The Importance of Dietary Fiber and How to Get More - Keto Cut Day 18

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

Dietary fiber is often overlooked by many people whether they're pursuing a diet or just eating like an average Joe. I recently read some research on dietary fiber that showed positive support for reducing the risks of heart disease, diabetes, and obesity.

Fiber has also been linked to positive activity in the gut microbiome and can also help with bad cholesterol. It's also great for bowel activity - just make sure you stay hydrated by drinking a lot of water!!

How Much Fiber Do You Need Daily?

I found these recommended fiber intakes for men and women (sometimes I get a lot more than the recommended amount just because of the volume of certain vegetables that I eat, coupled with the low-carb tortillas I buy, which have ridiculously high fiber):

  • Men under 50 should shoot for a minimum of 38g of fiber per day
  • Men over 50 should shoot for a minimum of 30g of fiber per day
  • Women under 50 should shoot for a minimum of 25g of fiber per day
  • Women over 50 should shoot for a minimum of 21g of fiber per day

My Favorite Sources of Fiber

A typical eater (one who eats a balanced diet including carbs) can easily get fiber from fruits and high-fiber cereals, but what are some good sources of fiber for a Keto dieter who can't eat these foods?

Here are my favorites while on a Ketogenic Diet:

  • Vegetables (especially broccoli and bamboo shoots)
  • Beans
  • High-Fiber, Low Carb Protein Bars
  • High-Fiber, Low Carb Tortillas (You can often find these tortillas at big grocery stores - the ones I get have 17g of fiber and 22g of total carbs - making a net carb count of 5g)

Day 18 Log:

Weigh-In:

Start Weight (lbs)Goal Weight (lbs)Weight Lost (lbs)
1981739
Today's Weight (lbs)Fat Mass (%)Body Mass BMI
18922.322.5

Workout:

Pull Day (Back/Bi)

MovementWeight lbs# Reps# Sets
Single-Arm Lat Pull Down7012-154
Low Row16012-154
Penalty Row1858-104
Hoist Cable Curl Machine7012-154
Reverse EZ Curl4512-154
Rear Delt Fly9512-154
Lat Pull Down1408-124
Alternating DB Curls408-124

What I Ate Today:

MealFood
0Coffee 2 TBSP Half & Half, 1 TBSP MCT Oil
14 Eggs, 6 oz Corned Beef, 2 oz Cheese
210oz Steak and Broccoli with Butter
38 oz Chicken with Cauliflower Rice and Broccoli with Butter
41 Protein Bar, 1 Serving of Nuts, 1 Low-Carb Tortilla

Here's the Question of The Day, don't forget to post your answers in the comments!

QOTD: How much fiber do you usually eat in a day? Are you hitting the recommended limits? What foods do you think you might add to your diet to hit the recommended amounts?

Thanks for reading! Don't forget to leave your thoughts below and I look forward to seeing you in the comments!

-

Sort:  

Quite informative buddy ..soon i am gonna male it to the market and get the list of vegetables you mentioned above...guess it would help me get healthier...
Thanks mate ...i didn't knew it

Thanks for reading! I'm glad to hear it, fiber is a key component to good health!!!

thats very good im following u to the end then i will try to begin from the first . good job my friend

Thanks!! The transformation will be great in the end!

I'm excited for the end

Me too!! It will be fantastic to see how this all turns out and to see the reactions from all of you!

I am actually vegetarian. And veges have loads of fiber. It might be right to suggest i eat 100% fiber lol! I hope that has no long term effects.

lol that's hilarious! Yeah vegetarians are definitely not lacking in the fiber department! I'm no vegetarian, but I love my veggies and get plenty of them as well!! keep up the good work!! And as long as you're drinking a lot of water with all that fiber, I don't think it will have any long-term downsides!

Hahahahahah.....and water? Wont' drinking a lot of it now bring its own downsides? Huh, never mind just kidding.

But wait., if i may wonder, now that you speak of water. Are there negative effects associated with drinking a lot of water?

I mean, is there any such health problem to do with 'drinking too much water'? as there is for not drinking it at all?

Haha, good one!!

There is a certain point when you can actually "drown" your body with too much water. I'd have to do some research to know anything scientific about this, but I would imagine that it'd be pretty hard to drink too much water!! You'd likely get sick before you hit the threshold!

Like when the body self-conditions what and when, whatever you take in, is enough. It must be. I agree.

Yes, you are right because I heard a doctor telling me that thank you for helping people with such responsible posts. @monowar

Thanks for reading, did you get a chance to think about the QOTD?

Wonderful photography, good food good health, very nice post

Dietary fiber seems important. How much do you need if you are under 18?

It's really really important!! I'm not sure if you're under 18, I would imagine that minors still fall under this category for males:

Men under 50 should shoot for a minimum of 38g of fiber per day

I often notice that many adults do not respond to advice,
Because of their excessive appetite to eat foods that love them at the expense of the health system,
Which urges the need to eat 18 grams of dietary fiber a day,
Equal to the amount of two slices of toast and a cup of orange juice at breakfast, And a handful of raisins, as a snack,
And a portion of peas and carrots with dinner, apple and banana for sweetening.
Thanks for sharing this vital subject...

It's much more than 18g of fiber a day!! Men under 50 should be getting over 38g a day!! What'd you think of the QOTD?

To my opinion, we should know our BMR first. It will guide us how much calories we need everyday. However, this is a nice informative and helpful post. We should take dietary fiber everyday. Thanks.

Yes, our metabolic rates are really important to know before beginning a diet!! Do you typically get your recommended daily intake of fiber?

We need to go after the fast food industry. People should be able to get cheap full meals, instead of only pizza, burgers, and fries. Busy people who don't have time to prepares meals, often have a poor diet.

100% agree! We really need to start promoting healthy foods and make them cheaper and more widely accessible. It's a really big issue and it absolutely needs to be addressed! Big corporations prefer us to eat this cheap garbage and the medical industry loves it as well because of all the additional patients and revenues! It's a sad truth in our society!

You are getting there my friend!

No problem on fibre for me. Mostly plant based diet. I do like chips and beer a little too much though.

Thanks! Haha yeah, I'd imagine you're getting plenty of fiber on a plant-based diet!!! I enjoy the occasional nachos and beer as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85