__11715.1539718181.jpg
source

Now this is not a photo of the exact bike my friend has but it is the same model. It is a Cervelo P5X Ultegra and it looks completely absurd. However, there are some really special aspects about this thing and he let me borrow it for an hour before I sat down in the bar.

I'm not one to spend this sort of money on a bicycle (or a car) but man oh man what a difference this thing made to my speed. You see, I am accustomed to riding a tank around town - I don't know how much it weighs but I would imagine somewhere in the neighborhood of 40 kilograms or something like that. Whatever! I dunno but it is heavy.

The Cervelo P5X Ultegra tips the scales at under 7kg. My Shih-Tzu weighs that much.

I could easily pick this thing up with one finger whereas I have to use both hands and "put my back into it!" when picking up the bicycle I own.

The bike also had a digital speedometer on it and it bases your speed on tire rotations rather than GPS so it is significantly more accurate. I comfortably maintained a speed of 30KM / hour on this thing. I struggle to get above 20 on my beast machine.


source

Now I am NEVER going to spend this sort of money on a bicycle regardless of how much money I end up having in life, but I gotta say the obvious and state that it really does make a massive difference what your bike is made of in regards to performance. I like the idea of competing in a triathlon at some point in my life so perhaps I am actually getting better training in by riding a really heavy bike in the meantime.

For now, if i see anyone on a bike that costs more than most people's cars, I think you are kind of a dummy for paying that much :P

Sort:  

Some people have the resources to make such purchases. Personally, I think like you, however, some people might seek the advantages that you have listed and give them more value than a car

i can't really imagine anything that i consider to be important enough in my life to spend that much money on but i suppose if someone has millions 7,000 isn't really that much to let go of.

That Bicycle is fantastic, I understand You feel a waste of money to buy such expensive thing, but like many people have love and hobby for such thing and are good at their pockets so are willing to pay for it. In India we say "shauk baddi cheez hai"!
Anyeays, keep cycling it will keep you healthy.

I think if you don't compete in actual races, having a bike like this is quite superfluous.

I don't care how good it is, 7000 Euros on a bike is absurd.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Oh.... I thought that price included an engine. :)

You are very good! You could stick to your bicycle for months in Chiengmai!

This must have made you very fit and healthy! I wish I could be so persistent!
Life is changing positively for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94