🐷First day of taking Steemit Outdoors! Exercising While Working 🐷

in #fitness6 years ago


Killing three birds with one stone!


I realised that I was missing an excellent opportunity for exercise as part of my work this week. I normally pay someone to drop leaflets in letter boxes. They walk the streets around my gym for a couple of hours and then their work is done. It's easy money, and a very simple job.

It dawned on me that I could do this job. And it would benefit me in three ways:

  • I'd be getting out of the office and doing some exercise during my work day
  • I'd be saving money
  • and I'd be growing my business

Source

It's literally a WIN WIN WIN. I don't know why I didn't think of this earlier.

So today I hit the streets during my work day and got an hour and a half of exercise in. I delivered approximately 300 leaflets in this time and got some afternoon sunshine. I was even able to listen to a few episodes of my favourite podcasts. It was brilliant.

If you're an office worker there are plenty of ways that you can incorporate exercise into your work day as well, however you might not be able to dedicate as much time to it as I can. You have a few options available:

  • Getting outdoors for a walk at lunch time
  • Doing that thing people always say to do where you walk up stairs instead of taking the lift
  • Walking to people's office instead of picking up the phone
  • And I'm sure you know more things you could do given that I'm not an office worker.

The point is, finding ways to get active during the work day is important for your health. Our bodies are not designed to sit for extended periods of time. We're designed to move and move a lot. Finding ways to move is critical for long term health.

How can you move more during your work day? Tell me in the comments.


My Steemit profile is: https://steemit.com/@mazzle


Looking for Steemit and DTube Merch? Check out Steemit Shop Australia



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

integrating what we should do into everyday life! keep it up!

Thanks :)

We used to do letter box drops for out gym but found we didn't get a lot of return on the time. What do you think?

I get good results. It often comes down to the offer that you have on the flyer. A good offer with good graphics gets good results.

Good job! What kind of business do you have?

A gym lol. :P

Wow! You better get in shape! lol

Damn right :D

I'm an office worker and people would yell at me if I would just walk into their office without scheduling an appointment.
Oh, you forgot to mention sex! Burns a lot of calories and keep the level of serotonin high ;)

I've worked in an environment like that as well. After a while people just got used to me walking in to their office, it was easy enough to pick times that weren't going to annoy them too much and people just need to get over themselves sometimes. No one is so important that they can't have a simple conversation. But then again, I suck at being an employee so what do I know?

You're quite right about sex. I was trying to keep my video PG rated though :P

All good points. I probably should get out of my chair more and start walking around now that the weather is getting better. Don't have any leaflets to carry, though, but I probably could find some more things to take pictures of.

Tried watching your video, but it was buffering so I didn't get more than a minute or so into it. I guess the video quality is only 480p, too?

Anyway, good idea and hopefully you'll see all kinds of office workers out there walking around taking your advice. :)

Definitely get out and do some photography! Yeah I've had DTube videos fail on me a few times as well. That's partly why I tend to provide a write up as well. Some people also prefer to read rather than watch videos.

I'm about to head out to do some more marketing so off I go. :D

Good evening @mazle! I think that people really need to maintain physical activity. Unfortunately in connection with my work I have to sit a lot. Thus my working day can reach 12 hours. And on the way to work I have to go about 3 kilometers. Although I confess honestly for my feelings for me this is not enough. And in order to catch up with the activity that I'm missing, I try to move more on the weekend. First of all, it's meetings with friends. Like it was yesterday or three days ago. Also when I have free time I participate in gardening. Also at warm time of year I like to running. Physical activity allows me, first of all, to stay in good physical shape. And running gives me an opportunity to distract from worries, problems and bad thoughts. And even after the race I always have a good mood.
I think that all this allows you to save not only physical health but also psychological. I would say it gives psychological relief, respite.
Therefore, I believe that people should try to maintain their physical activity and take care of their health!

I agree on all points. Thanks for your comment. :)

I love the examples y' gave...that works perfectly, like walking to another office instead of sitting back and make a call, another thing one could do is, take a bicycle ride for a few minutes during lunch. Walk around the environment to see what goes around. I have much to say but this what stocks in my head right now...thanks for the tip. I guess y' re a good shooter, y' really kill those 3birds..lol.

Thanks :)

And yes, I am a damn good shot!

This is one of those times when you stop and think to yourself, "Duh! I should have been doing this all along!"

It's absolutely a WIN WIN WIN. And what better ambassador for your business than you!

Cheers to you on your capital idea!

It really is. And while it takes some time to do every day I see better results than when someone else did it.

I wish I could unfortunately I am lucky to even get a lunch break these days :( busy times ahead.

Really nice post

Really bad comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71