3000 push ups anyone?

in #fitness5 years ago (edited)

I'm doing one of those challenge thingies... go me!


Four days ago I saw some YouTube video about someone saying how they were doing 100 push-ups a day for 30 days. And saying how hard it all was and stuff.

My first thought was 100 push-ups, I can do that. And then I realised that I'm probably at my lowest level of fitness in around 10 years. So maybe 100 push-ups would be a little harder than I really understand.

So, as a bit of a test, I did 100 push-ups to see how hard it is right now. And in 5 sets of 20 reps over a period of about 20 minutes and inter-dispersed with around 250 or 500m sprints on the rowing machine, the push-ups weren't really so hard. I felt good.

I could totally smash that challenge, I thought to myself with a mild level of smugness.

On my first day I used these handle thingies while doing the push-ups:

If you're wondering, I totally look like that dude too

My logic was that the handles would help to protect my wrists without making the push-ups any harder.


Day 2


The next day I woke up and figured I may as well take up the challenge and get those push-ups done every day for the next 29 days. My fitness is rubbish right now so I may as well do something to make consistent improvements every day.

So while at the gym (and avoiding the vacuuming that desperately needed doing) I grabbed my push-up handle thingies and hit the ground for the next 100. I'd already cycled 40km or so that morning so didn't include anything else in the workout. Once again, I did 5 sets of 20 reps. And much to my surprise the last 20 reps were incredibly painful. Interestingly my lats were also insanely sore and felt like they were on fire for the last 10 reps.

Day 2 was already making me feel as if this challenge may not be as straight forward as expected.


Day 3


Day three was yesterday. And I'd spent the day distributing pamphlets for my gym on foot. This meant that I had walked around 15km throughout the day and didn't really feel inspired to do a workout. So, while at home watching a bad movie on TV , I jumped on the floor and pumped out 100 push-ups without my handle thingies.

And this is where I learned a little lesson. The handle thingies actually make the push-ups much harder. After my 5th set of 20 reps my chest and lats didn't feel like they'd done a lot of work. So I pumped out another 20 reps for good measure, and that's where I felt the muscle burn a lot more.


Day 4


Day 4 is today, and I'll be at the gym in a few hours so will jump back on the handle thingies again since they make the push-ups more challenging. There's no point making this thing easy right?

Weirdly, I'm actually enjoying this challenge. My chest and lats are constantly feeling like they've been doing work which is nice and I'm excited to see how many reps I can pump out without a rest after the 30 days is up.

I don't expect to see massive changes in my physique after the 30 days but I hope to have lost some weight over this time. And then I suppose I'll jump on some other popular YouTube fitness challenge for the following 30 days.

Or maybe I'll just jump on my bike every day now that the weather isn't consistently rubbish.


Sort:  

Hi @mazzle!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.264 which ranks you at #2637 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 74 places in the last three days (old rank 2711).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 288 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Sounds like a nice challenge - I might give it a go when I get back from steemfest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Have fun over there. :)

That sounds haaaaaaaaaard, but I never had good upper body strength even when I was reasonably fit, apparently it's just not a thing I can do XD

Hope it gets easier rather than harder as you go :D

You can build upper body strength in time. It just takes consistent work.

My wrist already hurt n

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm up to 100/day right now. Too out of shape.

I love reading about exercise. My brain feels like I did something productive and I didn’t even have to stop scratching my nuts.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Here to help :P

I can't do pushups at all or situps. I do need to get myself back to the gym. Kudos for challenging yourself.

Thanks :)

Just start with push ups in your knees and go from there.

Great idea to keep fit. Now while the weather allows, I try to spend more time in the street with work out and instead of push-ups I use pull-ups. But at the same time I increase with each approach according to the so-called staircase method, sofor 10 approaches, if you start with 1, you can do 50 pull-ups and so on in the progressive progression.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great idea to keep fit. Now while the weather allows, I try to spend more time in the street with work out and instead of push-ups I use pull-ups. But at the same time I increase with each approach according to the so-called staircase method, sofor 10 approaches, if you start with 1, you can do 50 pull-ups and so on in the progressive progression.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think pull ups will be the next 30 day thing that I do. :)

Congratulations @mazzle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71